Version 0.16.0

Information about releases and roadmap.
Post Reply
Blacksmoke16
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 5:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by Blacksmoke16 » Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:44 pm

Is it just me or does it seem strange you do not need an artillery turret to build an artillery wagon?

bobucles
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1578
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by bobucles » Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:47 pm

found a treat not listed in the notes, nuclear fuel for cars/tanks/trains 1.21GJ 250% acceleration
Great scott!
Looks like the major features are
- Stacks to 1 (55% inventory fuel capacity compared to rocket fuel)
- 115% top speed (same as rocket fuel)
- 250% acceleration (big train boost)
- Stick it in a boiler like any other fuel (nuclear pollution yay!)
- No Prod3s, not an intermediate product (?????)
- TOO FAST (player vehicle braking research when? :D )

One thing I noticed is that white science is nowhere to be found in the crafting menu. Technically its ingredients are rocket + satellite and it's made in the silo. With all the good things getting polished up, I guess this was worth a mention.

Oh and no more landfill cheating anymore. Seablock early game is going to need some rebalancing.

donderstraal
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by donderstraal » Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:03 pm

Thank you guys very much.

V453000
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 5:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by V453000 » Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:08 pm

Blacksmoke16 wrote:Is it just me or does it seem strange you do not need an artillery turret to build an artillery wagon?
fuck I wanted to do that

keyboardhack
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 473
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by keyboardhack » Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:17 pm

This is awesome. Got a ~25% perf boost :D
Time to blow up biters in real time!
Last edited by keyboardhack on Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Waste of bytes : P

User avatar
Deadly-Bagel
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1493
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 10:12 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by Deadly-Bagel » Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:19 pm

Blacksmoke16 wrote:Is it just me or does it seem strange you do not need an artillery turret to build an artillery wagon?
I still don't see any advantage whatsoever to this being on a wagon instead of static =/ just seems like a pain that if you want one permanently planted in an outpost it still needs to be on rails.
Money might be the root of all evil, but ignorance is the heart.

torham
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 1:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by torham » Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:22 pm

Deadly-Bagel wrote:
Blacksmoke16 wrote:Is it just me or does it seem strange you do not need an artillery turret to build an artillery wagon?
I still don't see any advantage whatsoever to this being on a wagon instead of static =/ just seems like a pain that if you want one permanently planted in an outpost it still needs to be on rails.
There are 2 versions of artillery. Static turret and a mobile artillery wagon.

BenSeidel
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 543
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 1:44 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by BenSeidel » Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:22 pm

V453000 wrote:fuck I wanted to do that
Amen to that... in every conceivable scenario.

JulianSkies
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 11:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by JulianSkies » Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:23 pm

Blacksmoke16 wrote:Is it just me or does it seem strange you do not need an artillery turret to build an artillery wagon?
Not really? The Artillery Wagon recipe has all the same item requirements except less gears and no concrete and instead pipe and engines, because it's not being anchored into the ground into but into a moving wagon.
So basically building the turret is part of the recipe already!
Also rail cannons are built somewhat differently from turret artillery, I believe.

Serenity
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 469
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 6:16 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by Serenity » Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:25 pm

Is it me or was water generation changed? Setting it to something like "frequency - low, size - big" generated big continents separated by large oceans, but connected by a few land bridges. Now you just get masses of lakes :(

very low, very large comes closer to what it used to be, but is noticeably different too. You get large bodies of water, but the land outside the starting area is pretty small and broken up. There are even islands

Also, about uranium. It can still be generated right outside the starting area, so you don't necessarily have to go far
Last edited by Serenity on Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bobucles
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1578
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by bobucles » Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:59 pm

A few quick notes on artillery shells:

- The inventory item stacks to 1 and inserters will thus only move one shell at a time. It is more inventory efficient to load up ingredients and assemble on site.
- The stationary gun stores 15 shells and will auto load up to 5 shells.
- Artillery trains store up to 100 ammo. Don't hold back.
- Wagons will not attempt to fire on the move and their guns will park when the train moves.
- Ammo is not shared between guns or cargo wagons (but they only hold 40 ammo anyway, build more guns!).
- The targeting remote will show a count of how many guns are in range.
- Artillery has no damage bonuses, not that you really need it.
- Artillery shells can fire into the fog of war and will scout it.
- Range research boosts both automatic range and maximum range. Maximum range is SCARY.
Last edited by bobucles on Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Hunterz
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:03 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by Hunterz » Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:18 pm

Does not working under Linux. Loading game stuck at 2%

Console log:

