- Features
- Fixed multiplayer
- 1) Internal reliability and stability improvements.
- 2) Players don't have to wait for other clients to download and load the game.
- 3) Decreased network traffic.
- 4) It is possible to use menu and quit the game when connecting to the game.
- 5) Server doesn't stop/slow down the game when some client is too slow, stops communicating or saves the game longer than the server.
- 6) Players automatically quit game after 3 desyncs.
- 7) Download speed tweaks.
- Added /team command that messages all players from the same force.
- Fixed multiplayer
- Minor Features
- When selecting inventory filters the filter is automatically set to the item in the cursor if any.
- Changes
- Disabled loading of saves before 0.11.0 version (You can use 0.11.22 to load older saves and re-save them).
- Removed the option to enable/disable latency hiding, it is always on on clients (and off on the server).
- Bugfixes
- Factorio shouldn't crash anymore when Direct3D device is lost due to locking screen or entering sleep mode.
- Modding
- Added support for equipment grids in cars, tanks, locomotives, and cargo wagons.
- Changed equipment grids to work as protoypes: defined and referenced by things that use them.
- Changed equipment and equipment grids to have categories that define what equipment can go in what equipment grid.
- Scripting
- Fixed game freeze when an error was thrown during the player left game event.
- Removed LuaItemStack::has_grid.
- Removed LuaItemPrototype::equipment_grid_size.
- Changed LauItemStack::grid to return nil if the item doesn't have a grid.
- Added LuaItemPrototype::equipment_grid.
- Added LuaEntity::grid read.
- Added Added LuaEquipmentGridPrototype.
- Added LuaEquipmentGrid::prototype read.
- Added LuaEquipmentPrototype::equipment_categories read.
- Added LauForce::unchart_chunk()
Version 0.14.0
- FactorioBot
- Factorio Staff
- Posts: 423
- Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 1:48 pm
Version 0.14.0
Re: Version 0.14.0
Next milestone ahead
-
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 361
- Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:38 pm
- Contact:
Re: Version 0.14.0
This is fantastic news! Keep up the good work!
Re: Version 0.14.0
"When selecting inventory filters the filter is automatically set to the item in the cursor if any."
If it works as I think it does... THANK YOU
Makes it so much easier to just plop down things in a hurry
If it works as I think it does... THANK YOU
Makes it so much easier to just plop down things in a hurry
- bigyihsuan
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 299
- Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 12:57 pm
- Contact:
Re: Version 0.14.0
jesus christ that was fast
Also, woo, equipment grids in vehicles! Let's give our tanks some shields!
Also, woo, equipment grids in vehicles! Let's give our tanks some shields!
- ChurchOrganist
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 256
- Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:45 pm
- Contact:
Re: Version 0.14.0
Awesome stuff!
Want to know where the biters chewing your power plant have come from??
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar
Re: Version 0.14.0
Quick important question: do we need to update factorio_version in the info.json for mods or is it interpreted as >=0.13?
Greetings steinio
Greetings steinio
Re: Version 0.14.0
You need to update. All mods broke. This definitely need some (a lot) more rework. But for now - waiting for the mods to update...
-
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 230
- Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 6:16 pm
- Contact:
Re: Version 0.14.0
Funny conversation with my factorio:
Factorio: update avalible.
Me: yes! do it!
10 min later:
Factorio: update failed,try again.
after 3 tries:
Factorio : update succsesful.
Me: finally.
Factorio: an error has occured, do you want to fix?
Me: no, give me my facorio instead.
Factorio: problem solved.
Me
Factorio: update avalible.
Me: yes! do it!
10 min later:
Factorio: update failed,try again.
after 3 tries:
Factorio : update succsesful.
Me: finally.
Factorio: an error has occured, do you want to fix?
Me: no, give me my facorio instead.
Factorio: problem solved.
Me
Re: Version 0.14.0
That was really fast! I see now why devs were pretty silent on forums for a couple of weeks.
Thumbs up and god speed!
Thumbs up and god speed!
Re: Version 0.14.0
Ok, back to .13 - until more mod upates are coming.
-
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 232
- Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 7:36 am
- Contact:
Re: Version 0.14.0
I a few days it will be my birthday, so this is a great birthday present
I didn't expect 0.14 to be released so quickly
Great job, Wube Software!
Best. game. ever.
I didn't expect 0.14 to be released so quickly
Great job, Wube Software!
Best. game. ever.
Re: Version 0.14.0
Apparently "dependencies": ["base >= 0.13.10"] is not enough.
