Option to enable linear interpolation on scaled sprites

Ideas, that are too old (too much things changed) or won't be implemented cause of some reasons or if there are obvious better suggestions.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
Hexicube
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:50 pm
Contact:

Option to enable linear interpolation on scaled sprites

Post by Hexicube »

I've noticed in some cases zooming completely destroys the appearance of some sprites, most notable indicator arrows. Quick tests in graphics editing software showed that using even the most basic interpolation (linear) had a huge effect compared to not using it, and the GPU load should be basically non-existant.

Here's a quick comparison showing what currently happens against what would happen with the indicator arrow scaled to 75% (32x32 -> 24x24):
Image
It doesn't look like much, but it'll make a big difference on how smooth it looks in-game.

Could we get an option in 0.13 to enable interpolation on scaled sprites?

Hexicube
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Option to enable linear interpolation on scaled sprites

Post by Hexicube »

Just realised there's actually a config option for this (multisampling-level), perhaps it should show in the options in-game too?

keyboardhack
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 478
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Option to enable linear interpolation on scaled sprites

Post by keyboardhack »

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=14613&p=98820&hilit ... ing#p98820
Version 0.12.3 wrote:
  • Multisampling not officially supported from now on.
Read here why https://www.factorio.com/blog/post/fff-98
Waste of bytes : P

Post Reply

Return to “Outdated/Not implemented”