[MOD 0.17.X] Air Filtering

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Post Reply
Kryzeth
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 9:07 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Kryzeth » Sat Jul 25, 2015 9:23 am

Hello, first time posting, but there's a little bug with the air filter in the Smart Inserter list, where it's listed under the question mark instead of under Intermediate Products (where the used air filter is). It might also be incorrectly listed in the crafting menu as well (I haven't actually played a game in 0.12 yet, have been editing a few mods to 'pretty up' the crafting menu)

I've looked into your mod, and I'm pretty sure it's because there's no subgroup or order listed for the air filter item (under item.lua). I've fixed it for myself by re-adding the subgroup (raw-material) and setting the order to "g[plastic-bar]-h[filter-air]" and changing the order of the used air filter to "h[air-filter]-i[used-air-filter]"

That's... probably not the proper notation or something (just started looking into mods), but it correctly lists the air filter after the plastic bar, and the used air filter after the air filter (as it's supposed to, I assume?) But yeah, just letting you know!

Nanobytez
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 6:53 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Nanobytez » Sun Aug 02, 2015 6:51 pm

Can we get some info on this? For example, is it cleaning all air pollution or just an area. I currently have 10 of these fully automated entirely in a single area. Is this overkill for this area or what? Just wanna optimize it better.

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:03 pm

Kryzeth wrote:Hello, first time posting, but there's a little bug with the air filter in the Smart Inserter list, where it's listed under the question mark instead of under Intermediate Products (where the used air filter is). It might also be incorrectly listed in the crafting menu as well (I haven't actually played a game in 0.12 yet, have been editing a few mods to 'pretty up' the crafting menu)

I've looked into your mod, and I'm pretty sure it's because there's no subgroup or order listed for the air filter item (under item.lua). I've fixed it for myself by re-adding the subgroup (raw-material) and setting the order to "g[plastic-bar]-h[filter-air]" and changing the order of the used air filter to "h[air-filter]-i[used-air-filter]"

That's... probably not the proper notation or something (just started looking into mods), but it correctly lists the air filter after the plastic bar, and the used air filter after the air filter (as it's supposed to, I assume?) But yeah, just letting you know!
Thanks buddy. I'll have a look into this.

Edit: Done. Bugfix is out and working for me :) Thank you again for reporting this one!

Nanobytez wrote:Can we get some info on this? For example, is it cleaning all air pollution or just an area. I currently have 10 of these fully automated entirely in a single area. Is this overkill for this area or what? Just wanna optimize it better.
I hope this will help you: https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... =20#p71063
If not, just ask again and I'll try to help you ;)
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

Nanobytez
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 6:53 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Nanobytez » Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:31 pm

That helped a ton, turns out my 10 AFMs are in their own chunk. >.<

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Sun Aug 02, 2015 8:38 pm

For me it seemed to be a good idea, to build a "wall" around my base, so that no pollution was leaking out. That way no biters were attrackted. Surely there are other ways to use them. Just try something out and see if it works for you :)
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

DreamSmith
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:43 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by DreamSmith » Mon Aug 03, 2015 7:31 am

I have a mild issue.... I don't seem to need it...... I do tend to wall in my bases with 5x5 tree blocks with 3 wide gaps between, it makes a nice grid pattern though it does mean I'm planting over 1k germlings (yay treefarm) per hour manually.....

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Mon Aug 03, 2015 7:51 am

Some people call this "tree farm abuse" because its far to easy to reduce the pollution this way. Also, not everybody uses tree farm mod. If you linke to play this way, just go on ;)
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

DreamSmith
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:43 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by DreamSmith » Mon Aug 03, 2015 8:58 am

Aye, I can see how it would be called abuse. If it was blueprintable I'd agree, but I have to plant each germling manually, during the first 12 hours of play, I spend 75% of the time planting.

User avatar
L0771
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 512
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 1:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by L0771 » Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:34 pm

I like your mod, but please, read this post: click me!

And i think is a very easy clean a medium factory...
maybe make 5-7 tiers of technology, with a tier 1 easier than now (with only science pack 1), for very little factories and continue to make a tier 7 for a ultra factory and VERY expensive(+300 science pack 4).

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:57 pm

I will update the description, when the template is final.
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

Damrus
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:41 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Damrus » Sun Aug 09, 2015 4:23 pm

L0771 wrote:I like your mod, but please, read this post: click me!

And i think is a very easy clean a medium factory...
maybe make 5-7 tiers of technology, with a tier 1 easier than now (with only science pack 1), for very little factories and continue to make a tier 7 for a ultra factory and VERY expensive(+300 science pack 4).

I'd second this. for people that play with heavy polution mods (dytech and bobs mods andsuch).

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Mon Aug 10, 2015 5:40 am

I will think about this. But I don't know, Wien there will be time to do this
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:16 am

Reworked the mod-description :)
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

User avatar
L0771
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 512
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 1:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by L0771 » Wed Aug 12, 2015 12:15 am

Schorty wrote:Reworked the mod-description :)
Thanks you :D

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Wed Aug 12, 2015 6:38 pm

I'm happy to announce, that there are now mk2 and mk3 versions of the air filter machines in version 0.3 of my mod. For those of you who will try it out: I would be glad if you could post your experiences with the new entities here, because I had no time testing the balancing of those. Especially the mk3-version might be a "bit" overkill :D

Have fun!
Schorty

PS: It was a PAIN to get those graphics done. In the end, I'm a programmer, not a graphics designer... If there are graphic glitches, you might have to live with them, cause I ain't gonna touch them graphics again though! :lol:
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

Damrus
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:41 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Damrus » Thu Aug 13, 2015 10:50 am

Thats awesome. Thank you!

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Thu Aug 13, 2015 11:16 am

Would be nice if you could share your experiences with this one with me ;)

Cheers
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

toudi
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 5:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by toudi » Fri Aug 14, 2015 4:51 pm

Mk3 are too powerful. I set up them around my heavy polluted dytech base and it cleaned it all up. I would not be bad but then I noticed that the evolution factor started to drop, and it dropped fast. Actually it dropped from 100% to below zero (!) maybe in like 5-10 min. I think this should not happen, but I dont know how the evolution factor is calculated.

Using: Dytech (core, power, machine. war), AdvancedEquipment, DefaultRequestAmount, Evolution factor indicator, Fluid Void, Landfill, Treefarm-lite, Uranium Power, Craft Faster

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Fri Aug 14, 2015 4:59 pm

I would not have guessed, that they are so powerful, that they can even drop the evolution factor :D

Thank you for the feedback. I'll change that soon :)
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

User avatar
Senacharim
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Senacharim » Sat Aug 15, 2015 6:39 am

Any chance of getting these to burn thru filters at a rate commensurate to the pollution level?

E.G. - In a heavily polluted area, it will use up a filter *very* quickly,
And if placed in an area with no pollution, it'll just not use up the filter at all.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: thriem