[0.12.x][v0.12.8] Bob's Ore Mod.

Some mods, made by Bob. Basically streaks every Factroio-area.

Moderator: bobingabout

Keep merged Galena, or change to seperate Lead and Nickel ores?

Poll ended at Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:05 am

Galena gives Lead and Nickel
5
56%
Lead and Nickel as seperate ore fields.
1
11%
Keep Galena, and add another mod that adds Nickel ore fields. (turning Galena to Lead ore)
3
33%
 
Total votes: 9

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by bobingabout »

NorNogaAdmin wrote:Bob, i think i see the problem here...
if you have GalenaGivesNickel enabled, you define "nickel-ore". however, your looking for no definition of nickle ore to populate lead ore
You are confusing my creation of the nickel-ore ITEM with my check for nickel-ore RESOURCE, they are 2 seperate things. this code does work last I checked in 0.11, it is unchanged since then and should still work in 0.12, even though I havn't actually tested it. The change shouldn't break anything, but my version also accounts for other mods adding Nickel ore fields.
NorNogaAdmin wrote:

Code: Select all

for i, drill in pairs(data.raw["mining-drill"]) do
  if not drill.storage_slots then 
    drill.storage_slots = 6 
  else
    if drill.storage_slots < 6 then
      drill.storage_slots = 6
    end
  end
end
Although this would work, and fix the issue you're having, due to the nature of my code it would change ALL mining machines. In some cases (and I even considered doing this myself) you may want only higher tier mining drills to be able to mine all the resources, and the lower tier ones not to. if I do your fix, it will force all mining machines in all mods to have 6 item slots. this would probably be a bad thing, in some cases 6 might not even be enough.

Have you tried to see what happens if you turn off Waitex? perhaps have you tried Bob's Mining mod to see if it works with my own mining machines?
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

NorNogaAdmin
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by NorNogaAdmin »

well bob, I tried it myself with base, scenario pack and ores only enabled, i was not able to get a miner to mine cobalt ore from galena.
bobingabout wrote:
NorNogaAdmin wrote:Bob, i think i see the problem here...
if you have GalenaGivesNickel enabled, you define "nickel-ore". however, your looking for no definition of nickle ore to populate lead ore
You are confusing my creation of the nickel-ore ITEM with my check for nickel-ore RESOURCE, they are 2 seperate things. this code does work last I checked in 0.11, it is unchanged since then and should still work in 0.12, even though I havn't actually tested it. The change shouldn't break anything, but my version also accounts for other mods adding Nickel ore fields.
Ok, i skimmed too quick over that... also, different person.
00110001 00100000 01101001 01100110 00100000 01111001 01101111 01110101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101110 00100000 01110010 01100101 01100001 01100100 00100000 01101101 01100101

NorNogaAdmin
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by NorNogaAdmin »

NorNogaAdmin wrote:well bob, I tried it myself with base, scenario pack and ores only enabled, i was not able to get a miner to mine cobalt ore from galena.
bobingabout wrote:
NorNogaAdmin wrote:Bob, i think i see the problem here...
if you have GalenaGivesNickel enabled, you define "nickel-ore". however, your looking for no definition of nickle ore to populate lead ore
You are confusing my creation of the nickel-ore ITEM with my check for nickel-ore RESOURCE, they are 2 seperate things. this code does work last I checked in 0.11, it is unchanged since then and should still work in 0.12, even though I havn't actually tested it. The change shouldn't break anything, but my version also accounts for other mods adding Nickel ore fields.
Ok, i skimmed too quick over that... also, different person.
bobingabout wrote: if I do your fix, it will force all mining machines in all mods to have 6 item slots. this would probably be a bad thing, in some cases 6 might not even be enough.
A. how can this be a bad thing
B. if more were defined, that code would not touch it...
00110001 00100000 01101001 01100110 00100000 01111001 01101111 01110101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101110 00100000 01110010 01100101 01100001 01100100 00100000 01101101 01100101

Cheetah
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by Cheetah »

Have you tried to see what happens if you turn off Waitex? perhaps have you tried Bob's Mining mod to see if it works with my own mining machines?
Yes, I did, still the same result. I figured WaiTex is just a bunch of alternate .PNG's anyhow, I didn't realize it also messes with miner slot appending which it really shouldn't IMO.

Also, thank you NorNoga for adding your knowledge and ideas to the diagnostics.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by bobingabout »

Cheetah wrote:
Have you tried to see what happens if you turn off Waitex? perhaps have you tried Bob's Mining mod to see if it works with my own mining machines?
Yes, I did, still the same result. I figured WaiTex is just a bunch of alternate .PNG's anyhow, I didn't realize it also messes with miner slot appending which it really shouldn't IMO.

