Multi Monitor support

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Indypendence
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 9:59 pm
Contact:

Multi Monitor support

Post by Indypendence » Wed May 31, 2017 11:30 am

I think it would be really awesome to have multi-monitor support in the game.
It's already sort-of working if you run the game windowed and drag the window over multiple screens, but that's not exactly what I meant. Plus, on an even amount of monitors, your character will be in the middle and thus on the monitors edges.

What I mean is that one monitor could be used for showing the map, or statistics or something.

Factorio is an awesome PC game, so you have the option to use multiple screens, I think this would be really awesome to utilize.

teenusa
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 1:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by teenusa » Wed May 31, 2017 3:14 pm

Such a feature would be awesome!
+1 :D

duskwither
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by duskwither » Wed May 31, 2017 7:11 pm

Couldn't agree more! +1 ;)

JohnyDL
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 512
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 3:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by JohnyDL » Thu Jun 01, 2017 9:11 am

ingame option to make GUI popups their own windows, maybe not inventory but power stats, production stats, tech tree, map achievements and anything else that is persistent while you can be moving around the map

abordoli
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by abordoli » Thu Jun 01, 2017 9:45 am

+1 10char

Indypendence
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 9:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by Indypendence » Thu Jun 01, 2017 12:27 pm

JohnyDL wrote:ingame option to make GUI popups their own windows, maybe not inventory but power stats, production stats, tech tree, map achievements and anything else that is persistent while you can be moving around the map
Powerstats are a bit tricky because you need to be close to a power pole to get it though. But yes, detachable windows, and the map in one such window would be great.

JohnyDL
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 512
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 3:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by JohnyDL » Thu Jun 01, 2017 12:36 pm

power stats I think should be like regular production stats in some cases (or at least if you're in had reach of any power pole in the same network) not being able to look at power stats while moving is kinda ridiculous

AntiBlueQuirk
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by AntiBlueQuirk » Thu Jun 01, 2017 2:29 pm

You know how the devs love debugging obscure v-sync related issues? I'm sure they'd love debugging obscure multi-window related issues too.

Though seriously, this would be a pretty amazing feature. :)

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10462
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by ssilk » Wed Jun 21, 2017 5:05 pm

Added to viewtopic.php?f=80&t=25229 Use of Monitors (Dualscreen..., more than 60 FPS ...)
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

BenSeidel
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 542
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 1:44 am
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by BenSeidel » Tue Jun 27, 2017 12:19 pm

Just implement Eve's character-model-off-to-the-side feature.

abordoli
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by abordoli » Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:48 am

I have found that the "Visual Signals" mod can give you practically anything you need to see from the minutae to the high-level-sr-exectuvie-dashboard. Totally amazed how I played without this.
~B

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6661
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by bobingabout » Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:00 am

currently game initiates with a single window, which fills a single screen in full screen mode.

Secondary window (or screen) initialisation would be a cool option. The problem is, what SHOULD it show you? if you do such a thing, it needs to show you SOMETHING at all times, but what should that something be?
The map?
Inventory and crafting screens?


I'm not against such a thing, in fact I would love to see it, but it does require an element of design. you can't just say "Put something on my second monitor".
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.

abordoli
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by abordoli » Mon Jul 10, 2017 4:13 pm

One could make what's off to the side configurable and programmable like the virtual screen in Space Engineers. I have snapshots that I can share from my steam snapshot library (or you can go see them under "abordoli).

User avatar
Optera
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2071
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:41 am
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by Optera » Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:51 pm

A great idea.
Displays like production, electric stats, map view, train overview are perfect for being put inside their own sub window which could be moved freely inside and outside the parent window. Gimp is a good example of doing this right.

abordoli
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by abordoli » Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:12 pm

Playing Devil's Advocate Here: Although it would be "nice", how many users really play on two monitors.

Playing ___)'s Advocate here: Not sure, but if it were made it could resort to more users adding a second monitor source (If their device has an output as some slimmer devices do not).

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6661
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by bobingabout » Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:58 am

The only reason why I don't have multimonitor is because there's not enough desk space. I do sometimes plug my TV into my PC though and use that as a second screen.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.

abordoli
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by abordoli » Tue Jul 11, 2017 8:37 pm

I feel that a c0ol compromise would be a highly configurable RSS feed that sends data to a phone/handheld app specifically sessioned with your game.

chridder
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by chridder » Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:36 am

I don't like the idea of RSS feed.

But I really like the idea of using a second monitor for specific GUIs, especially the map view would be great for me, as I have a large alien base nearby preparing to attack me (bringing many biters together at one place). But while I am still in preparation to survive the attack and be ready for a strike back, I am far away from the front line. Would be great if I could keep an eye on it on a 2nd monitor while building my factory somewhere else. I know, there is the alert stuff, but I often oversee it and for some reason I don't know, I get no sound alert.

Anyway, even with sound I get the alert only, when the attack already started. With an eye on the map I might recognize earlier that they start moving to my base.

Also, the production view could be great as a permanent open UI on a 2nd monitor, to keep an eye on power consumption, especially important when using laser turrets as defense.

abordoli
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by abordoli » Wed Jul 12, 2017 8:14 pm

chridder wrote:I don't like the idea of RSS feed.

But I really like the idea of using a second monitor for specific GUIs, especially the map view would be great for me, as I have a large alien base nearby preparing to attack me (bringing many biters together at one place). But while I am still in preparation to survive the attack and be ready for a strike back, I am far away from the front line. Would be great if I could keep an eye on it on a 2nd monitor while building my factory somewhere else. I know, there is the alert stuff, but I often oversee it and for some reason I don't know, I get no sound alert.

Anyway, even with sound I get the alert only, when the attack already started. With an eye on the map I might recognize earlier that they start moving to my base.

Also, the production view could be great as a permanent open UI on a 2nd monitor, to keep an eye on power consumption, especially important when using laser turrets as defense.
One workaround for keeping an eye on that frontline, could be another PC with the game running in MP mode with that other user view on that area.

DM me for details as it's not as expensive (or even difficult) a proposition as it sounds.
~B

chridder
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi Monitor support

Post by chridder » Wed Jul 12, 2017 8:45 pm

abordoli wrote:
One workaround for keeping an eye on that frontline, could be another PC with the game running in MP mode with that other user view on that area.

DM me for details as it's not as expensive (or even difficult) a proposition as it sounds.
~B
Thanks for that hint... nice idea. I have no 2nd PC available and honestly not willing to setup another one. And I still can live with Factorio as it is with just single monitor support... but would be nice to have multi monitor support ingame for convinience.

Anyway, maybe others might want to follow your tipp :)

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users