Units and quantities: Use real prefixes and proper rounding

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
User avatar
Distelzombie
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:27 pm

Units and quantities: Use real prefixes and proper rounding

Post by Distelzombie » Tue May 16, 2017 11:56 am

Hi there

just saw this in a video. Fluids are using kilo, mega, giga etc prefixes in production graph.
(Instead of million, billion, trillion, quadrillion ... septuagintillion ...)

EDIT: I changed my mind:

My Idea would be a complete overhaul of the entire thing:
  • -Show the number outside of the icon.
    -It needs to show at least three decimals and the correct prefix
    -Actually USE proper rounding. (Currently 0.999 is 0) See this thread: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=46750
----Then either this:
  • -Use International System of Units in conjunction with International System of Quantities
    -In the case of the picture above it would be this for water: 1,222Mm³
----Or that:
  • -Use Scientific- or better Engineering notation: 6,721,000,000m = 6.721×10^9m, or 6.721E9 or 6.721e9
    -In the case of the picture above it would be this for water: 1.222 e12 m³, or 1.222 x 10^12 m³, or 1.222e12m³, or 1.222x10^12m³
Give some options for this and then its finally good. :)
Attachments
Unit-Errors in fluids.png
Unit-Errors in fluids.png (1.08 MiB) Viewed 1713 times
Last edited by Distelzombie on Tue May 16, 2017 4:52 pm, edited 7 times in total.
Complete 2-Lane system as a Blueprint-Book! The perfect OCD reactor? Testing chained science lab efficiency Please use real prefixes and proper rounding!

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 6671
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am

Re: [0.15] Units of fluids are using wrong prefix in prod.graph

Post by kovarex » Tue May 16, 2017 12:04 pm

I believe that consistency is more important here. I'm sorry but I'm going to move it to not a bug.

User avatar
Distelzombie
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:27 pm

Re: [0.15] Units of fluids are using wrong prefix in prod.graph

Post by Distelzombie » Tue May 16, 2017 12:33 pm

kovarex wrote:I believe that consistency is more important here. I'm sorry but I'm going to move it to not a bug.
You guys really want to make everything different than the rest of the world regarding numbers: No number rounding (0.99=0), "gigawater" instead of a million liter.

Thats really bad actually. :(
Complete 2-Lane system as a Blueprint-Book! The perfect OCD reactor? Testing chained science lab efficiency Please use real prefixes and proper rounding!

daniel34
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2757
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:30 am

Re: [0.15] Units of fluids are using wrong prefix in prod.graph

Post by daniel34 » Tue May 16, 2017 3:17 pm

Moved to Ideas and Suggestions on author's request.

"k" (for "kilo") is used throughout the game to mean a thousand, what do you propose as a replacement?
Distelzombie wrote:"gigawater" instead of a million liter.
A million water (not liters since that is nowhere specified) is 1M ("mega") water, "gigawater" would be 1 billion (10^9) water.

User avatar
Distelzombie
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:27 pm

Re: [0.15] Units of fluids are using wrong prefix in prod.graph

Post by Distelzombie » Tue May 16, 2017 4:00 pm

You're right. I was thinking:

My Idea would be a complete overhaul of the entire thing:
  • -Show the number outside of the icon.
    -It needs to show at least three decimals and the correct prefix
    -Actually USE proper rounding. (Currently its 0.999=0)
----Then either this:
  • -Use International System of Units in conjunction with International System of Quantities (You would still use the G but not alone)
    -In the case of the picture above it would be this for water: 1.222Gm³ 1,222Mm³
----Or that:
  • -Use Scientific- or better Engineering notation: 6,721,000,000m = 6.721×10^9m, or 6.721E9 or 6.721e9
    -In the case of the picture above it would be this for water: 1.222 e12 m³, or 1.222 x 10^12 m³, or 1.222e12m³, or 1.222x10^12m³
Give some options for this and then its finally good. :)

BTW: I would prefer engineering notation over scientific and over Gm³ Mm³
EDIT; Am I allowed to change a thread this much?
Last edited by Distelzombie on Tue May 16, 2017 4:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Complete 2-Lane system as a Blueprint-Book! The perfect OCD reactor? Testing chained science lab efficiency Please use real prefixes and proper rounding!

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1962
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm

Re: Units and quantities: Use real prefixes and proper rounding

Post by steinio » Tue May 16, 2017 4:10 pm

What is a Gm³?
Image[url=steam://friends/add/'.76561198315557255.']Image[/url]
Transport Belt Repair Man
My little mods: Link | My favourite mods: Bob's Mods | Angel's Mods | Yuoki Railway Core | EvoGUI | Logistic Train Network
Factorio Cheat Sheet by Denis Zholob

View unread Posts

User avatar
Distelzombie
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:27 pm

Re: Units and quantities: Use real prefixes and proper rounding

Post by Distelzombie » Tue May 16, 2017 4:15 pm

steinio wrote:What is a Gm³?
Cubic gigameter
Complete 2-Lane system as a Blueprint-Book! The perfect OCD reactor? Testing chained science lab efficiency Please use real prefixes and proper rounding!

