[MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Topics and discussion about specific mods
DonovanHawkins
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 6:02 pm
Contact:

[MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by DonovanHawkins »

Type: Mod
Name: Map Labels
Description: Add labels to resources on the map
License: MIT
Version: 0.1.0
Release: 2016-03-27
Tested-With-Factorio-Version: 0.12.29
Category: Helper
Tags: User-Interface, Accessibility
Download-Url: http://www.cephira.com/Temp/MapLabels_0.1.0.zip
Long description
Known issues
Version history
License

scherzeking
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 10:00 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by scherzeking »

Nice Mod. However when I try to rename the ores it will not change anything.
When I edit your example:
--ResourceDisplayName[ "iron-ore" ] = "~Iron ore"
into this: ResourceDisplayName[ "iron-ore" ] = "~Eisen"
I do get a error before loading the game. And when I leave the first thing (ResourceDisplayName = {}) nothing will change.
help?

Pandemoneus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 2:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by Pandemoneus »

scherzeking wrote:Nice Mod. However when I try to rename the ores it will not change anything.
When I edit your example:
--ResourceDisplayName[ "iron-ore" ] = "~Iron ore"
into this: ResourceDisplayName[ "iron-ore" ] = "~Eisen"
I do get a error before loading the game. And when I leave the first thing (ResourceDisplayName = {}) nothing will change.
help?
You have to leave the first line ResourceDisplayName = {} as it is. It declares and defines the variable ResourceDisplayName so you can fill it with stuff. An example file would look like this:

Code: Select all

ResourceDisplayName = {}

ResourceDisplayName["angels-fissure"] = "~Fissure"
ResourceDisplayName["angels-ore1"] = "~Saphirite"
My RSO+Bob's+Angel's modpack: Farlands (outdated)
Mods (current): Resource Labels
Mods (old): Biter Spires

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2631
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by steinio »

:thumbs up:

Thanks to this mod i found uraninite at last.
Could you please change the button to a smaller one (maybe with an icon) ?

Edit: Is it possible to place the label a bit far from the ressource and make the train stop visible so i can use it?

Greetings steinio
Attachments
MapLabels.png
MapLabels.png (19.54 KiB) Viewed 14894 times
Image

Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

scherzeking
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 10:00 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by scherzeking »

Pandemoneus wrote:
scherzeking wrote:Nice Mod. However when I try to rename the ores it will not change anything.
When I edit your example:
--ResourceDisplayName[ "iron-ore" ] = "~Iron ore"
into this: ResourceDisplayName[ "iron-ore" ] = "~Eisen"
I do get a error before loading the game. And when I leave the first thing (ResourceDisplayName = {}) nothing will change.
help?
You have to leave the first line ResourceDisplayName = {} as it is. It declares and defines the variable ResourceDisplayName so you can fill it with stuff. An example file would look like this:

Code: Select all

ResourceDisplayName = {}

ResourceDisplayName["angels-fissure"] = "~Fissure"
ResourceDisplayName["angels-ore1"] = "~Saphirite"
thx it works now ;)

drayath
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 6:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by drayath »

Some config's for various mods.

Code: Select all

-- Yuki Ores
ResourceDisplayName[ "y-res1" ] = "Durotal"
ResourceDisplayName[ "y-res2" ] = "Nuatreel"

Code: Select all

-- Angel Refining Ores
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore1" ] = "Saphirite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore2" ] = "Jivolite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore3" ] = "Stiratite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore4" ] = "Crotinnium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore5" ] = "Rubyte"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore6" ] = "Bobmonium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-fissure" ] = "Fissure"

Code: Select all

-- Angel Infinite Ores  (suggest setting ResourceFieldSearchRadius=10 or higher if using this mod and RSO)
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-copper-ore" ] = "Infinite Copper"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-iron-ore" ] = "Infinite Iron"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-coal" ] = "Infinite Coal"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-stone" ] = "Infinite Stone"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-tin-ore" ] = "Infinite Tin"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-gold-ore" ] = "Infinite Gold"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-bauxite-ore" ] = "Infinite Aluminium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-lead-ore" ] = "Infinite Lead"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-quartz" ] = "Infinite Silicon"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-rutile-ore" ] = "Infinite Titanium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-tungsten-ore" ] = "Infinite Tungsten"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-zinc-ore" ] = "Infinite Zinc"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-nickel-ore" ] = "Infinite Nickel"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-gem-ore" ] = "Infinite Gem"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-sulfur" ] = "Infinite Sulfur"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-silver-ore" ] = "Infinite Silver"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-cobalt-ore" ] = "Infinite Cobalt"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore1" ] = "Infinite Saphirite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore2" ] = "Infinite Jivolite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore3" ] = "Infinite Stiratite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore4" ] = "Infinite Crotinnium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore5" ] = "Infinite Rubyte "
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore6" ] = "Infinite Bobmonium"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-uraninite" ] = "Infinite Uraninite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-fluorite" ] = "Infinite Fluorite"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-y-res1" ] = "Infinite N4-Material Chunk"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-y-res2" ] = "Infinite F7-Material Chunk"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-uranium-ore" ] = "Infinite Uranium"

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2631
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by steinio »

Thanks drayath.
Image

Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2631
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by steinio »

