Add concrete to Upgrade Planner

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
ManaUser
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:41 pm
Contact:

Make upgrade planner work on paths (e.g. brick)

Post by ManaUser »

What ?
Allow the upgrade planner to work on brick, concrete and refined concrete (plus hazard variants). This probably shouldn't be included in the default behavior, only as an option when the planner is manually configured. If necessary, it could enforce pairing paths only with other paths in the upgrade list.
Why ?
Pretty explanatory I think. But it would b particularly useful if you've set up elaborate pathways or used these tiles for aesthetic purposes like visually separating parts of the factory. It could also be used for selectively changing one surface to another to create such features.

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2516
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Make upgrade planner work on paths (e.g. brick)

Post by steinio »

+1

I assume you tested it before posting here.
Image
Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

User avatar
BlueTemplar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2129
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Make upgrade planner work on paths (e.g. brick)

Post by BlueTemplar »

Yes, please !

tehfreek
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 7:34 am
Contact:

Re: Make upgrade planner work on paths (e.g. brick)

Post by tehfreek »

It would probably have to become a tile-specific upgrade planner (i.e. *only* tiles can be selected if any selection is a tile, but can never be selected if any is not), but that would not be a problem.

User avatar
BlueTemplar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2129
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Make upgrade planner work on paths (e.g. brick)

Post by BlueTemplar »

See how blueprints / custom deconstruction planners can deal with tiles ?

slippycheeze
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 586
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Make upgrade planner work on paths (e.g. brick)

Post by slippycheeze »

Someone read my mind! I was thinking this just the other day when I wanted to change the material of a path.

Pretty is the ultimate endgame, after all.

User avatar
BlueTemplar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2129
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Make upgrade planner work on paths (e.g. brick)

Post by BlueTemplar »

It's not just about "pretty" either - the tiles "paintbrush" (and your range) have a limited size, while the upgrade planner doesn't.

tehfreek
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 7:34 am
Contact:

Re: Make upgrade planner work on paths (e.g. brick)

Post by tehfreek »

BlueTemplar wrote:
Wed Jul 31, 2019 11:53 pm
It's not just about "pretty" either - the tiles "paintbrush" (and your range) have a limited size, while the upgrade planner doesn't.
I'm pretty sure you can ghost them in. Not that this removes the need for the upgrade planner though, because of precision and blueprints and such.

User avatar
BlueTemplar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2129
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Make upgrade planner work on paths (e.g. brick)

Post by BlueTemplar »

Ah, yes, of course, I can just madly drag the brush around the map, then use deconstruction planner to "trim the edges"...

tehfreek
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 7:34 am
Contact:

Re: Make upgrade planner work on paths (e.g. brick)

Post by tehfreek »

Which falls under "precision". But the range itself is not an issue.

slippycheeze
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 586
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Make upgrade planner work on paths (e.g. brick)

Post by slippycheeze »

tehfreek wrote:
Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:26 am
BlueTemplar wrote:
Wed Jul 31, 2019 11:53 pm
It's not just about "pretty" either - the tiles "paintbrush" (and your range) have a limited size, while the upgrade planner doesn't.
I'm pretty sure you can ghost them in. Not that this removes the need for the upgrade planner though, because of precision and blueprints and such.
Yeah, you can. I routinely do, in fact. ...but precision, not my strongest skill. :)

User avatar
BlueTemplar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2129
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Make upgrade planner work on paths (e.g. brick)

Post by BlueTemplar »

Still, I'd guess that it still might be tedious map-dragging the 21x21 paintbrush over a large enough base ?

slippycheeze
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 586
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Make upgrade planner work on paths (e.g. brick)

Post by slippycheeze »

BlueTemplar wrote:
Thu Aug 01, 2019 10:43 am
Still, I'd guess that it still might be tedious map-dragging the 21x21 paintbrush over a large enough base ?
As in, the upgrade planner? That'll stretch to any size, but also, moderately less tedious than the careful hand-drawing of the stuff, plus the time to unplace every time I slip one tile out of alignment, and then replace the previous surface I just damaged...

User avatar
BlueTemplar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2129
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Make upgrade planner work on paths (e.g. brick)

Post by BlueTemplar »

No, the paintbrush of the "superior tile" if just dumb filling (and then trimming the edges).

undying29
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 5:10 pm
Contact:

Add concrete to Upgrade Planner

Post by undying29 »

Simply add Stone Brick, Concrete and Refine Concrete to the Upgrade Planner, so that we can easily upgrade/change them.

Impatient
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 2:51 am
Contact:

Make floor tiles interchangable via the upgrade planner

Post by Impatient »

Floor tiles currently can not be changed, using the upgrade planner.

Though I know floor tiles are not like the other entities in blueprints, it somewhat surprised me, that this functionality is not there yet.

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2516
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Make floor tiles interchangable via the upgrade planner

Post by steinio »

Just wondering if it's moddable in through a prototype flag or something.
Image
Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

foamy
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:14 am
Contact:

Add paving options to the upgrade planner

Post by foamy »

Because manually swapping around thousands or tens of thousands of concrete/refined concrete/etc gets old really, really fast.

foamy
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:14 am
Contact:

Add flooring options to upgrade planner

Post by foamy »

Because I really would like to mass-update flooring without needing to drag blueprints all over.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11421
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Add flooring options to upgrade planner

Post by ssilk »

Generally a good idea. How should that work?
I mean: when you want to upgrade ground to concrete, how should the interface look like?

Some hints: there are many types of ground. Should this just be “any” ground, or do you want to differ between types like “sand”, “landfill”...
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users