Version 0.15.7

Information about releases and roadmap.
Mr. Tact
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 333
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:37 pm

Re: Version 0.15.7

Post by Mr. Tact » Sun May 07, 2017 4:24 pm

One more vote for 5, 8, 11 on the undergrounds...
Professional Curmudgeon since 1988.

credomane
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Version 0.15.7

Post by credomane » Sun May 07, 2017 6:55 pm

Put my vote in too for 5,8,11! Did the math for the new recipe cost.

Red UG would need increased, again, to 50 gears.
Blue UG can be left at 80 gears. That is 23.1 iron per tile while blue belt is 21.5. The 0.15.8 cost per tile was a little high (25.8 iron per tile) but with the new length it evens out more to the original pre-0.15.7 value of 22.9 iron per tile.

Ober3550
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 9:01 am

Re: Version 0.15.7

Post by Ober3550 » Mon May 08, 2017 2:19 am

credomane wrote:Put my vote in too for 5,8,11! Did the math for the new recipe cost.

Red UG would need increased, again, to 50 gears.
Blue UG can be left at 80 gears. That is 23.1 iron per tile while blue belt is 21.5. The 0.15.8 cost per tile was a little high (25.8 iron per tile) but with the new length it evens out more to the original pre-0.15.7 value of 22.9 iron per tile.
I don't want the lengths to change. All current designs use the 4 wide bus belts but undergrounds on the bus aren't the only reason to use them. Yes you get full cost effectiveness if you have the belts at full length however using the underground trick on production outputs isn't viable if you need faster belts. Half of the time you don't need the full length of a normal underground let alone the super expensive ones. I dislike it purely because it increases the cost proportionally to theoretical usage not practical.

Tym
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 4:55 pm

Re: Version 0.15.7

Post by Tym » Mon May 08, 2017 11:19 pm

unless the upgrade works dramatically differently than other upgrades, an increase in the possible length of an underground shouldn't affect the actual length of an already placed underground.

User avatar
5thHorseman
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:21 pm

Re: Version 0.15.7

Post by 5thHorseman » Tue May 09, 2017 12:24 am

Tym wrote:unless the upgrade works dramatically differently than other upgrades, an increase in the possible length of an underground shouldn't affect the actual length of an already placed underground.
People are concerned that they're devoting extra resources to creating faster underground belts when they're not actually going to utilize the added length.

I guess I understand it, but I don't personally pay attention to that sort of thing.
"So you completed the game with a spaghetti factory? Well I hand crafted a rocket and threw it into space with my bare hands!"

User avatar
theRustyKnife
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 9:26 pm

Re: Version 0.15.7

Post by theRustyKnife » Tue May 09, 2017 5:30 am

5thHorseman wrote:
Tym wrote:unless the upgrade works dramatically differently than other upgrades, an increase in the possible length of an underground shouldn't affect the actual length of an already placed underground.
People are concerned that they're devoting extra resources to creating faster underground belts when they're not actually going to utilize the added length.

I guess I understand it, but I don't personally pay attention to that sort of thing.
Same here. To me it's nice to have the possibilities for when I need them and I already use so many resources for infrastructure that this won't make much difference.
Check out my mods!

Zaka
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:23 pm

Re: Version 0.15.7

Post by Zaka » Tue May 09, 2017 12:20 pm

An interesting approach to the problem might be to create underground belts the same as surface belts, 1 piece at a time.

This way your would "pay by the square" for the length that you use and items would be removed from inventory based on the total belt length.

Ascii art:

>> = 2 belt lengths
>=> = 3 belt lengths
>====> = 6 belt lengths (standard yellow)

Cost for construction can be based on belt type and max length can be based on belt color. If it were handled this way you would only pay for what you use.

Steelsky
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 9:37 am

Re: Version 0.15.7

Post by Steelsky » Tue May 09, 2017 12:28 pm

Zaka wrote:An interesting approach to the problem might be to create underground belts the same as surface belts, 1 piece at a time.

This way your would "pay by the square" for the length that you use and items would be removed from inventory based on the total belt length.

Ascii art:

>> = 2 belt lengths
>=> = 3 belt lengths
>====> = 6 belt lengths (standard yellow)

Cost for construction can be based on belt type and max length can be based on belt color. If it were handled this way you would only pay for what you use.
Thinking further in this the underground belts could be made with the 3 tiers of stone/brick/concrete we already have to explain why it's able to reach further underground.

/S

Vulkandrache
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 7:24 pm

Re: Version 0.15.7

Post by Vulkandrache » Sat Jan 20, 2018 3:12 am

FactorioBot wrote: [*]Fixed that the technology multiplier didn't apply on infinite research. (45079)

How do i unfix this without going back versions?

After the release of the "infinite research" stuff i came back to play for a while.
Since i personaly think research is way too fast in this game i like to play with 10-20 times multiplier.
Now we have that funtionality even without mods.
Back then was pleasently surprised to find that the infinite research wasnt getting the increase in price and i thought:
"Hey, someone thought about this and did the half-sensible thing." The sensible thing would be a choice wether infinite also gets affected.
But no, turns out its a "bug".
I want both, the experience that my choices of what to research when actually matters and the feeling of progress once it gets to the endgame.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3873
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am

Re: Version 0.15.7

Post by Koub » Sat Jan 20, 2018 12:32 pm

This will need to be modded I guess
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

VFaalcatnodriiro
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 1:39 pm

Re: Version 0.15.7

Post by VFaalcatnodriiro » Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:18 am

Code: Select all

/c game.difficulty_settings.technology_price_multiplier = 1
I'd like to see it also being reverted. Thinking about it, it seemed more natural to have the multiplier not affecting infinite research...

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1124
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am

Re: Version 0.15.7

Post by Zavian » Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:49 am

VFaalcatnodriiro wrote:

Code: Select all

/c game.difficulty_settings.technology_price_multiplier = 1
I'd like to see it also being reverted. Thinking about it, it seemed more natural to have the multiplier not affecting infinite research...
Well depending on the tech multiplier, doing that could mean that the first infinite research could be cheaper than it's predecessor non infinite research. I think it is better with the multiplier also applying to the infinite research.

Vulkandrache
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 7:24 pm

Re: Version 0.15.7

Post by Vulkandrache » Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:23 am

Zavian wrote:the first infinite research could be cheaper than it's predecessor non infinite research
Thats whats funny about it.
You "slog" throught 20k flasks to get level 6 and then the next 6 levels costs that much combined.

Post Reply

Return to “Releases”