[Solved] [0.12.26] Audio disabled in Arch Linux

Anything that prevents you from playing the game properly. Do you have issues playing for the game, downloading it or successfully running it on your computer? Let us know here.
calch
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 5:04 am
Contact:

[Solved] [0.12.26] Audio disabled in Arch Linux

Post by calch »

When I originally demoed the game to make sure I could run it, the sound didn't work ("Couldn't initialise audio, audio is disabled") and I was able to use the standard solution in the known issues thread. Specifically, "padsp factorio-demo" fixed the sound, and so I expected to be able to do the same with the full version of the game.

I purchased the game on Steam, and it (as expected) doesn't work with the purchased version. However, when I try to use the same solution ("padsp ./factorio"), I get the following:

Code: Select all

$ padsp ./factorio 
   0.000  Initializing Steam API.
szCmd: /bin/sh -c '"/home/-----/.local/share/Steam/steam.sh" "steam://run/427520"' &
$ /home/-----/.local/share/Steam/steam.sh: line 161: VERSION_ID: unbound variable
/home/-----/.local/share/Steam/steam.sh: line 161: VERSION_ID: unbound variable
Running Steam on arch  64-bit
/home/-----/.local/share/Steam/steam.sh: line 161: VERSION_ID: unbound variable
STEAM_RUNTIME is enabled automatically
grep: /home/-----/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam-runtime/amd64/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libdbus-1.so.3: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/pulseaudio/libpulsecommon-8.0.so)
grep: /home/-----/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam-runtime/amd64/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libgpg-error.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libgcrypt.so.20)
grepgrep: : /home/-----/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam-runtime/amd64/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libdbus-1.so.3/home/-----/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam-runtime/amd64/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libdbus-1.so.3: : no version information available (required by /usr/lib/pulseaudio/libpulsecommon-8.0.so)no version information available (required by /usr/lib/pulseaudio/libpulsecommon-8.0.so)

grep: /home/-----/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam-runtime/amd64/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libgpg-error.so.0grep: : no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libgcrypt.so.20)/home/-----/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam-runtime/amd64/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libgpg-error.so.0
: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libgcrypt.so.20)
awk: /home/-----/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam-runtime/amd64/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libdbus-1.so.3: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/pulseaudio/libpulsecommon-8.0.so)
awk: /home/-----/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam-runtime/amd64/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libgpg-error.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libgcrypt.so.20)
/home/-----/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam: /home/-----/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam-runtime/i386/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libdbus-1.so.3: no version information available (required by /usr/lib32/pulseaudio/libpulsecommon-8.0.so)
/home/-----/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam: /home/-----/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam-runtime/i386/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libgpg-error.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib32/libgcrypt.so.20)
It appears that invoking the steam version from the shell invokes Factorio through Steam, and involves Steam modifying the shared library path so that the executable will use the packaged shared libraries. However, this conflicts with padsp's modification of the same shared library path, which ends in conflicts between the two versions of the shared libraries.

I would use the non-Steam version of the game - where the workaround is likely to work - but, as mentioned in this other thread, it's not possible to go from a Steam purchase to a website account at this time.

I've made sure that I've removed the demo version that I originally installed, I've reinstalled the Steam version, and I've tried the experimental version through Steam, but, as expected, none of those helped.

What can I do to get Factorio to run with sound? I'd rather not wait an indeterminate amount of time for either the sound bug to be fixed or the Steam integration to be added.
Last edited by Koub on Sat Mar 19, 2016 6:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added solved tag + shortened title a little to be able to do so.
posila
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 5447
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.26] Audio disabled in Arch Linux; can't use workaround

Post by posila »

Hi, I am not Linux user so I cannot verify this works. On Steam forums somebody mentioned setting launch options in Factorio properties in Steam to

Code: Select all

LD_LIBRARY_PATH="$SYSTEM_LD_LIBRARY_PATH" %command%
in order to disable Steam runtime in game. I am not sure what happens if you insert "padsp" in from of %command% in the launch options. SteamAPI may detect the game was not launched directly from Steam (but from the padsp wrapper) and may attempt to restart the game under Steam.
Hobblin
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 4:03 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.26] Audio disabled in Arch Linux; can't use workaround

Post by Hobblin »

Thanks posila, adding

Code: Select all

LD_LIBRARY_PATH="$SYSTEM_LD_LIBRARY_PATH" padsp %command%
worked for me :)
calch
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 5:04 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.26] Audio disabled in Arch Linux; can't use workaround

Post by calch »

Excellent! Hobblin's solution worked for me, as well. Thanks!
Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 7955
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: [Solved] [0.12.26] Audio disabled in Arch Linux

Post by Koub »

Calch, I took the liberty to shorten a little the title of your OP to add [solved] tag : it might be of some help to other people in your case to know such a problem can be solved :).
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.
krimreaper
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [Solved] [0.12.26] Audio disabled in Arch Linux

Post by krimreaper »

This worked for me as well on Arch Linux. Thanks.
ImaHermit
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: [Solved] [0.12.26] Audio disabled in Arch Linux

Post by ImaHermit »

This worked for me on Fedora 21. 8-)
Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”