Hello drayath,

sorry but you probably forgot the ~ sign like mentioned on the config.lua

Code: Select all

-- Preferred names for resources on map, or blank to hide (default is to replace non-alphanumeric characters with space, upper-case the first letter, and prepend a tilde)
so this would be te corrected version:

Code: Select all

-- Yuki Ores
ResourceDisplayName[ "y-res1" ] = "~Durotal"
ResourceDisplayName[ "y-res2" ] = "~Nuatreel"

-- Angel Refining Ores
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore1" ] = "~Saphirite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore2" ] = "~Jivolite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore3" ] = "~Stiratite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore4" ] = "~Crotinnium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore5" ] = "~Rubyte"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore6" ] = "~Bobmonium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-fissure" ] = "~Fissure"

-- Angel Infinite Ores  (suggest setting ResourceFieldSearchRadius=10 or higher if using this mod and RSO)
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-copper-ore" ] = "~Infinite Copper"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-iron-ore" ] = "~Infinite Iron"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-coal" ] = "~Infinite Coal"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-stone" ] = "~Infinite Stone"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-tin-ore" ] = "~Infinite Tin"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-gold-ore" ] = "~Infinite Gold"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-bauxite-ore" ] = "~Infinite Aluminium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-lead-ore" ] = "~Infinite Lead"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-quartz" ] = "~Infinite Silicon"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-rutile-ore" ] = "~Infinite Titanium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-tungsten-ore" ] = "~Infinite Tungsten"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-zinc-ore" ] = "~Infinite Zinc"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-nickel-ore" ] = "~Infinite Nickel"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-gem-ore" ] = "~Infinite Gem"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-sulfur" ] = "~Infinite Sulfur"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-silver-ore" ] = "~Infinite Silver"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-cobalt-ore" ] = "~Infinite Cobalt"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore1" ] = "~Infinite Saphirite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore2" ] = "~Infinite Jivolite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore3" ] = "~Infinite Stiratite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore4" ] = "~Infinite Crotinnium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore5" ] = "~Infinite Rubyte "
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore6" ] = "~Infinite Bobmonium"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-uraninite" ] = "~Infinite Uraninite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-fluorite" ] = "~Infinite Fluorite"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-y-res1" ] = "~Infinite N4-Material Chunk"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-y-res2" ] = "~Infinite F7-Material Chunk"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-uranium-ore" ] = "~Infinite Uranium"
Image

Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2124
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by Ranakastrasz »

Would be nice if each ore patch looked for nearby patches as well, within ~10 tiles, and merged them together, reducing number of icons.
Edit:
Also, would be preferable if it scanned the map gradually, rather than all at once, since it lags the game out.
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

maggi321
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 4:16 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by maggi321 »

Very great mod! I guess it makes playing with many ores like in Bobs mod much more playable.

Is it possible to make the labels undestroyable by the natives?

Right now I sometimes get Alerts from biters destroying some of the resource labels, which is really annoying.

PiggyWhiskey
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 5:28 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by PiggyWhiskey »

maggi321 wrote:Very great mod! I guess it makes playing with many ores like in Bobs mod much more playable.

Is it possible to make the labels undestroyable by the natives?

Right now I sometimes get Alerts from biters destroying some of the resource labels, which is really annoying.
It definitely makes searching for ores with Bob's easier.

I've only noticed them attacking when I'm near them. Close enough to trigger path finding to the player.

Bizobinator
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by Bizobinator »

Are there any plans to update it for 0.13.1?

maggi321
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 4:16 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by maggi321 »

I've created a 0.13.1 working version for personal purposes. I also changed the owner force of the invisible train stations to "neutral", which may remove the possibility of natives destroying it, but I didn't really have time to test it yet. I will share my version here, that other impatient people like me can use it, until the original author releases an update.
Attachments
MapLabels_0.1.1.zip
(4.62 KiB) Downloaded 238 times

PiggyWhiskey
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 5:28 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by PiggyWhiskey »

Has 0.13 been released already?

Didn't they say it would break most mods.

What changes did you make? Apart from changing it to neutral. (does that change work in 0.12?)

Edit: I'm an idiot. I forgot the releases go to beta in steam and from the website.
I was expecting my normal steam to update to 0.13 automatically

maggi321
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 4:16 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by maggi321 »

I only changed it to neutral and added the mandatory "factorio_version": "0.13.0" to the info.json file. I guess the change to neutral should also work in 0.12, but I didn't test it.

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2124
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by Ranakastrasz »

You could add the invulnerable tag instead. Can't recall what its called.
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3911
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by orzelek »

When spawning the tag you can set it's destructible flag to false - biters won't touch it.

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2631
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by steinio »

maggi321 wrote:I've created a 0.13.1 working version for personal purposes. I also changed the owner force of the invisible train stations to "neutral", which may remove the possibility of natives destroying it, but I didn't really have time to test it yet. I will share my version here, that other impatient people like me can use it, until the original author releases an update.
Thank you.
Image

Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

Templeo
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 4:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by Templeo »

When do you release a working version for 0.13 for the rest of us? :) or have i missed something ?



EDIT: silly me, never mind. Thank you alot maggi321! :) -though, can't seem to find the "Map Label button" ?

ukezi
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 11:02 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Post by ukezi »

I also can't find the button. it is not in the upper left corner. I'm useing bob's modpack.
EDIT: the button appears in a new game. how ever it is not showing in an old one is a riddle to me.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”