[MOD 0.15] F.A.R.L. 1.0.0 Download & Changelog

The raillayer; must have, if you want to play with railway.

Moderator: Choumiko

[MOD 0.15] F.A.R.L. 1.0.0 Download & Changelog

Postby Choumiko » Fri Jul 17, 2015 9:21 pm

Image

Info:
    A locomotive that places rails, signals and poles while driving.

    Features
    • places rails, signals, electric poles, concrete,.. while driving
    • customizable placement of poles, multiple parallel tracks, lamps, turrets etc. with blueprints
    • places concrete too: To get concrete into one blueprint with tracks and stuff see this reddit post
    • Bulldozer mode: removes rails,signals, poles, lamps, walls behind the train
    • Maintenance mode: removes rails,signals, poles, lamps, walls in front of the train, places new layout
    • removes trees and stone rocks that are in the way (and adds 1 raw wood per tree to cargo)
    • place rails on water if the train has concrete loaded
    • connects poles with red/green wires
    • Cruise control: keeps the speed at ~87km/h (full speed when not placing rails) without pressing W, deactivate by pressing S
    • Support for powered rails (5dim's mod), look here how to enable it (will be in the next 5dim_train release)


  • Name: FARL
  • Latest Release: 0.7.0, November 6, 2016
  • Factorio Version: 0.14.x
  • Download 0.13: FARL 0.5.37 | 0.7.0
  • Demo map for blueprints: https://github.com/Choumiko/FARL/releas ... amples.zip (FARL 0.5.13+)
  • License: MIT
  • Dependencies:
  • Website: github

Version history
Changelog here: https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Choumiko/FARL
    0.5.35
  • fixed signals not being found in blueprints if placed in the wrong tile
  • fixed error with hazard-concrete
    0.5.34
  • fixed bulldozer mode eating rails when removing curved track
    0.5.33
  • removed workaround for Facotrio bug
    0.5.32
  • fixed signal distance on vertical tracks
    0.5.31
  • fixed bulldozer mode not working
  • fixed error when creating default blueprints
    0.5.29/0.5.30
  • add 15 stone to cargo when a rock is removed
  • require landfill item to bridge water
  • remove 4 rail pieces per curve placed
  • added swedish translation
    0.5.28
  • fixed creating out-of-map tiles when removing concrete on ribbon maps
  • fixed placing concrete on out-of-map tiles
  • fixed modded poles not working correctly
  • updated hebrew locale
    0.5.27
  • works with Big Brother
  • added norwegian locale by AlexSpandex
  • might work with 0.13 (or not due to trainlength/circuit network changes)
    0.5.26
  • added option to toggle mirroring of concrete (157916)
  • clearing trees that have other mining results than raw wood give about half the amount as manualy removing them would
  • minor fixes
    0.5.25
  • requires Factorio 0.12.32+
  • fix LHD not liking right turns, RHD not liking left turns with parallel tracks
  • fixed default blueprints for 0.12.32
    0.5.24
  • fixed error when mining a FARL locomotive
  • requires Factorio 0.12.29+
    0.5.23
  • fix maintenance mode not checking cargo contents for parallel tracks
  • added spanish translation by frenchiveruti
  • fix upgrading from versions below 0.5.13
    0.5.22
  • fix error with FatController (0.4.1+) where FARL would keep laying tracks while player remote controls another train
    0.5.21
  • fixed lamps from Concrete Lamppost mod being added to cargo when removing the pole
  • save blueprints/settings by player index instead of name
    0.5.20
  • fixed first signal after activation being placed the wrong distance
    0.5.19
  • changes to Bulldozer mode:
    • requires a FARL at both ends of the train (direction doesn't matter)
    • removes stuff in front and behind the train
    • doesn't place anything besides the rail it drives on (and removes it afterwards)
  • readded Maintenance mode: removes old layout in front of the train and places the new one. You still have to steer it yourself
  • removed -root mode, nearly the same results with bulldozer now.
  • select a land tile nearby when replacing concrete (less odd looking stripes of land)
  • fix concrete being removed when activating bulldozer
  • fix error when picking up stone path
  • removed unused/old settings
  • minor performance improvement (?)
    0.5.17
  • Bulldozer mode (WIP): removes tracks, signals, poles, walls, concrete, lamps in front of the train
  • fix -root mode not working at all
  • fixed parallel curves being placed wrong when trying a 90° turn
  • fixed wrong signal direction when they where placed as ghosts in a blueprint
    0.5.16
  • fixed AssignID error again (hopefully forever)
  • fixed error when a force was created by another mod (e.g. Smarter Circuitrys Actuator)
    0.5.15
  • fixed signals left of the "main track" being placed 1 track too soon
  • Hazard/Fire marking concrete (from Color Coding) are now mirrored correctly when used in blueprints
  • fixed loading error with 5dims trains
  • fixed typo in locale key
    0.5.14
  • parallel signals now always get placed in line with the main signal, even after curves
  • fixed first signal after activation being placed in the wrong direction
  • fixed activation problems with long trains
  • correct "out of X" message when using stone-path in blueprints
  • removed debug output
    0.5.13
    single lane fixes:
  • fix trees not getting removed for straight tracks
  • fix walls not being placed
  • prevent path being emptied for long farl trains (led to poles/concrete/walls not being placed properly)
  • fix error with stone-path
  • don't try removing 0 items from cargo
  • store up to 3 different track layouts
  • you should be able to use any pole from whatever mod, as many as you want. FARL will choose the one with the longest reach and use this as the main one
  • Walls (and concrete) are placed for every track, not only whenever a pole is placed
  • FARL will use up 4 straight rails instead of curved rails if necessary
    0.5.0
    Changes/Additions:
    • FARL now places parallel curves
    • FARL now can place concrete if defined in blueprints
    • removed "minimal pole placement" option, FARL will now only connect to poles it placed itself
    • added 2 buttons in the settings to create example blueprints for 2 lane tracks with concrete in them
    • added basic statistics, # of entities placed/removed by FARL, accessible via Settings
    Missing from 0.4.1/working on:
    • Maintenance mode (will be back)
    • Blueprint that gets placed whenever FARL lays down a track (e.g. to more easily being able to wall your tracks in)
    • Allow non vanilla electric poles to be used in blueprints
    • performance (especially in thick forests/on diagonals)
    Known issues:
    • Signal placement becomes OCD-unfriendly after a curve, simply stop and start FARL again