Code: Select all

0.000 2017-12-13 19:16:12; Factorio 0.16.0 (build 34159, linux64, alpha)
   0.017 Operating system: Linux (Fedora 27)
   0.017 Program arguments: "bin/x64/factorio" "--video-memory-usage" "low" "--disable-audio" "--graphics-quality" "low" 
   0.017 Read data path: /home/hunterz/factorio/data
   0.017 Write data path: /home/hunterz/factorio [119368/907149MB]
   0.017 Binaries path: /home/hunterz/factorio/bin
   0.024 System info: [CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4510U CPU @ 2.00GHz, 4 cores, RAM: 7879MB]
   0.024 Display options: [FullScreen: 1] [VSync: 1] [UIScale: system (100.0%)] [MultiSampling: OFF] [Screen: 255] [Lang: en]
   0.024 Available display adapters: 2
   0.024  [0]: resolution 1920x1080px at [0,0]
   0.024  [1]: resolution 1920x1080px at [1920,0]
   0.024 Create display on adapter 0. Size 1280x720 at position [310, 162].
   0.340 Initialised OpenGL:[0] GeForce 840M/PCIe/SSE2; driver: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 384.98
   0.340   Video memory size (dedicated/total available/current available): 4096/4096/4011 MB
   0.368 Audio is disabled
   0.368 Graphics settings preset: very-high
   0.368 Graphics options: [Graphics quality: low] [Video memory usage: low] [Light scale: 25%] [DXT: false] [Shader: 1]
   0.368                   [Parallel sprite loading: 1] [Max texture size: 0/8192] [Bmp cache: 0] [Sprite slicing: 1] [Low quality rotation: 0]
   0.684 Loading mod core 0.0.0 (data.lua)
*** Error in `bin/x64/factorio': free(): invalid pointer: 0x00000000018b8160 ***
*** Error in `bin/x64/factorio': free(): invalid pointer: 0x000000000188e400 ***
*** Error in `bin/x64/factorio': free(): invalid pointer: 0x000000000188e400 ***
*** Error in `bin/x64/factorio': free(): invalid pointer: 0x000000000188e400 ***
*** Error in `bin/x64/factorio': free(): invalid pointer: 0x000000000188e400 ***
*** Error in `bin/x64/factorio': free(): invalid pointer: 0x000000000188e400 ***
*** Error in `bin/x64/factorio': free(): invalid pointer: 0x000000000188e400 ***
Last edited by Hunterz on Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

warmadmax
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 11:15 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by warmadmax » Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:18 pm

Use the mobile artillery to ferry the arty shells, you can unload them using an inserter

User avatar
stretch611
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 3:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by stretch611 » Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:20 pm

Christmas came early!!!

Thanks Wube!

Now, I just can't wait for my other package under the tree... a t-shirt!!! (I wonder how long it takes to ship one from Prague to the US)

nakran
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 7:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by nakran » Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:39 pm

Same crash using Linux here:

Code: Select all

   0.000 2017-12-13 19:33:36; Factorio 0.16.0 (build 34159, linux64, steam)
   0.141 Operating system: Linux (Devuan 1.0)
   0.141 Program arguments: "/mnt/storage/SteamLibrary/steamapps/common/Factorio/bin/x64/factorio" 
   0.141 Read data path: /mnt/storage/SteamLibrary/steamapps/common/Factorio/data
   0.141 Write data path: /home/gysas/.factorio [35165/115150MB]
   0.141 Binaries path: /mnt/storage/SteamLibrary/steamapps/common/Factorio/bin
   0.155 System info: [CPU:        Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz, 8 cores, RAM: 32190MB]
   0.157 Display options: [FullScreen: 1] [VSync: 1] [UIScale: system (100.0%)] [MultiSampling: OFF] [Screen: 1] [Lang: en]
   0.243 Available display adapters: 3
   0.243  [0]: resolution 1920x1080px at [3840,0]
   0.243  [1]: resolution 1920x1080px at [1920,0]
   0.244  [2]: resolution 1920x1080px at [0,0]
   0.244 Create display on adapter 1. Size 1280x720 at position [310, 162].
   0.545 Initialised OpenGL:[1] GeForce GTX 680/PCIe/SSE2; driver: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 375.82
   0.545   Video memory size (dedicated/total available/current available): 2048/2048/1517 MB
   0.579 Graphics settings preset: high
   0.580 Graphics options: [Graphics quality: normal] [Video memory usage: high] [Light scale: 25%] [DXT: false] [Shader: 1]
   0.580                   [Parallel sprite loading: 1] [Max texture size: 2048/8192] [Bmp cache: 0] [Sprite slicing: 1] [Low quality rotation: 0]
   0.634 Loading mod core 0.0.0 (data.lua)
Factorio crashed. Generating symbolized stacktrace, please wait ...

zeus86
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by zeus86 » Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:57 pm

edit:
fresh 0.16.0-copy starts on linux, but once started it turns out this seems to be a copy of 0.14.22

Code: Select all

zeus@workstation:~/bin/factorio-0.16.0/bin/x64$ ./factorio 
   0.000 2017-12-13 19:55:10; Factorio 0.14.22 (build 25342, linux64, alpha)
   0.068 Operating system: Linux (Ubuntu 16.04)
   0.069 Program arguments: "./factorio" 
...
  22.297 Info Updater.cpp:749: Downloading https://updater.factorio.com/get-available-versions?username=zeus86&token=<private>&apiVersion=2
  33.304 Info Updater.cpp:759: Download failed (Timeout was reached -- Operation too slow. Less than 1 bytes/sec transferred the last 10 seconds)
  33.379 Factorio initialised
 261.800 Error FileUtil.cpp:284: Can't remove /home/zeus/bin/factorio-0.16.0/temp/currently-playing: No such file or directory
 261.887 Info Scenario.cpp:152: Map version 0.14.22-0
...
after enabling experimental updates and restarting the game it also want to update from 0.14.22 to 0.16.0.
now i'm totally confused...

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1417
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by Zavian » Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:15 pm

The linux build is buggy. (It has already been reported multiple times in the bug report forum). It should be fixed for 0.16.1

User avatar
ZombieMooose
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by ZombieMooose » Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:13 pm

Idk if this was intended, but I can't seem to find the options of not using crafting groups and such.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4779
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by Koub » Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:17 pm

This is not a "bug report" thread. It's a release thread. If you experience technical issues, please have a look in the Technical Help and Bug report sections, and post if your issue is unknown.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6724
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.16.0

Post by bobingabout » Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:22 pm

I'm honestly not ready to work on updating my mods, however, after a few quick fixes, I'm yet to find a loading error that isn't "icon_size" not found.

It's annoying, but if that's the only error I encounter, I'll be happy.

Edit: I take it back, Autoplace controls complained to me about category tag not set.... still an easy fix.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

Post Reply

Return to “Releases”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cutemine