Hooking a wire up to a assembly machine should emit a value for each item it contains in its inventory.
Let's say that you have an iron gear wheel assembly machine. You connect a wire and it emits "0 iron plate, 0 iron gear wheel". If I feed it 2 plates it will emit "2 iron plate, 0 iron gear wheel" while it begins the manufacture process. When done making the gear wheel it will emit "0 iron plate, 1 iron gear wheel". This way we can do simple math on a series of connected assemblers to determine supply/demand. It also allows us to hook up smart inserters to only feed if iron plates < 2 (or 4, 6... if we want a bit of cache built up).
This essentially makes assemblers a variable combinator that emits their product which we can wire together to make smarter lines.
Edit: proper names...
Assembly Machines should emit combinator values
Moderator: ickputzdirwech
- bobingabout
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 7352
- Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
- Contact:
Re: Assembly Machines should emit combinator values
I am fairly sure that this is already in the works for the next major release (0.13.x series).
Re: Assembly Machines should emit combinator values
Ugh... waiting for 0.13 is killing me!!
-
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 55
- Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:56 pm
- Contact:
Re: Assembly Machines should emit combinator values
This release is going to be so good...bobingabout wrote:I am fairly sure that this is already in the works for the next major release (0.13.x series).
Re: Assembly Machines should emit combinator values
I'm sorry if necroing a post is frowned upon, but I tried doing this again in 0.15.2 and it's still not an option to hook a wire up to the assembly machine.
Though after reading my previous request, I think it would be beneficial to implement it more like the roboport where multiple signals are dispatched or a "mode" could be selected to output the required material, items waiting to be removed, and/or a state of it's processing (0 = idle, 1 = processing)
Though after reading my previous request, I think it would be beneficial to implement it more like the roboport where multiple signals are dispatched or a "mode" could be selected to output the required material, items waiting to be removed, and/or a state of it's processing (0 = idle, 1 = processing)
Re: Assembly Machines should emit combinator values
Yes, I also miss this feature a lot. Right now, I have to always count the number of items entering the assembler and leaving it again, in order to determine its current state and inventory. This requires a rather complex combinator setup. It would be more meaningful if it were possible to simply hook up the assembler to the circuit network.
Re: Assembly Machines should emit combinator values
+1 to hook all assemblers, chem plants, centrifuge ect to the circuit network to output their contents
-
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 230
- Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 6:16 pm
- Contact:
Re: Assembly Machines should emit combinator values
+1
and also turn on/off
I dont Think the change recepie mode will work that well, it was discussed in some other post that i dont remember
and also turn on/off
I dont Think the change recepie mode will work that well, it was discussed in some other post that i dont remember
Re: Assembly Machines should emit combinator values
Not being able to read contents from Assembling Machines bugged me a lot in the beginning, but I grew used to it and noticed that you don't need this information on most cases.
It'd be really nice to have such feature, though...
It'd be really nice to have such feature, though...
"I'd say the main bottleneck is sleep." - AndrewIRL