even older Version history
    0.4.41
  • check if YARM has required interface
  • don't try to start on curves (needs rewrite first)
  • fix some errors (blueprints with only tiles set)
    0.4.4
  • requires Factorio 0.12.12
  • fix GUI not working after loading a save where the player is in a FARL
  • minor changes
    0.4.3
  • requires Factorio 0.12.11
  • fixed errors due to API changes
  • slightly better signal distance for diagonal/vertical tracks
  • fixed an error with FAT Controller
  • updated hebrew translation (jocker-il)
    0.4.2
  • require Factorio 0.12.8 (changes to LuaEntity.destroy)
  • fix error with calcPole
  • more descriptive error messages when trying to read blueprints. (Thanks MizardX, whoever you are in the forums :D )
  • fix broken graphics with 5dims trains
    0.4.1
  • require Factorio 0.12.7 (no more corrupting saves..)
  • deactivate when trying to remove a rail with a train on it (maintenance and -root mode)
  • use force of FARL locomotive when creating entities
  • turn off flipPoles when using blueprints with multiple tracks
    0.4.0
  • Maintenance mode:
    • remove rails,signals, poles, lamps in front, place new layout
    • wooden chests in blueprints get removed, use to define clearance area (for going from e.g. 4 lanes to 2)
    • deactivates when detecting a junction/diverging track
    0.3.32
  • fixed blueprints being read from maininventory instead of quickbar
  • minor optimizations
    0.3.31
  • fix crash with invalid blueprints
    0.3.3
  • parallel track placement
    • define via blueprint
    • parallel tracks "lag" behind the track that farl is on after it placed a curve (no parallel curves yet)
  • toggle placing of pole entities (lamp in the default blueprints of farl)
  • tried fixing a mp desync/crash when player is exiting farl
    0.3.15
  • fix error when un/checking place poles
  • fix desync if joining player is inside a FARL when connecting
  • updated hebrew locale (jocker-il)
    0.3.14
  • different cost for placing on water/deep water: 4/8 concrete per straight track, max of 20 per curved track (WIP)
  • fix error when checking 'place poles' while FARL is inactive
  • added hebrew translation provided by jocker-il
  • added locales for different messages/errors
    0.3.13
  • removes trees/stone only when needed (again)
  • try to fill water only when necessary (with bridge water active)
  • minor changes/fixes
    0.3.12
  • fix error when reversing while FARL is active
  • fix rare crash when activating near (~30tiles distance) a pole
    0.3.11
  • better tree removal for curved tracks
  • fixed logic wire connecting
  • use 4 concrete when placing straight track over water
    0.3.1
  • fixed migration script for 0.12
  • minor fixes/changes
    0.3.0
  • updated for Factorio 0.12
  • Landfill is no longer required to build over water, uses concrete instead
  • minor fixes