Also, thank you NorNoga for adding your knowledge and ideas to the diagnostics.
I didn't say it does, I said it could... if it doesn't, I don't know. I'll take a look at things anyway when I get some time.

Edit:
there is indeed an error: instead of
if bobmods.ores.GalenaGivesNickel == true then
the tag used is bobmods.GalenaGivesNickel, it's missing part of it. This is in the NickelGiveCobalt check if you want to fix it.

To point out, I did actually look at code before, but didn't see the issue, which is why I started looking at alternatives instead of trying to fix it. So, I'm sorry about that.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

Cheetah
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by Cheetah »

if bobmods.ores.GalenaGivesNickel == true then
the tag used is bobmods.GalenaGivesNickel, it's missing part of it. This is in the NickelGiveCobalt check if you want to fix it.
Updating this reference in data.lua does indeed fix it. YAY!

The lua interpreter/debugger should really be more verbose on bad references in the code. I expected typos like this to be in the log.

Thanks loads Bob!

NorNoga thanks too ;)

NorNogaAdmin
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by NorNogaAdmin »

Cheetah wrote:NorNoga thanks too ;)
just trying to expand my coding/scripting/modding skills/help...
00110001 00100000 01101001 01100110 00100000 01111001 01101111 01110101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101110 00100000 01110010 01100101 01100001 01100100 00100000 01101101 01100101

NorNogaAdmin
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by NorNogaAdmin »

bob, is there a reason that you output the gems directly from the miner and not the unsorted gem ore? and on that note, is there an easier way to change the config files other than unziping the mod and (for completeness sake) rename the "mod.zip" to "mod.zip.disable"?
00110001 00100000 01101001 01100110 00100000 01111001 01101111 01110101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101110 00100000 01110010 01100101 01100001 01100100 00100000 01101101 01100101

Cheetah
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by Cheetah »

Gems output config from config.lua in bobores archive:

Code: Select all

-- if set to true, Gem ore fields will give the Unsorted Gems resource. If false will give each ore type.
bobmods.ores.UnsortedGemOre=true
Why not update directly to source archive? Is it to preserve some sort of "custom" mod change-log and/or ease of handling updates?

Anyhow, on the off chance you didn't know; normally if you open a file directly from the compressed zip and then modify and save the auto-extracted file (that sits in ../temp somewhere), at least winRAR is smart enough to ask if you wish to save the modified file to the source archive and re-compress it. Takes all of 2 clicks and is hardly inconvenient. Not all that "best practice" compliant probably but meh....

EDIT: Yes I know my name is not Bob but I replied anyway.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by bobingabout »

I personally just run from the extracted folders. the mod zip files are stored in a completely different folder, in my case, my drop box/factorio folder.
Gems... Gems were changed to this method because of future plans, and to make it more DyTech compatable.

And I think the reason it doesn't throw an error for that tag is... it doesn't equate to true, it equates to nil, so the check returns a false.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

NorNogaAdmin
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by NorNogaAdmin »

Cheetah wrote:Gems output config from config.lua in bobores archive:

Code: Select all

-- if set to true, Gem ore fields will give the Unsorted Gems resource. If false will give each ore type.
bobmods.ores.UnsortedGemOre=true
That is how my config is setup right now...
Cheetah wrote: Why not update directly to source archive? Is it to preserve some sort of "custom" mod change-log and/or ease of handling updates?

Anyhow, on the off chance you didn't know; normally if you open a file directly from the compressed zip and then modify and save the auto-extracted file (that sits in ../temp somewhere), at least winRAR is smart enough to ask if you wish to save the modified file to the source archive and re-compress it. Takes all of 2 clicks and is hardly inconvenient. Not all that "best practice" compliant probably but meh....

EDIT: Yes I know my name is not Bob but I replied anyway.
i don't care that you replied, your opinion is always welcome but not all zip archivers/editing software/operating system configurations/Personal preferences are the same. so why that might work for you, i like to have an easy way to go back to default configs.
00110001 00100000 01101001 01100110 00100000 01111001 01101111 01110101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101110 00100000 01110010 01100101 01100001 01100100 00100000 01101101 01100101

Lewiddyion
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 1:53 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by Lewiddyion »

A bit off topic, but just wanted to say thanks for your mods. The options in the ores config I just stumbled on make this compilation even more interesting!

I'm going to try a run through disabling gem fields and enabling the option where gems drop only through the other ores (bauxite, etc). This seems a very interesting problem to try and deal with.

Of course, I have some feedback and ideas most of which are beyond the scope of your mod. It would be interesting to add a variant mod where only various stone fields exist on the surface, and each presents a differing variety of ores within. For example - Limestone would yield a percentage of coal, iron and bauxite while Basalt would yield a percentage of copper, iron and aluminum. Each stone variety would also yield stone too, but you'd have to figure out a series of mechanisms to sort and organised all the late game unwanted ores from early game ores. That would perhaps be too tedious for the average player. It'd make the over-world look a bit less like a candy wonderland too! =)

Anyway, thanks for the mods - they're great! Is there a way to show appreciation for your efforts?

