[0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

The raillayer; must have, if you want to play with railway.

Moderator: Choumiko

Post Reply
User avatar
siggboy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 988
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by siggboy » Sun Jul 03, 2016 6:01 pm

I've found that you can stop the trains (with the "Stop all" button), but not resume them (it used to be possible by right clicking the button). Found in 0.13 with the latest version of the mod.

I've also noticed that the UI doesn't display the destination of the train in some circumstances (the train was leaving due to a signal condition, but the UI only showed "Moving", as if it didn't know the destination).

Edit: Pretend this post is in the "FatController" bug thread :? Sorry...
Is your railroad worrying you? Doctor T-Junction recommends: Smart, dynamic train deliveries with combinator Magick

DaftFunk
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 12:25 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by DaftFunk » Mon Jul 04, 2016 3:23 pm

Hello,

Amazing mod :)

I'm having an issue since .13 update
I have the latest FARL version

Image

The track is laid uneven now... can't see to figure out why :(

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by Choumiko » Mon Jul 04, 2016 7:30 pm

If by uneven you mean that the lower rail "lags" behind the one FARL is on, then that's intended. It allows you to do a left turn without the straight rails overlapping with the placed curve. If in your picture you do a right turn, Carl will close the gap between the straights and the curve.

terror_gnom
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 4:01 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by terror_gnom » Wed Jul 13, 2016 8:54 pm

Please help me! I dont know where north is :( or is it a bug? :P

Using 0.13.8 and latest FARL from the Modportal
screenshot

User avatar
MasterBuilder
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 292
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 1:22 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by MasterBuilder » Wed Jul 13, 2016 9:29 pm

terror_gnom wrote:I dont know where north is
The secret to finding north
Give a man fire and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

PiggyWhiskey
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 5:28 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by PiggyWhiskey » Wed Jul 13, 2016 9:32 pm

terror_gnom wrote:Please help me! I dont know where north is :( or is it a bug? :P

Using 0.13.8 and latest FARL from the Modportal
screenshot
North is indicated in the blueprint by the chain signal.
You have it on the right track on the side that indicates that track is heading down.
Swap the Chain/normal signal around.

terror_gnom
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 4:01 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by terror_gnom » Wed Jul 13, 2016 10:17 pm

the train shall drive on the right lane, so the chain signal needs to be on the right side of the right track and the arrows do show to north and a train on that track will drive to north... I dont get it :P

I tried all 4 possibilites and it doesnt work :( the diagonal blueprint worked as expected (and the signal is showing in north east direction as mentioned in the errormessage)

diagonal

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by Choumiko » Wed Jul 13, 2016 10:30 pm

Try this one:
Image

Somehow FARL wants the chainsignal on the lower tile of the track (in 0.12 you then could see the arrow, now you can't anymore :roll: )

terror_gnom
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 4:01 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by terror_gnom » Wed Jul 13, 2016 10:48 pm

That helped, thx :) You should probably add that information to the error message ;)

Mikrotherion
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by Mikrotherion » Sat Jul 16, 2016 4:22 pm

Hi Choumiko,
it seems like FARL uses up rails in bulldozer mode whenever you turn and a curve is placed.
This might be because there are no curved rails in the game anymore. Mining curves by hand results in 2 straight rails (I think) - the FARL uses 4 straight rails to make a curved one, so this might be it.
Found myself railless all of a sudden in the wilderness. It was a long way home. Fortunately I also had the peace mod on. :D

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by Choumiko » Sat Jul 16, 2016 6:00 pm

Mining gives 4, i just missed one place in the code (i hope it was only one :D )

Fixed https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Choumiko/FARL

Mikrotherion
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by Mikrotherion » Sun Jul 17, 2016 5:49 am

Ah, great.:D
Bulldozer is a very convenient mode when you play on maps with scarce resources. The incredible amount of forests on the map I'm playing on atm. also makes the car a less favourable scouting alternative - and even the tank would probably break down soon.

Thanks for the mod.... without it, using trains wouldn't be half as much fun.

User avatar
DutchTed
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 8:09 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by DutchTed » Sat Jul 30, 2016 9:29 am

First of all, great mod, Choumiko. Its made games with RSO mod much more fun. We did come across an interesting bug last night though on version 5.28. Three of us all play on different forces and when my wife (on force 3) started using FARL with a parallel track blueprint, the main track was laid as force 3 but the track next to it was laid as force 1.

Image

I've noticed in the moveRail function in FARL.lua a new rail is created and assigned it to force 1

Code: Select all

moveRail function
Line 232: local newRail = { name = rail.name, type = rail.type, direction = rail.direction, position = pos, force = game.players[1].force }
As it is being called from FARL.placeParallelTrack with a parameter of new_rail (which has already been assigned a force), I changed this to rail.force within the moveRail function and my wife can now happily lay parallel track on her own force. I've had a look at the code for the 0.13 version of Factorio and it seems this oversight is present there as well. Hopefully you will have time to have a look in to this and incorporate a fix in future updates. Cheers!

Code: Select all

FARL.placeParallelTrack function
Line 2074: local new_rail = { name = lastRail.name, type = lastRail.type, direction = lastRail.direction, force = lastRail.force, position = lastRail.position }
 .
 .
 .
Line 2079: new_rail = moveRail(new_rail, traveldir, lag)
Line 2080: new_rail = moveRail(new_rail, (traveldir + 2) % 8, right)
The fix:-

Code: Select all

moveRail function
Line 232: local newRail = { name = rail.name, type = rail.type, direction = rail.direction, position = pos, force = rail.force }

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2173
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by steinio » Sat Jul 30, 2016 10:43 am

<Offtopic>
Hello DutchTed, from which mod is this nice airplane?
</Offtopic>
Image
Transport Belt Repair Man
My little mods: Link | My favourite mods: Bob's Mods | Angel's Mods | Yuoki Railway Core | EvoGUI | Logistic Train Network
Factorio Cheat Sheet by Denis Zholob

View unread Posts

User avatar
DutchTed
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 8:09 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by DutchTed » Sat Jul 30, 2016 11:51 am

steinio wrote:<Offtopic>
Hello DutchTed, from which mod is this nice airplane?
</Offtopic>
Its one I made myself. A Sopwith Camel. It has similar durability as the car but has a top speed around 170kph. It was put in the game to help scout for resources once flight had been researched as finding resources in RSO mod can be a bit time consuming with a car.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by Choumiko » Sun Jul 31, 2016 12:19 pm

DutchTed wrote:Three of us all play on different forces and when my wife (on force 3) started using FARL with a parallel track blueprint, the main track was laid as force 3 but the track next to it was laid as force 1.
Fixed for 0.12 and 0.13 versions of the mod. Don't bother downloading the 0.12 version, it's just your change and a different version number (for whatever reason 0.5.29 wasn't used, so now it is :mrgreen: )

mreadshaw
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 3:30 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by mreadshaw » Thu Sep 15, 2016 3:34 am

I can't save blueprints in my newest save. When I click the Read button "0" pops up in the console and nothing happens. It doesn't matter what blueprint I use, even the if I use FARL to create it it still has the same error. I'm on the latest experimental.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by Choumiko » Fri Sep 16, 2016 7:10 pm

Hm, i'm not able to reproduce it on 0.14.7 with FARL 0.6.0
If i try to read 1 or 2 empty blueprints i get no output at all, trying to read invalid blueprints gives me messages about what is wrong. Can't get a 0 printed no matter what.

Can you try reproducing it on a new save (ideally with FARL as the only mod)? You can use /c remote.call("farl", "quickstart", game.local_player) in the console to get the needed items. If it works this way i'd like the modlist to make sure it's not a modconflict (which i'm fairly sure it isn't, but you never know)

Nexela
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1808
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 11:09 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by Nexela » Fri Sep 16, 2016 8:01 pm

Choumiko wrote:Hm, i'm not able to reproduce it on 0.14.7 with FARL 0.6.0
If i try to read 1 or 2 empty blueprints i get no output at all, trying to read invalid blueprints gives me messages about what is wrong. Can't get a 0 printed no matter what.

Can you try reproducing it on a new save (ideally with FARL as the only mod)? You can use /c remote.call("farl", "quickstart", game.local_player) in the console to get the needed items. If it works this way i'd like the modlist to make sure it's not a modconflict (which i'm fairly sure it isn't, but you never know)
Pretty sure local_player is gone and you need to use
/c remote.call("farl", "quickstart", game.player)

mreadshaw
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 3:30 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12] Bugs, crashes & other issues

Post by mreadshaw » Sat Sep 17, 2016 4:35 pm

The console command doesn't work. It spawns the 5 FARLs but has an error trying to spawn rail. I think because it tries to spawn "straight rail" instead of "rail".

I made a new scenario though and put everything I'd need in a box and it worked fine. I tried this with my mods and without and FARL worked both times.. Very strange, something about my specific save I guess. I'll start a new one and hope it isn't something that happens once you are farther into the game.

If you want more info let me know.

Post Reply

Return to “F.A.R.L”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users