Usage & configuration

Comments & suggestions (highly welcome)

Bugs and issues
Last edited by Choumiko on Mon Jul 20, 2015 8:53 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3

Postby Tardan » Sat Jul 18, 2015 12:24 am

cool :) one off the best mods and so a fast release :) thank you
Tardan
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:00 pm

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3

Postby FishSandwich » Sat Jul 18, 2015 12:26 am

It should be noted, that this mod won't work completely until the Factorio devs fixes this bug.
FishSandwich
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1880
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 3:37 pm

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3

Postby Choumiko » Sat Jul 18, 2015 10:10 am

FishSandwich wrote:It should be noted, that this mod won't work completely until the Factorio devs fixes this bug.

Should be fixed in the next Factorio release (Monday maybe?) :)

I just released 0.3.1, not many changes, only on error fixed (underscores in the migration file) and minor changes you won't notice.
Off to work now, took my vacation ~4 weeks to early it seems :lol:
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.1

Postby orzelek » Sat Jul 18, 2015 7:18 pm

I tried to build some rails with FARL but it didn't go that well.

It won't notice trees currently - rail is placed on them without removing and you hit the tree.
Or it bails out with message about rail being placed but no entity returned and script error after that.
Both of those happened when trying to place rails through forest - I guess the find entity bug is disturbing FARL?

I reloaded game and it works now... something strange is going on.
orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 2338
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.1

Postby Choumiko » Sat Jul 18, 2015 9:07 pm

orzelek wrote:I tried to build some rails with FARL but it didn't go that well.

It won't notice trees currently - rail is placed on them without removing and you hit the tree.
Or it bails out with message about rail being placed but no entity returned and script error after that.
Both of those happened when trying to place rails through forest - I guess the find entity bug is disturbing FARL?

I reloaded game and it works now... something strange is going on.

What bug with find_entity ? Right now i only know about the bug with can_place_entity.
I suspect it could be that the areas i check for trees are wrong for 0.12, might have to change them or increase the size.
The rail being placed but no entity returned is my current workaround for can_place_entity being bugged, though it should simply deactivate and not give a script error. You should be able to hit escape to continue playing though? Can't wait for 0.12.1, should fix at least the placing rails on water/below trees.
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.1

Postby orzelek » Sat Jul 18, 2015 9:17 pm

When doing quite long trek through woods I managed to hit a tree on turn and FARL jumped into auto mode and got confused. Needed to demolish the tree or drive through it after disabling auto.
It happened only once or twice and always on turns.
orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 2338
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.1

Postby Choumiko » Sat Jul 18, 2015 9:28 pm

orzelek wrote:When doing quite long trek through woods I managed to hit a tree on turn and FARL jumped into auto mode and got confused. Needed to demolish the tree or drive through it after disabling auto.
It happened only once or twice and always on turns.

Alright, going in auto sounds a lot like this bug, that's suppossed to be fixed.
Hitting trees sounds like i need to widden the area when clearing. Thanks for the report
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.11

Postby Choumiko » Mon Jul 20, 2015 8:57 pm

Updated to 0.3.11

Changes:
  • better tree removal for curved tracks
  • fixed logic wire connecting
  • use 4 concrete when placing straight track over water
The concrete is used in place of landfill since 0.3 (Bridge water option in the gui). For curved tracks it uses too much at the moment.