Even if most of my mods are compatible with 0.14 asis...
So if I put "dependencies": ["base >= 0.14.0"], my mod will become incompatible with people who stay in 0.13... Weird, no ?
Logically, ["base >= 0.13.10"] should mean "compatible with 0.14", no ?
Even if most of my mods are compatible with 0.14 asis...
So if I put "dependencies": ["base >= 0.14.0"], my mod will become incompatible with people who stay in 0.13... Weird, no ?
Logically, ["base >= 0.13.10"] should mean "compatible with 0.14", no ?
Last edited by binbinhfr on Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal
-
- Burner Inserter
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 10:35 pm
- Contact:
Re: Version 0.14.0
Looking forward to test the multiplayer changes, once a few mods update. Great work!
Re: Version 0.14.0
Dependencies should use only for non-base mods from now on, as you need to specify the version of factorio in mod-info.jsonbinbinhfr wrote:Apparently "dependencies": ["base >= 0.13.10"] is not enough.
Even if most of my mods are compatible with 0.14 asis...
So if I put "dependencies": ["base >= 0.14.0"], my mod will become incompatible with people who stay in 0.13... Weird, no ?
Logically, ["base >= 0.13.10"] should mean "compatible with 0.14", no ?
This invalidates all the mods for old version automatically, it might be little annoying, but it solves a lot of trouble.
-
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 219
- Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 10:22 pm
- Contact:
Re: Version 0.14.0
Does the mod portal Do the Right Thing(TM)? Meaning, does it find the highest level mod version that matches their Factorio version?
If I have two versions of my mod, 1.0.0 (factorio_verison=0.13) and 1.0.1 (factorio_version=0.14) and someone on a .13 client browses for my mod, will it download 1.0.0 for them?
If I have two versions of my mod, 1.0.0 (factorio_verison=0.13) and 1.0.1 (factorio_version=0.14) and someone on a .13 client browses for my mod, will it download 1.0.0 for them?
Re: Version 0.14.0
Only on a modding point of view, there is not much difference between 0.14.0 and 0.13.18 than between 0.13.17 and 0.13.18 . So why this need to reset ? You did not force us to reset between 0.13.17 and 0.13.18... Mysterious to me... And effectively very annoying when you have more than 20 mods to update...kovarex wrote:This invalidates all the mods for old version automatically, it might be little annoying, but it solves a lot of trouble.
By the way, I still use Dependencies on base, because sometimes you change API between 2 subversions and the mod is not retro compatible in this case, otherwise people who do not update factorio, but update the mod have problems.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal
Re: Version 0.14.0
Modding
Added support for equipment grids in cars, tanks, locomotives, and cargo wagons.
Changed equipment grids to work as protoypes: defined and referenced by things that use them.
Changed equipment and equipment grids to have categories that define what equipment can go in what equipment grid.
Scripting
Fixed game freeze when an error was thrown during the player left game event.
Removed LuaItemStack::has_grid.
Removed LuaItemPrototype::equipment_grid_size.
Changed LauItemStack::grid to return nil if the item doesn't have a grid.
Added LuaItemPrototype::equipment_grid.
Added LuaEntity::grid read.
Added Added LuaEquipmentGridPrototype.
Added LuaEquipmentGrid::prototype read.
Added LuaEquipmentPrototype::equipment_categories read.
Added LauForce::unchart_chunk()
Oh, this most definitely broke my mod.
But the possibilities! Maybe I can make it better now.
Re: Version 0.14.0
Nice 0.14 so quickly. Unfortunate mods broke and there wasn't major updates, so I will stay at 0.13 until mods are fixed.
Re: Version 0.14.0
binbinhfr wrote:Only on a modding point of view, there is not much difference between 0.14.0 and 0.13.18 than between 0.13.17 and 0.13.18 . So why this need to reset ? You did not force us to reset between 0.13.17 and 0.13.18... Mysterious to me... And effectively very annoying when you have more than 20 mods to update...kovarex wrote:This invalidates all the mods for old version automatically, it might be little annoying, but it solves a lot of trouble.
By the way, I still use Dependencies on base, because sometimes you change API between 2 subversions and the mod is not retro compatible in this case, otherwise people who do not update factorio, but update the mod have problems.
For the end user this system works better,
When they update to 0.14, they can actually load the game, and update and see which mods have not been updated,
Before, when you update say 0.11 to 0.12, your game would just crash when it tried to load, and you would have to manually go to the mods folder and delete mods until it worked