Circuit network features for 0.15

Give feedback on topics proposed by the developers.

What circuit network features do you want to see in 0.15?

Poll ended at Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:26 pm

Sound box - send circuit signal to make a sound
125
4%
Train Station - read train contents - IMPLEMENTED
329
11%
Train Station - control trains by disabling/enabling the station - IMPLEMENTED
238
8%
Roboport: This roboport content
54
2%
Roboport - items needed for construction(to automatically supply broken outposts) 28325
155
5%
Radar - Wireless transmission of circuit signals
194
6%
Radar - Number of enemies nearby
125
4%
Assembling machine: enable/disable
116
4%
Assembling machine: set recipe
164
5%
Beacon - enable/disable
44
1%
Pump - read fluid flow.
83
3%
Rocket silo - read when silo is ready and has satellite. Launch rocket on condition. Add checkbox for autolaunch in gui.
155
5%
UI alert on condition
228
8%
More operations to the arithmetic combinator: % << >>. - IMPLEMENTED
64
2%
More options in the decider combinator: !=, >=, <= (makes sense for special signals) - IMPLEMENTED
100
3%
Logic combinator (AND OR NOT XOR, etc)
207
7%
Bit combinator 14454 - IMPLEMENTED as part of arithmetic combinator
41
1%
Selector combinator: MIN, MAX, ABS
61
2%
Timer combinator: delay a signal or send a pulse every X seconds
138
5%
Continuous wire building while running, somehow (?)
12
0%
New wire drawing: vectorial, primitives. Proper sorting order for wires on ground. Bonus: Wire dangling on pole hit, train pass, etc.
47
2%
More info on tooltips 14740
50
2%
Toggle mode and pulse mode for constant combinator
15
0%
Write proper wiki page/guide for circuit network and combinators
84
3%
Map signals to keyboard input. So you can easily control things using numpad for example
82
3%
Shift click to star-connect circuit wires. No shift to chain-connect (28096)
36
1%
Send fluid count to logistic network: (29940)
87
3%
 
Total votes : 3034

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby Nick-Nack » Sun Sep 18, 2016 12:17 pm

Bi0nicM4n wrote:I can't fill two filtered slots with 200 repair packs because when there are already 195 repair packs in the wagon and my inserter picks 7, it stops

Easy solution: Limit to 388 ;-)
Nick-Nack
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 11:03 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby RnDMonkey » Sat Sep 24, 2016 4:46 pm

Nick-Nack wrote:
Bi0nicM4n wrote:I can't fill two filtered slots with 200 repair packs because when there are already 195 repair packs in the wagon and my inserter picks 7, it stops

Easy solution: Limit to 388 ;-)
My preferred solution, and one that I think would be helpful in tons of situations in general, would be that whenever an inserter's filter is cleared or it is disabled by the circuit network, put any held item back down at its pickup location. This way, you'd hit the 200 limit, the filter would clear, then the inserter would put any leftovers back.
RnDMonkey
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 1:16 am

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby impetus maximus » Sat Sep 24, 2016 5:58 pm

how about being able to read production/satisfaction numbers?
User avatar
impetus maximus
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 10:07 pm

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby TheTom » Wed Sep 28, 2016 7:16 am

Get me a switch combinator, please.

* It works like a MANUAL switch.
* It works like 2 constant combinators.

Basically: The switch has 2 sets of constants (we call them green and red) and I can manually switch between them. It shows a green or red light on top, depending which set is active.

Usage: as a control switch. Allows me to control things by turning it on or off.

Bonus points for being able to name it.
TheTom
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:33 am

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby Deadly-Bagel » Wed Sep 28, 2016 4:51 pm

RnDMonkey wrote:My preferred solution, and one that I think would be helpful in tons of situations in general, would be that whenever an inserter's filter is cleared or it is disabled by the circuit network, put any held item back down at its pickup location. This way, you'd hit the 200 limit, the filter would clear, then the inserter would put any leftovers back.

I very nearly made this a suggestion but then I realised it's not a good solution for the simple reason that the source can fill up again before the excess is put back - then where does it go? Yes you could get around it with a small circuit but again we are then looking at workarounds for what is still a fundamental problem.

The solution needs to be that inserters do not pick up more than they need to.
Money might be the root of all evil, but ignorance is the heart.
Vanilla combat rework mod, more 'splosions! More resists! More fire!
User avatar
Deadly-Bagel
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1476
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 10:12 am

Re: Circuit network features for 0.14

Postby mrvn » Tue Oct 11, 2016 1:12 pm

Mustacheion wrote:I would love to see roboports able to display the total number of robots of each type currently existing within the roboport network.


That already works. Connect a wire to a roboport, then open it and tell it to read the robot counts instead of the logistic network content. You can even select which count goes out as which special signal.
mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 2102
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby mrvn » Tue Oct 11, 2016 1:20 pm

Deadly-Bagel wrote:
RnDMonkey wrote:My preferred solution, and one that I think would be helpful in tons of situations in general, would be that whenever an inserter's filter is cleared or it is disabled by the circuit network, put any held item back down at its pickup location. This way, you'd hit the 200 limit, the filter would clear, then the inserter would put any leftovers back.

I very nearly made this a suggestion but then I realised it's not a good solution for the simple reason that the source can fill up again before the excess is put back - then where does it go? Yes you could get around it with a small circuit but again we are then looking at workarounds for what is still a fundamental problem.

The solution needs to be that inserters do not pick up more than they need to.


Problem is that inserters pick up items even when the train is not there. So you have already picked up 7 iron plates but when the train arrives you only have space for 5 iron plates. I guess when no train is there the inserter should not pick up anything because it can not place anything on the rails directly. Similary when there is nothing at the detsination they should only pick up one thing.
mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 2102
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby Deadly-Bagel » Fri Oct 14, 2016 3:23 pm

That is a separate problem IMO, you could probably put together some sort of hack linking signals to circuits so that inserters only work when the train is there but a circuit signal from the train station advising a train is parked would be good also so you can handle this manually.
Money might be the root of all evil, but ignorance is the heart.
Vanilla combat rework mod, more 'splosions! More resists! More fire!
User avatar
Deadly-Bagel
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1476
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 10:12 am

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby DaveMcW » Sat Oct 29, 2016 6:42 am

Read furnace inventory (furnace_source) would be helpful.
User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 2365
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby vanatteveldt » Sun Oct 30, 2016 9:23 pm

Stack / Filter Inserter: set item filter and stack size (especially the latter is quite useful for smart furnace setups)
vanatteveldt
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 834
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 11:44 am

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby DaveMcW » Tue Nov 01, 2016 6:28 pm

vanatteveldt wrote:Stack / Filter Inserter: set item filter and stack size

There is a 1 constant combinator solution if you abuse integer overflow: viewtopic.php?f=193&t=35380
User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 2365
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby Optera » Wed Nov 02, 2016 7:50 am

DaveMcW wrote:
vanatteveldt wrote:Stack / Filter Inserter: set item filter and stack size

There is a 1 constant combinator solution if you abuse integer overflow: viewtopic.php?f=193&t=35380

That's the best work around I've seen, but it's still only a work around only working when picking up from belts.
My Mods:
User avatar
Optera
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1528
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:41 am
Location: Österreich

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby vanatteveldt » Wed Nov 02, 2016 9:24 am

Optera wrote:
DaveMcW wrote:
vanatteveldt wrote:Stack / Filter Inserter: set item filter and stack size

There is a 1 constant combinator solution if you abuse integer overflow: viewtopic.php?f=193&t=35380

That's the best work around I've seen, but it's still only a work around only working when picking up from belts.


But is pretty darn original :). Thanks for the link!
vanatteveldt
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 834
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 11:44 am

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby siggboy » Wed Nov 02, 2016 8:52 pm

Optera wrote:
DaveMcW wrote:
vanatteveldt wrote:Stack / Filter Inserter: set item filter and stack size

There is a 1 constant combinator solution if you abuse integer overflow: viewtopic.php?f=193&t=35380

That's the best work around I've seen, but it's still only a work around only working when picking up from belts.

It's not new, it has been discussed many weeks ago already.

The problem with that solution is that it only works from belts, and not from buffer chests. Which, among other things, makes it unsuitable for smart furnaces that are fed from robot chests.
Is your railroad worrying you? Doctor T-Junction recommends: Smart, dynamic train deliveries with combinator Magick
User avatar
siggboy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 988
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 11:47 am
Location: Opinionation Ave.

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby nbp » Sat Nov 19, 2016 12:24 pm

Assembling machine: set recipe


For anybody who want to try this feature, I just published a mod which emulates this feature.
You can check it out at https://mods.factorio.com/mods/nbp/circuit-assembler
nbp
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 12:17 pm

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby onebit » Fri Nov 25, 2016 6:42 pm

A MIN() combinator would be awesome for train loading.
onebit
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 4:32 pm

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby Yoyobuae » Thu Dec 08, 2016 7:33 pm

Assembling machine: set recipe

An example of what would be possible with this feature:
https://youtu.be/cGfAFxHplnE
Yoyobuae
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 11:04 pm

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby vanatteveldt » Sun Dec 11, 2016 11:53 am

Another idea: microchip: basically a mini-factory / modular armor type interface where you can add more combinators and that have a red+green input and a red+green output. Optionally make them have 'connectors' at the side where if you place two microchips side by side the red+green side output of A is automatically connected to the red+green side input of B and vice versa. This will make it a lot easier to organize / share / copy interesting contraptions without having your whole factory filled by combinators, while the input/output restrictions mean that more complex setups still require enough puzzling.

Edit: another quality-of-life issue would be labeling combinators, the whole combinator and/or the input/output. From looking at belts, inserters etc. you get a decent idea of what they do, but inpecting combinators is quite annoying...
vanatteveldt
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 834
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 11:44 am

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby MeduSalem » Sat Dec 17, 2016 5:10 pm

Oh the poll is closed and there are some updates on what's already implemented... now I'm quite curious how many additional of these suggestions will make it to the game with 0.15/0.16 (because I don't expect there to be another poll for 0.16 respectively :P)

Currently 1 implemented of the 5 I picked... but then again I voted for lesser demanded things on purpose to encourage them instead.



Too bad that setting the Inserter Stack Size bonus with the Circuit Network signal isn't on the list... because that would have been one of my priorities actually.
User avatar
MeduSalem
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1289
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 8:13 pm

Re: Circuit network features for 0.15

Postby Optera » Sat Dec 17, 2016 7:04 pm

MeduSalem wrote:Too bad that setting the Inserter Stack Size bonus with the Circuit Network signal isn't on the list... because that would have been one of my priorities actually.

Would be my top priority as well. So many sleek train loader and smart furnace designs suddenly becoming possible.....

My votes for bit operators and more decider operands have been implemented already. :)
Here's hoping the switchable beacon might become reality too.
My Mods:
User avatar
Optera
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1528
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:41 am
Location: Österreich

PreviousNext

Return to Development Proposals

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests