Prototype property to stop inserters from "chasing" items

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

Prototype property to stop inserters from "chasing" items

Post by Bilka »

Example of the chasing behaviours: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=61345

I want to be able to turn this off on a prototype basis.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: Prototype property to stop inserters from "chasing" items

Post by eradicator »

What would be the alternative? "take-only-from-near/far-lane"?

lovely_santa
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

Post by lovely_santa »

Well, wouldn't that belt start to backup eventualy? if you're in a loop, the belt will get new items and the chasing stops, when there is no loop, the belt will start backing up from the end... I don't see the issue here except that another assembling machine down the line will work instead...
You can find all my mods on the mod portal. Also helping on Arch666Angel's mods.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

Post by Rseding91 »

lovely_santa wrote:Well, wouldn't that belt start to backup eventualy? if you're in a loop, the belt will get new items and the chasing stops, when there is no loop, the belt will start backing up from the end... I don't see the issue here except that another assembling machine down the line will work instead...
It's a performance thing mostly. The cost to chase the item is very expensive.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

lovely_santa
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

Post by lovely_santa »

Rseding91 wrote:
lovely_santa wrote:Well, wouldn't that belt start to backup eventualy? if you're in a loop, the belt will get new items and the chasing stops, when there is no loop, the belt will start backing up from the end... I don't see the issue here except that another assembling machine down the line will work instead...