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by bobingabout »

Lewiddyion wrote:It would be interesting to add a variant mod where only various stone fields exist on the surface, and each presents a differing variety of ores within
I think Cartmen's mod was based on doing something like this.
Lewiddyion wrote:Anyway, thanks for the mods - they're great! Is there a way to show appreciation for your efforts?
I think you just did. :)
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

Cheetah
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by Cheetah »

bobingabout wrote:
Lewiddyion wrote:Anyway, thanks for the mods - they're great! Is there a way to show appreciation for your efforts?
I think you just did. :)
Well, the scope of what you are both creating and maintaining by (what appears to be) your lonesome self already merits donations by a generous stretch. Personally, I'd donate without a second thought and I am convinced many others would too. Your mod is getting quite some exposure (and getting more) on Youtube as well. Quite frankly, Arumba sold me Factorio only from the point he started featuring your mod. His new Factorio AMASS multiplayer series is hilarious btw, and clearly illustrates that your many additions/improvements are daunting to even seasoned vanilla Factorio players.

Anyway, it's just something to consider ;)

Sokyra
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 1:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by Sokyra »

Hi,

I've played two games with your mods and I must say it's really great but I had the same problem twice.

I start the game with default settings and start building my factory, I progress to T4 science then.... I need cobalt and there's none Oo ? That ended my first game (it was last month), I decided to try another BOBmods game because I thought it was more fun than Dytech but now I get that problem for the second time....

Seriously, cobalt is needed for the T4 science but is not generated by default?

So if I'm not mistaken, that means everyone that plays up to T4 science is gonna have to go to their mod folder, unzip the archive and edit the config.lua to enable the ore and then use the command to regenerate the ore....

By the way, the regeneration doesn't even seem to work ( I mean this command : " /c game.regenerate_entity("cobalt-ore") " ), it just freezes the game for a few seconds, which seems to be a good sign, but I still can't find any cobalt...

Well, since I can't generate it I'm gonna drop that game again.

I don't understand why you don't generate cobalt like everything else...

monkeymissile
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 3:17 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by monkeymissile »

Sokyra wrote:Hi,

I've played two games with your mods and I must say it's really great but I had the same problem twice.

I start the game with default settings and start building my factory, I progress to T4 science then.... I need cobalt and there's none Oo ? That ended my first game (it was last month), I decided to try another BOBmods game because I thought it was more fun than Dytech but now I get that problem for the second time....

Seriously, cobalt is needed for the T4 science but is not generated by default?

So if I'm not mistaken, that means everyone that plays up to T4 science is gonna have to go to their mod folder, unzip the archive and edit the config.lua to enable the ore and then use the command to regenerate the ore....

By the way, the regeneration doesn't even seem to work ( I mean this command : " /c game.regenerate_entity("cobalt-ore") " ), it just freezes the game for a few seconds, which seems to be a good sign, but I still can't find any cobalt...

Well, since I can't generate it I'm gonna drop that game again.

I don't understand why you don't generate cobalt like everything else...
He does it's just disabled by default on purpose. The standard way to get cobalt is through a new recipe for processing copper ore that stiol gives copper plates, but also cobalt. If you want actual cobalt deposits instead you can enable them in the config fileusing 7zip, no need to unpack you can edit from within tue archive.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by bobingabout »

Sokyra wrote:I need cobalt and there's none Oo ?
Look at the requirements for science pack 4, and other things that use cobalt. the cobalt chains all go through a common intermediate, Cobalt Oxide, So you don't actually NEED the ore. Look at Cobalt processing, look at what it unlocks, one of the recipes recently had the icon changed so now has an icon of a copper plate with cobalt oxide. This is where you get cobalt from without cobalt ore. If you replace some of your copper production with this recipe, not only do you get more copper out per ore, but you also get cobalt.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

Sokyra
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 1:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by Sokyra »

Yeah now I understand but I searched a lot for cobalt and I really couldn't find the info.

Well now there's an icon with blue powder over a copper plate... honestly I'm not sure it helps a lot.

The best would be an updated wiki but I know it takes too much time to keep those up to date.
(when the game goes on steam it will become necessary with the hordes of new players looking for info on major mods)

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by bobingabout »

I'm going to try and write a guide/walkthrough.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

Lewiddyion
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 1:53 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.22/0.12.x][v0.12.2] Bob's Ore Mod.

Post by Lewiddyion »

Biggest help for me figuring out the relationships has been using Foreman. It doesn't have everything - but it's pretty excellent at diagnosing industry paths.

Post Reply

Return to “Bob's mods”