Entity prototype not working

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
User avatar
Penguin_Spy
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 3:09 am
Contact:

Entity prototype not working

Post by Penguin_Spy »

My entity prototype isnt working, but I dont know why. When I launch the game it says:
Imgur link
The text is:

Code: Select all

Error while loading entity prototype "destroyerOfTheTrueEnemy" (simple-entity): Missing pictures or picture input in property tree at ROOT.simple-entity.destroyerOfTheTrueEnemy
The entity prototype is as follows:

Code: Select all

data:extend({
   {
    type = "simple-entity",
    name = "destroyerOfTheTrueEnemy",
	flags = {"placeable-off-grid"},
	icon = "__destroyerOfTheTrueEnemy__/graphics/destroyerOfTheTrueEnemyIcon.png",
    selection_box = {{-0.5, -0.5}, {0.5, 0.5}},
    stack_size = 100
  }
})
The picture file does exist, and I have tried replacing it with a picture form the base game, but it still brings up this same error. It's probably something really obvious, but I cant figure it out. Any help at all would be appreciated!
Thx.
I exist.
Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: Entity prototype not working

Post by Bilka »

Penguin_Spy wrote:Missing pictures or picture input in property tree
it's missing the picture or pictures PROPERTY.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.
User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2905
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Entity prototype not working

Post by darkfrei »

All items need icons and all entities need pictures.
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Entity prototype not working

Post by bobingabout »

darkfrei wrote:All items need icons and all entities need pictures.
Entities need icons too. They're used in the map editor.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.
Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: Entity prototype not working

Post by Bilka »

bobingabout wrote:
darkfrei wrote:All items need icons and all entities need pictures.
Entities need icons too. They're used in the map editor.
Only if you give it one of the placeable flags (https://wiki.factorio.com/Prototype/Entity#icon). If you have entities that are just used for scripting purposes, don't give them one of those flags and you don't need an order or icon.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 14397
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Entity prototype not working

Post by Rseding91 »

bobingabout wrote:
darkfrei wrote:All items need icons and all entities need pictures.
Entities need icons too. They're used in the map editor.
Also the deconstruction planner filters.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.
Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: Entity prototype not working

Post by Bilka »

Rseding91 wrote:
bobingabout wrote:
darkfrei wrote:All items need icons and all entities need pictures.
Entities need icons too. They're used in the map editor.
Also the deconstruction planner filters.
And the bonus gui. But the game is nice enough to show a questionmark as the icon if you have none specified.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.
User avatar
Penguin_Spy
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 3:09 am
Contact:

Re: Entity prototype not working

Post by Penguin_Spy »

Ok. Thank you. I was looking on the wiki and got the icon and the entity picture tag mixed up.
I exist.
Post Reply

Return to “Modding help”