[MOD 0.12.x] Larger Inventory

Mods, that cannot be sorted into other categories or new/incoming mods which doesn't fit into another category go here.
Please use the "report"-button, if you want to have it moved to another board.

[MOD 0.12.x] Larger Inventory

Postby Rseding91 » Sat Sep 20, 2014 12:04 am

This is a very tiny mod that doubles the size of the player's inventory.

Image
Image



Current version: 1.0.0

Download [0.10.8 & 0.11 & 0.12]:
Larger Inventory_1.0.0.zip
(489 Bytes) Downloaded 34048 times
Last edited by Rseding91 on Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC.
My Github page with my mods: https://github.com/Rseding91?tab=repositories
Find my mods on the mod portal: https://mods.factorio.com/
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 3763
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x] Larger Inventory

Postby Turtle » Sat Sep 20, 2014 12:21 am

Oh cool. I thought I read that this part was hard coded. Good job.
Turtle
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 9:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: [MOD 0.10.x] Larger Inventory

Postby bobingabout » Sat Sep 20, 2014 3:59 am

It's not hard coded, it's defined in the player entity definitions. The problem is that it is not upgradable via tech, so you're stuck with the size you start with, wether it be the default size, or a larger edited size.
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 3470
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm

Re: [MOD 0.10.x] Larger Inventory

Postby Alexs » Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:51 am

thx thx thx !!!
Alexs
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 9:46 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x] Larger Inventory

Postby btw » Sat Sep 20, 2014 10:18 am

very usable mod thx
btw
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:31 pm

Re: [MOD 0.10.x] Larger Inventory

Postby SHiRKiT » Sat Sep 20, 2014 3:30 pm

When playing with 20+ mods, this is a nice feature to have, since you end up stacking tons of stuff on the inventory all the time since everything requires different raw intermediary products.
User avatar
SHiRKiT
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 678
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 11:52 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: [MOD 0.10.x] Larger Inventory

Postby bobingabout » Sat Sep 20, 2014 6:24 pm

SHiRKiT wrote:When playing with 20+ mods, this is a nice feature to have, since you end up stacking tons of stuff on the inventory all the time since everything requires different raw intermediary products.

Definitely, I actually wrote a mod that gives me double inventory size myself, but havn't released it. I think someone found the line that does it commented out in one of my mods.
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 3470
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm

Re: [MOD 0.10.x] Larger Inventory

Postby Rseding91 » Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:08 pm

bobingabout wrote:... I think someone found the line that does it commented out in one of my mods.


Nah :P I realized it could be done when I was looking at "The Fat Controller" and saw it added its own player entity. I never realized the player entity could be re-defined (I just assumed it was hard coded).

I was going to make a mod with research to upgrade the different parts of the player but like you mentioned there's no way to migrate settings live so I made this and said good enough (at least until 0.11 is out) :)
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC.
My Github page with my mods: https://github.com/Rseding91?tab=repositories
Find my mods on the mod portal: https://mods.factorio.com/
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 3763
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x] Larger Inventory

Postby bobingabout » Sun Sep 21, 2014 1:38 pm

Rseding91 wrote:
bobingabout wrote:... I think someone found the line that does it commented out in one of my mods.


Nah :P

I didn't actually mean you, someone in my forum topics commented on the commented out line.
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 3470
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Larger Inventory

Postby Kane » Sat Feb 21, 2015 8:27 am

Thank you for this. I love having a bigger main inventory. I find the current one smaller. I hope there is upgrades aka research for this. If not consider maybe adding it down the road. It would be fun to research each added row.
Kane
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:34 pm

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Larger Inventory

Postby bobingabout » Sat Feb 21, 2015 6:11 pm

Kane wrote:Thank you for this. I love having a bigger main inventory. I find the current one smaller. I hope there is upgrades aka research for this. If not consider maybe adding it down the road. It would be fun to research each added row.

currently not possible, due to the way researchs are defined by the game, you can only research an effect if it has been pre-defined by the devs. since there is no feature to upgrade your inventory in the base game, you can't expand upon that with mods.
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 3470
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Larger Inventory

Postby Dellamonikus » Fri Mar 06, 2015 9:11 pm

Well fuck.
I installed the mod, it set some stack sizes down from 200 to 50 and now...well...the inventories are kinda smaller...
I didnt realise early enough and saved the game, how can I delete the mod changes from the map? I've deleted the mod!
Dellamonikus
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:22 pm

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Larger Inventory

Postby Rseding91 » Fri Mar 06, 2015 9:26 pm

Dellamonikus wrote:Well fuck.
I installed the mod, it set some stack sizes down from 200 to 50 and now...well...the inventories are kinda smaller...
I didnt realise early enough and saved the game, how can I delete the mod changes from the map? I've deleted the mod!


This mod doesn't touch stack sizes. Just the player inventory size.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC.
My Github page with my mods: https://github.com/Rseding91?tab=repositories
Find my mods on the mod portal: https://mods.factorio.com/
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 3763
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Larger Inventory

Postby Choumiko » Fri May 15, 2015 7:23 am

bobingabout wrote:currently not possible, due to the way researchs are defined by the game, you can only research an effect if it has been pre-defined by the devs. since there is no feature to upgrade your inventory in the base game, you can't expand upon that with mods.

Couldn't a workaround be to define different player prototypes with different inventory sizes. Once an upgrade is researched have control.lua swap the old prototype with the new one?
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1099
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Larger Inventory

Postby Rseding91 » Fri May 15, 2015 4:50 pm

Choumiko wrote:
bobingabout wrote:currently not possible, due to the way researchs are defined by the game, you can only research an effect if it has been pre-defined by the devs. since there is no feature to upgrade your inventory in the base game, you can't expand upon that with mods.

Couldn't a workaround be to define different player prototypes with different inventory sizes. Once an upgrade is researched have control.lua swap the old prototype with the new one?


That might be possible but the swapping of the player with the new one while maintaining the inventory would be tricky and problem ridden.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC.
My Github page with my mods: https://github.com/Rseding91?tab=repositories
Find my mods on the mod portal: https://mods.factorio.com/
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 3763
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Larger Inventory

Postby Peter34 » Sat May 16, 2015 12:04 am

This mod makes a drastic change, increasing player inventory from 6 to 12 rows. Have you thought about making an alternate version that increases inventory capacity by less, e.g. by only 50%?
Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Location: Europe

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Larger Inventory

Postby CreeperDaReeper » Sat May 16, 2015 12:44 am

Rseding91 wrote:That might be possible but the swapping of the player with the new one while maintaining the inventory would be tricky and problem ridden.

Have the research throw up a button on screen that says "Upgrade Inventory" clicking on it tells you to empty your inventory first. Any reserved and/or logistic slots would probably need to be redone after. Not sure on the last part since I have no idea how the code works.
User avatar
CreeperDaReeper
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 8:59 pm

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Larger Inventory

Postby Doublespin » Thu May 21, 2015 1:07 pm

I dont know much about coding but i think i found a simple workaround:
the game.onevent function http://www.factorioforums.com/wiki/index.php?title=Lua/Events#onresearchfinished

With this function it should be possible to check after every finishes research if research "x" is finished and run some lines of code. There will be some unnecessary checks but i cant imagine that they will have a large impact on the performance.

edit: I looked up some things in the wiki/forum and if i got it right, then the player entitity can be changed but not be updated in a live game?
So my idea doesnt work.


Rseding91 wrote:
Choumiko wrote:
bobingabout wrote:currently not possible, due to the way researchs are defined by the game, you can only research an effect if it has been pre-defined by the devs. since there is no feature to upgrade your inventory in the base game, you can't expand upon that with mods.

Couldn't a workaround be to define different player prototypes with different inventory sizes. Once an upgrade is researched have control.lua swap the old prototype with the new one?


That might be possible but the swapping of the player with the new one while maintaining the inventory would be tricky and problem ridden.

The cursed exp mod has a tomb stone integrated which saved the items a player has when he dies. Maybe you are allowed to borrow some code?
Maybe the code of the "bodys" feature could beuseful too?
I'm not a native speaker (obviously), so I will appreciate every pm with corrections :)
Doublespin
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 12:46 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Larger Inventory

Postby Darkestnoir » Wed Jul 22, 2015 2:29 pm

Seems to be not working on 0.12...

Image

Image
User avatar
Darkestnoir
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 8:57 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Larger Inventory

Postby Koub » Wed Jul 22, 2015 3:50 pm

Is it possible to test the game with just vanilla + this mod ?
If the mod is effectively not compatible with 0.12, I'll move it back to <=0.11 until it's fixed
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.
Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1987
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Location: France

Next

Return to General 'The Big Mess' Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests