[0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
factoriouzr
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:23 am
Contact:

[0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Post by factoriouzr »

Recipes are not set on assembling machines when placed from blueprints if the recipe is not yet researched.

Other entities like requester chests have their requests set to not yet researched items, same with filters on inserters. We should have the same behaviour for assembling machines and other factories. The current behaviour is inconsistent, confusing, and frustrating. When I place a blueprint and it's built (Ie. I have the factories, etc needed), the factories show up blank (they also show up blank in the placed ghost).

All factories should allow setting their recipes before the research is done, same as all other entities that can request, filter etc, have conditions etc.

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5151
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Post by Klonan »

factoriouzr wrote:Recipes are not set on assembling machines when placed from blueprints if the recipe is not yet researched.

Other entities like requester chests have their requests set to not yet researched items, same with filters on inserters. We should have the same behaviour for assembling machines and other factories. The current behaviour is inconsistent, confusing, and frustrating. When I place a blueprint and it's built (Ie. I have the factories, etc needed), the factories show up blank (they also show up blank in the placed ghost).

All factories should allow setting their recipes before the research is done, same as all other entities that can request, filter etc, have conditions etc.

Thanks for the report,

If you could set a recipe before your research it, then you would not need to research it,
In this way, we clear all the recipes deliberately if you have not unlocked them,
However items have no such restriction

imajor
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 11:02 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Post by imajor »

Now that you can carry blueprints from one game to another this can be really frustrating. What if the assembly machines would correctly set to the recipe, but they would simply do nothing until it is researched?

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5151
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Post by Klonan »

imajor wrote:Now that you can carry blueprints from one game to another this can be really frustrating. What if the assembly machines would correctly set to the recipe, but they would simply do nothing until it is researched?
That's not how recipes work unfortunately,
It may be frustrating, but its the best way to deal with this issue

factoriouzr
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Post by factoriouzr »

Klonan wrote:
imajor wrote:Now that you can carry blueprints from one game to another this can be really frustrating. What if the assembly machines would correctly set to the recipe, but they would simply do nothing until it is researched?
That's not how recipes work unfortunately,
It may be frustrating, but its the best way to deal with this issue
Why can't you just set the recipe and have a check on the assembly machine so that it doesn't produce anything until it's researched?

Just have a listener architecture that when research changes, inform all assembly machines that are listening to that research that they are now enabled, and have another hidden property on assembling machines called "enabled" and default it to false. When it's placed down, check the condition as you do now, and set the enabled value appropriately. If the recipe is not yet researched, then add a listener to that research.

This is a very efficient implementation that doesn't involve polling and busy loops.

factoriouzr
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Post by factoriouzr »

Klonan wrote:
imajor wrote:Now that you can carry blueprints from one game to another this can be really frustrating. What if the assembly machines would correctly set to the recipe, but they would simply do nothing until it is researched?
That's not how recipes work unfortunately,
It may be frustrating, but its the best way to deal with this issue
I think you should consider reworking how recipes work to allow for this. Please see my previous post for one suggestion.

The current behaviour is inconsistent and frustrating. Making this change will really improve the game.

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5151
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Post by Klonan »

factoriouzr wrote:
Klonan wrote:
imajor wrote:Now that you can carry blueprints from one game to another this can be really frustrating. What if the assembly machines would correctly set to the recipe, but they would simply do nothing until it is researched?
That's not how recipes work unfortunately,
It may be frustrating, but its the best way to deal with this issue
I think you should consider reworking how recipes work to allow for this. Please see my previous post for one suggestion.

The current behaviour is inconsistent and frustrating. Making this change will really improve the game.
It isn't inconsistent, at no time before were you able to set a recipe on an assembling machine when you don't have it unlocked.

factoriouzr
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Post by factoriouzr »

Klonan wrote:
factoriouzr wrote:
Klonan wrote:
imajor wrote:Now that you can carry blueprints from one game to another this can be really frustrating. What if the assembly machines would correctly set to the recipe, but they would simply do nothing until it is researched?
That's not how recipes work unfortunately,
It may be frustrating, but its the best way to deal with this issue
I think you should consider reworking how recipes work to allow for this. Please see my previous post for one suggestion.

The current behaviour is inconsistent and frustrating. Making this change will really improve the game.
It isn't inconsistent, at no time before were you able to set a recipe on an assembling machine when you don't have it unlocked.
It's inconsistent from the point of view that you can set unresearched recipes on:
-requester chests
-player tool belt slots
-train cargo wagons
-player logistics requester slots
-conditions on inserters (eg. when connected to the logistics network)
-filters on inserters

The only thing you can't set unresearched recipes on are factories.

I hope you can see that this is inconsistent with the other entities in the game. You allow this everywhere else but not for assemblers.

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 8352
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Post by Loewchen »

factoriouzr wrote: It's inconsistent from the point of view that you can set unresearched recipes on:
-requester chests
-player tool belt slots
-train cargo wagons
-player logistics requester slots
-conditions on inserters (eg. when connected to the logistics network)
-filters on inserters
Those are not recipes, those are items. It is completely logical to be able to use a filter for something you have not the recipe of as you can obtain the item differently and some items do not even have a recipe.

factoriouzr
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Post by factoriouzr »

Loewchen wrote:
factoriouzr wrote: It's inconsistent from the point of view that you can set unresearched recipes on:
-requester chests
-player tool belt slots
-train cargo wagons
-player logistics requester slots
-conditions on inserters (eg. when connected to the logistics network)
-filters on inserters
Those are not recipes, those are items. It is completely logical to be able to use a filter for something you have not the recipe of as you can obtain the item differently and some items do not even have a recipe.
That's a matter of perspective.

factoriouzr
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Post by factoriouzr »

Can this please be prioritized to be fixed in 0.15. It's a real weakness that factories don't have their recipes set. Just gray out the recipe picture and disable the factory if the recipe is not researched yet, but allow setting the recipe. Everything else sets it's filters, requester slots etc before the recipe is researched (eg. requester chests, inserters, filter inserters etc). Allow the recipe to be set on factories as well.

mophydeen
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 5:02 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Post by mophydeen »

factoriouzr wrote:Can this please be prioritized to be fixed in 0.15. It's a real weakness that factories don't have their recipes set. Just gray out the recipe picture and disable the factory if the recipe is not researched yet, but allow setting the recipe. Everything else sets it's filters, requester slots etc before the recipe is researched (eg. requester chests, inserters, filter inserters etc). Allow the recipe to be set on factories as well.
+1
Klonan wrote:
factoriouzr wrote:
Klonan wrote:
imajor wrote:Now that you can carry blueprints from one game to another this can be really frustrating. What if the assembly machines would correctly set to the recipe, but they would simply do nothing until it is researched?
That's not how recipes work unfortunately,
It may be frustrating, but its the best way to deal with this issue
I think you should consider reworking how recipes work to allow for this. Please see my previous post for one suggestion.

The current behaviour is inconsistent and frustrating. Making this change will really improve the game.
It isn't inconsistent, at no time before were you able to set a recipe on an assembling machine when you don't have it unlocked.
It was possible in 0.14

factoriouzr
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Post by factoriouzr »

Can we have this implemented now that blueprints are being reworked/improved.

It's completely contradictory to allow placing blueprint ghosts of buildings, inserters, rails, lights, walls, gates, turrets etc that are not yet researched, yet not allow placing recipes in buildings that are not yet researched.

This feature will improve the game and is consistent with the way factorio is played.

factoriouzr
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Post by factoriouzr »

Can we have this implemented now that blueprints are being reworked/improved.

It's completely contradictory to allow placing blueprint ghosts of buildings, inserters, rails, lights, walls, gates, turrets etc that are not yet researched, yet not allow placing recipes in buildings that are not yet researched.

This feature will improve the game and is consistent with the way factorio is played. If a player has blueprinted a building with a recipe, and they place that blueprint down, in all cases, they want that blueprint set on that building. It should not be necessary for the player to constantly place down the same blueprints over and over after researches are done.

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”