FARL still needs the upcoming release of Factorio to work correctly again. If Factorio 0.12.1 is out this version should behave like it used to in 0.11
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.11

Postby Choumiko » Thu Jul 23, 2015 4:33 pm

Updated to 0.3.12

Changes:
  • fix error when reversing while FARL is active
  • fix rare crash when activating near (~30tiles distance) a pole
Not much, but 2 reasons less for it to crash (hopefully) :D

Also locking this thread, please use the threads below, create a new one if you feel it's important or a big suggestion/request.
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

[MOD 0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.11

Postby Choumiko » Fri Jul 24, 2015 4:33 pm

Updated to 0.3.13

Changes:
  • removes trees/stone only when needed (again)
  • try to fill water only when necessary (with bridge water active)
  • minor changes/fixes

Note that this version requires 0.12.1

Most of the changes were mostly reverting the ones made for the bugged 0.12.0
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

[0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.14

Postby Choumiko » Mon Jul 27, 2015 10:45 am

Updated to 0.3.14

Changes:
  • different cost for placing on water/deep water: 4/8 concrete per straight track, max of 20 per curved track (WIP)
  • fix error when checking 'place poles' while FARL is inactive
  • added hebrew translation provided by jocker-il
  • added locales for different messages/errors

See also: viewtopic.php?f=61&t=9470&p=95193#p95193 for what i think the "placing on water thingy" should be like. Any ideas/opinions welcome
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.14

Postby Choumiko » Sat Aug 01, 2015 9:26 pm

Updated to 0.3.15

Changes:
  • fix error when un/checking place poles
  • fix desync if joining player is inside a FARL when connecting
  • updated hebrew locale (jocker-il)

See also: viewtopic.php?f=61&t=9470&p=95193#p95193 for what i think placing rails on water should be like. Any ideas/opinions welcome
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [0.12] F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.14

Postby Choumiko » Wed Aug 12, 2015 6:49 pm

Updated to 0.3.3

Changes:
  • parallel track placement
    • define via blueprint
    • parallel tracks "lag" behind the track that farl is on after it placed a curve (no parallel curves yet)
  • toggle placing of pole entities (lamp in the default blueprints of farl)
  • tried fixing a mp desync/crash when player is exiting farl
A couple of possible layouts (demo save, updated config post will follow)

Note the chainsignal in each blueprint, FARL assumes that this is placed at the rail FARL will drive on (towards the north or north-east for diagonals). The normal signals tell FARL the directions of the other tracks)

Image
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.31

Postby Choumiko » Wed Aug 12, 2015 8:34 pm

Updated to 0.3.31

Changes:
  • fix crash with invalid blueprints
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.32

Postby Choumiko » Sat Aug 15, 2015 8:53 pm

Updated to 0.3.32

Changes:
  • fixed blueprints being read from maininventory instead of quickbar
  • minor optimizations
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.3.32

Postby Choumiko » Sun Aug 16, 2015 4:51 pm

Updated to 0.4.0

    Maintenance mode:
    • remove rails,signals, poles, lamps in front, place new layout
    • wooden chests in blueprints get removed, use to define clearance area (for going from e.g. 4 lanes to 2)
    • deactivates when detecting a junction/diverging track

Still a bit WIP, but it's working well enough to be way quicker than having personal robots deconstructing and rebuilding.
Create blueprints for the new layout, read them into FARL, activate maintenance mode and click Start, off you can go.
It will deactivate when it detects a junction where you would have to press A/D to decide where to go.

Pictures explaining what clearance area means follow shortly in Configuration & usage
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.4.1

Postby Choumiko » Sat Sep 12, 2015 7:34 pm

Updated to 0.4.1

  • require Factorio 0.12.7 (no more corrupting saves..)
  • deactivate when trying to remove a rail with a train on it (maintenance and -root mode)
  • use force of FARL locomotive when creating entities
  • turn off flipPoles when using blueprints with multiple tracks
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.4.2

Postby Choumiko » Mon Sep 21, 2015 10:09 am

Updated to 0.4.2

  • require Factorio 0.12.8 (changes to LuaEntity.destroy)
  • fix error with calcPole
  • more descriptive error messages when trying to read blueprints. (Thanks MizardX, whoever you are in the forums :D )
  • fix broken graphics with 5dims trains
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

F.A.R.L. (Rail Layer) 0.4.3

Postby Choumiko » Fri Oct 16, 2015 4:12 pm

Updated to 0.4.3

  • requires Factorio 0.12.11
  • fixed errors due to API changes
  • slightly better signal distance for diagonal/vertical tracks
  • fixed an error with FAT Controller
  • updated hebrew translation (jocker-il)

Edit: You should only upgrade from 0.4.0, since i took the opportunity to remove old migration code
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Location: Germany

Next

Return to Rail Layer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests