Headless server 0.14.13 help required

Anything that prevents you from playing the game properly. Do you have issues playing for the game, downloading it or successfully running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Tsuhiki
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 6:59 pm
Contact:

Headless server 0.14.13 help required

Post by Tsuhiki »

So i've been trying to get a headless server to run, but i just cant find anything about why im getting this error

the command promt after using a bat file to start the thing up

Code: Select all

C:\Users\Test\Desktop\Factorio_0.14.13\bin\x64>C:\Users\Test\Desktop\Factorio_0.14.13\bin\x64\factorio.exe  --start-server-load-latest --server-settings C:\Users\Test\Desktop\Factorio_0.14.13\bin\x64\server-settings.json
   0.002 2016-10-15 20:57:11; Factorio 0.14.13 (build 25020, win64, alpha)
   0.002 Operating system: Windows 10 (version 1607)
   0.003 Program arguments: "C:\Users\Test\Desktop\Factorio_0.14.13\bin\x64\factorio.exe" "--start-server-load-latest" "--server-settings" "C:\Users\Test\Desktop\Factorio_0.14.13\bin\x64\server-settings.json"
   0.003 Read data path: C:/Users/Test/Desktop/Factorio_0.14.13/data
   0.003 Write data path: C:/Users/Test/Desktop/Factorio_0.14.13
   0.003 Binaries path: C:/Users/Test/Desktop/Factorio_0.14.13/bin
   0.023 System info: [CPU: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor, 4 cores, RAM: 8191MB]
   0.024 Running in headless mode
   0.223 Loading mod core 0.0.0 (data.lua)
   0.231 Loading mod base 0.14.13 (data.lua)
   0.393 Checksum for core: 1620335853
   0.393 Checksum for mod base: 286270215
   0.867 Info PlayerData.cpp:55: Local player-data.json available, timestamp 1476557389
   0.868 Info PlayerData.cpp:62: Cloud player-data.json unavailable
   0.888 Custom inputs active: 0
   0.892 Factorio initialised
   0.894 Info HttpSharedState.cpp:44: Downloading https://auth.factorio.com/api-login?api_version=2
   1.812 Info HttpSharedState.cpp:108: Status code: 200
   1.813 Info AuthServerConnector.cpp:165: Got token from auth server for username(Tsuhiki).
   1.814 Error Util.cpp:57: No such node (description)
The server-settings.json

Code: Select all

{
  "Tsuhiki's Test": "Name of the game as it will appear in the game listing",
  "Test server": "Description of the game that will appear in the listing",
  "tags": ["modded", "Factorio"],

  "_comment_max_players": "Maximum number of players allowed, admins can join even a full server. 0 means unlimited.",
  "max_players": 0,

  "_comment_visibility": ["public: Game will be published on the official Factorio matching server",
                          "lan: Game will be broadcast on LAN",
                          "hidden: Game will not be published anywhere"],
  "visibility": "hidden",

  "_comment_credentials": "Your factorio.com login credentials. Required for games with visibility public",
  "username": "[Null]",
  "password": "[Null]",

  "game_password": "Test123",

  "_comment_require_user_verification": "When set to true, the server will only allow clients that have a valid Factorio.com account",
  "require_user_verification":false,

  "_comment_max_upload_in_kilobytes_per_second" : "optional, default value is 0. 0 means unlimited.",
  "max_upload_in_kilobytes_per_second": 0,

  "_comment_ignore_player_limit_for_returning_players": "Players that played on this map already can join even when the max player limit was reached.",
  "ignore_player_limit_for_returning_players": false,

  "_comment_allow_commands": "possible values are, true, false and admins-only",
  "allow_commands": "admins-only",

  "_comment_autosave_interval": "Autosave interval in minutes",
  "autosave_interval": 10,

  "_comment_autosave_slots": "server autosave slots, it is cycled through when the server autosaves.",
  "autosave_slots": 5,

  "_comment_afk_autokick_interval": "How many minutes until someone is kicked when doing nothing, 0 for never.",
  "afk_autokick_interval": 0,

  "_comment_auto_pause": "Wheter should the server be paused when no players are present.",
  "auto_pause": true,

  "only_admins_can_pause_the_game": true,

  "_comment_admins": "List of case insensitive usernames, that will be promoted immediately",
  "admins": []
}

daniel34
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2761
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:30 am
Contact:

Re: Headless server 0.14.13 help required

Post by daniel34 »

For the first two lines of your server-settings.json you have to keep the "name" and "description" parts and replace the text on the right with your name/description. In general, always only replace the part to the right of the : colon.

Example:

Code: Select all

{
  "name": "Tsuhiki's Test",
  "description": "Test server",
quick links: log file | graphical issues | wiki

jordantheranga
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 12:50 am
Contact:

Re: Headless server 0.14.13 help required

Post by jordantheranga »

daniel34 wrote:For the first two lines of your server-settings.json you have to keep the "name" and "description" parts and replace the text on the right with your name/description. In general, always only replace the part to the right of the : colon.

Example:

Code: Select all

{
  "name": "Tsuhiki's Test",
  "description": "Test server",
Hey, so i was having the same problem as Tsuhiki, i have changed it as per your instructions and i am now getting a new error, <unspecified file>(2): expected ':' .
I would expect that that is referring to line 2 of the code but unsure of how to fix.

Code: Select all

{
  "name": "Jordantheranga", "Name of the game as it will appear in the game listing",
  "description": "Piss Off", "Description of the game that will appear in the listing",
  "Mods": ["avg", "wolfling"],

  "_comment_max_players": "Maximum number of players allowed, admins can join even a full server. 0 means unlimited.",
  "max_players": 0,

  "_comment_visibility": ["public: Game will be published on the official Factorio matching server",
                          "lan: Game will be broadcast on LAN"],
  "visibility":
  {
    "public": true,
    "lan": true
  },

  "_comment_credentials": "Your factorio.com login credentials. Required for games with visibility public",
  "username": "myuser",
  "password": "mypassword",

  "_comment_token": "Authentication token. May be used instead of 'password' above.",
  "token": "",

  "game_password": "myserverpassword",

  "_comment_require_user_verification": "When set to true, the server will only allow clients that have a valid Factorio.com account",
  "require_user_verification": true,

  "_comment_max_upload_in_kilobytes_per_second" : "optional, default value is 0. 0 means unlimited.",
  "max_upload_in_kilobytes_per_second": 0,

  "_comment_minimum_latency_in_ticks": "optional one tick is 16ms in default speed, default value is 0. 0 means no minimum.",
  "minimum_latency_in_ticks": 0,

  "_comment_ignore_player_limit_for_returning_players": "Players that played on this map already can join even when the max player limit was reached.",
  "ignore_player_limit_for_returning_players": false,

  "_comment_allow_commands": "possible values are, true, false and admins-only",
  "allow_commands": "admins-only",

  "_comment_autosave_interval": "Autosave interval in minutes",
  "autosave_interval": 10,

  "_comment_autosave_slots": "server autosave slots, it is cycled through when the server autosaves.",
  "autosave_slots": 10,

  "_comment_afk_autokick_interval": "How many minutes until someone is kicked when doing nothing, 0 for never.",
  "afk_autokick_interval": 0,

  "_comment_auto_pause": "Whether should the server be paused when no players are present.",
  "auto_pause": true,

  "only_admins_can_pause_the_game": true,

  "_comment_autosave_only_on_server": "Whether autosaves should be saved only on server or also on all connected clients. Default is true.",
  "autosave_only_on_server": true,

  "_comment_admins": "List of case insensitive usernames, that will be promoted immediately",
  "admins": [jordantheranga]
}

Lyfa
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:30 am
Contact:

Re: Headless server 0.14.13 help required

Post by Lyfa »

Code: Select all

  "name": "Jordantheranga", 
  "description": "Piss Off",
Try this.

Code: Select all

"Name of the game as it will appear in the game listing",
"Description of the game that will appear in the listing",
That bit is throwing off the format and causing errors.

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”