[MOD 0.15] F.A.R.L. 1.0.8 Download & Changelog

The raillayer; must have, if you want to play with railway.

Moderator: Choumiko

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

[MOD 0.15] F.A.R.L. 1.0.8 Download & Changelog

Post by Choumiko » Fri Jul 17, 2015 9:21 pm

Image

Info:
  • A locomotive that places rails, signals and poles while driving.
    Features


[*] Name: FARL
[*] Latest Release: 1.0.8, May 24, 2017
[*] Factorio Version: 0.15.x
[*] Download: FARL 1.0.8
[*] Demo map for blueprints: https://github.com/Choumiko/FARL/releas ... amples.zip (FARL 0.5.13+)
[*] License: MIT
[*] Dependencies:
[*] Website: github[/list]
Version history
even older Version history
Usage & configuration

Comments & suggestions (highly welcome)

Bugs and issues
Last edited by Choumiko on Mon Jul 20, 2015 8:53 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Tardan
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:00 pm

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3

Post by Tardan » Sat Jul 18, 2015 12:24 am

cool :) one off the best mods and so a fast release :) thank you

FishSandwich
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1846
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 3:37 pm

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3

Post by FishSandwich » Sat Jul 18, 2015 12:26 am

It should be noted, that this mod won't work completely until the Factorio devs fixes this bug.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3

Post by Choumiko » Sat Jul 18, 2015 10:10 am

FishSandwich wrote:It should be noted, that this mod won't work completely until the Factorio devs fixes this bug.
Should be fixed in the next Factorio release (Monday maybe?) :)

I just released 0.3.1, not many changes, only on error fixed (underscores in the migration file) and minor changes you won't notice.
Off to work now, took my vacation ~4 weeks to early it seems :lol:

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3258
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.1

Post by orzelek » Sat Jul 18, 2015 7:18 pm

I tried to build some rails with FARL but it didn't go that well.

It won't notice trees currently - rail is placed on them without removing and you hit the tree.
Or it bails out with message about rail being placed but no entity returned and script error after that.
Both of those happened when trying to place rails through forest - I guess the find entity bug is disturbing FARL?

I reloaded game and it works now... something strange is going on.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.1

Post by Choumiko » Sat Jul 18, 2015 9:07 pm

orzelek wrote:I tried to build some rails with FARL but it didn't go that well.

It won't notice trees currently - rail is placed on them without removing and you hit the tree.
Or it bails out with message about rail being placed but no entity returned and script error after that.
Both of those happened when trying to place rails through forest - I guess the find entity bug is disturbing FARL?

I reloaded game and it works now... something strange is going on.
What bug with find_entity ? Right now i only know about the bug with can_place_entity.
I suspect it could be that the areas i check for trees are wrong for 0.12, might have to change them or increase the size.
The rail being placed but no entity returned is my current workaround for can_place_entity being bugged, though it should simply deactivate and not give a script error. You should be able to hit escape to continue playing though? Can't wait for 0.12.1, should fix at least the placing rails on water/below trees.

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3258
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.1

Post by orzelek » Sat Jul 18, 2015 9:17 pm

When doing quite long trek through woods I managed to hit a tree on turn and FARL jumped into auto mode and got confused. Needed to demolish the tree or drive through it after disabling auto.
It happened only once or twice and always on turns.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.1

Post by Choumiko » Sat Jul 18, 2015 9:28 pm

orzelek wrote:When doing quite long trek through woods I managed to hit a tree on turn and FARL jumped into auto mode and got confused. Needed to demolish the tree or drive through it after disabling auto.
It happened only once or twice and always on turns.
Alright, going in auto sounds a lot like this bug, that's suppossed to be fixed.
Hitting trees sounds like i need to widden the area when clearing. Thanks for the report

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.11

Post by Choumiko » Mon Jul 20, 2015 8:57 pm

Updated to 0.3.11

Changes:
  • better tree removal for curved tracks
  • fixed logic wire connecting
  • use 4 concrete when placing straight track over water
The concrete is used in place of landfill since 0.3 (Bridge water option in the gui). For curved tracks it uses too much at the moment.

FARL still needs the upcoming release of Factorio to work correctly again. If Factorio 0.12.1 is out this version should behave like it used to in 0.11

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.11

Post by Choumiko » Thu Jul 23, 2015 4:33 pm

Updated to 0.3.12

Changes:
  • fix error when reversing while FARL is active
  • fix rare crash when activating near (~30tiles distance) a pole
Not much, but 2 reasons less for it to crash (hopefully) :D

Also locking this thread, please use the threads below, create a new one if you feel it's important or a big suggestion/request.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

[MOD 0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.11

Post by Choumiko » Fri Jul 24, 2015 4:33 pm

Updated to 0.3.13

Changes:
  • removes trees/stone only when needed (again)
  • try to fill water only when necessary (with bridge water active)
  • minor changes/fixes
Note that this version requires 0.12.1

Most of the changes were mostly reverting the ones made for the bugged 0.12.0

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

[0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.14

Post by Choumiko » Mon Jul 27, 2015 10:45 am

Updated to 0.3.14

Changes:
  • different cost for placing on water/deep water: 4/8 concrete per straight track, max of 20 per curved track (WIP)
  • fix error when checking 'place poles' while FARL is inactive
  • added hebrew translation provided by jocker-il
  • added locales for different messages/errors
See also: https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... 193#p95193 for what i think the "placing on water thingy" should be like. Any ideas/opinions welcome

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.14

Post by Choumiko » Sat Aug 01, 2015 9:26 pm

Updated to 0.3.15

Changes:
  • fix error when un/checking place poles
  • fix desync if joining player is inside a FARL when connecting
  • updated hebrew locale (jocker-il)
See also: https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... 193#p95193 for what i think placing rails on water should be like. Any ideas/opinions welcome

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.14

Post by Choumiko » Wed Aug 12, 2015 6:49 pm

Updated to 0.3.3

Changes:
  • parallel track placement
    • define via blueprint
    • parallel tracks "lag" behind the track that farl is on after it placed a curve (no parallel curves yet)
  • toggle placing of pole entities (lamp in the default blueprints of farl)
  • tried fixing a mp desync/crash when player is exiting farl
A couple of possible layouts (demo save, updated config post will follow)

Note the chainsignal in each blueprint, FARL assumes that this is placed at the rail FARL will drive on (towards the north or north-east for diagonals). The normal signals tell FARL the directions of the other tracks)

Image

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.31

Post by Choumiko » Wed Aug 12, 2015 8:34 pm

Updated to 0.3.31

Changes:
  • fix crash with invalid blueprints

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

Re: F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.32

Post by Choumiko » Sat Aug 15, 2015 8:53 pm

Updated to 0.3.32

Changes:
  • fixed blueprints being read from maininventory instead of quickbar
  • minor optimizations

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

Re: F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.32

Post by Choumiko » Sun Aug 16, 2015 4:51 pm

Updated to 0.4.0
  • Maintenance mode:
    • remove rails,signals, poles, lamps in front, place new layout
    • wooden chests in blueprints get removed, use to define clearance area (for going from e.g. 4 lanes to 2)
    • deactivates when detecting a junction/diverging track
Still a bit WIP, but it's working well enough to be way quicker than having personal robots deconstructing and rebuilding.
Create blueprints for the new layout, read them into FARL, activate maintenance mode and click Start, off you can go.
It will deactivate when it detects a junction where you would have to press A/D to decide where to go.

Pictures explaining what clearance area means follow shortly in Configuration & usage

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.4.1

Post by Choumiko » Sat Sep 12, 2015 7:34 pm

Updated to 0.4.1
  • require Factorio 0.12.7 (no more corrupting saves..)
  • deactivate when trying to remove a rail with a train on it (maintenance and -root mode)
  • use force of FARL locomotive when creating entities
  • turn off flipPoles when using blueprints with multiple tracks

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.4.2

Post by Choumiko » Mon Sep 21, 2015 10:09 am

Updated to 0.4.2
  • require Factorio 0.12.8 (changes to LuaEntity.destroy)
  • fix error with calcPole
  • more descriptive error messages when trying to read blueprints. (Thanks MizardX, whoever you are in the forums :D )
  • fix broken graphics with 5dims trains

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.4.3

Post by Choumiko » Fri Oct 16, 2015 4:12 pm

Updated to 0.4.3
  • requires Factorio 0.12.11
  • fixed errors due to API changes
  • slightly better signal distance for diagonal/vertical tracks
  • fixed an error with FAT Controller
  • updated hebrew translation (jocker-il)
Edit: You should only upgrade from 0.4.0, since i took the opportunity to remove old migration code

Locked

Return to “F.A.R.L”