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1962
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm

Re: Units and quantities: Use real prefixes and proper rounding

Post by steinio » Tue May 16, 2017 4:21 pm

Distelzombie wrote:
steinio wrote:What is a Gm³?
Cubic gigameter
Sounds fantastic but it's no think at all :)
Image[url=steam://friends/add/'.76561198315557255.']Image[/url]
Transport Belt Repair Man
My little mods: Link | My favourite mods: Bob's Mods | Angel's Mods | Yuoki Railway Core | EvoGUI | Logistic Train Network
Factorio Cheat Sheet by Denis Zholob

View unread Posts

User avatar
Distelzombie
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:27 pm

Re: Units and quantities: Use real prefixes and proper rounding

Post by Distelzombie » Tue May 16, 2017 4:30 pm

steinio wrote:
Distelzombie wrote:
steinio wrote:What is a Gm³?
Cubic gigameter
Sounds fantastic but it's no think at all :)
It is a unit of the International System of Units with its correct prefix. Your country just does it differently (wrong) or the people around you have chosen to not use giga and mega as a prefix and stop at kilo for some odd reason. People use megatons and gigatons. This is just the same for meters
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gigametre
Complete 2-Lane system as a Blueprint-Book! The perfect OCD reactor? Testing chained science lab efficiency Please use real prefixes and proper rounding!

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1962
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm

Re: Units and quantities: Use real prefixes and proper rounding

Post by steinio » Tue May 16, 2017 4:33 pm

Distelzombie wrote:
steinio wrote:
Distelzombie wrote:
steinio wrote:What is a Gm³?
Cubic gigameter
Sounds fantastic but it's no think at all :)
It is a unit of the International System of Units with its correct prefix. Your country just does it differently (wrong) or the people around you have chosen to not use giga as a prefix and stop at kilo for some odd reason.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gigametre
It's the same as yours but according to here: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gr%C3%B6% ... _(Volumen) km³ is the last resort.
Image[url=steam://friends/add/'.76561198315557255.']Image[/url]
Transport Belt Repair Man
My little mods: Link | My favourite mods: Bob's Mods | Angel's Mods | Yuoki Railway Core | EvoGUI | Logistic Train Network
Factorio Cheat Sheet by Denis Zholob

View unread Posts

User avatar
Distelzombie
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:27 pm

Re: Units and quantities: Use real prefixes and proper rounding

Post by Distelzombie » Tue May 16, 2017 4:38 pm

steinio wrote:It's the same as yours but according to here: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gr%C3%B6% ... _(Volumen) km³ is the last resort.
The page is not a scientific compendium but rather a list of examples.
A cubic gigameter is totally correct, but just sounds odd.
Complete 2-Lane system as a Blueprint-Book! The perfect OCD reactor? Testing chained science lab efficiency Please use real prefixes and proper rounding!

mp0011
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:17 am

Re: Units and quantities: Use real prefixes and proper rounding

Post by mp0011 » Tue May 16, 2017 4:45 pm

Just note that 1 Gm³ is not equal to 1000 Mm³, 1k Mm³, 1000000 km³, 1M km³ or 1G m³...

Prefixes works well on regular (not squared or cubed) units.

User avatar
Distelzombie
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:27 pm

Re: Units and quantities: Use real prefixes and proper rounding

Post by Distelzombie » Tue May 16, 2017 4:50 pm

mp0011 wrote:Just note that 1 Gm³ is not equal to 1000 Mm³, 1k Mm³, 1000000 km³, 1M km³ or 1G m³...

Prefixes works well on regular (not squared or cubed) units.
Ups you're right: A cubic gigameter would be 1,000,000,000Mm³
So then it would be 1222Mm³ and not 1.2Gm³

Just another point for my favourite... (engineering notation)
Complete 2-Lane system as a Blueprint-Book! The perfect OCD reactor? Testing chained science lab efficiency Please use real prefixes and proper rounding!

Mendel
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 1:51 pm

Re: Units and quantities: Use real prefixes and proper rounding

Post by Mendel » Tue May 16, 2017 5:00 pm

Then in that case changing to cubic meters as measurement of liquids would make the game inconsistent since everything else is changing prefixes in increments of 1000
pro: It would be correct
con: it would be confusing

I fear in this case the con would outweigh the pro

I would fully support 3 decimal precision and more logical rounding though!

User avatar
Distelzombie
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:27 pm

Re: Units and quantities: Use real prefixes and proper rounding

Post by Distelzombie » Tue May 16, 2017 5:19 pm

Mendel wrote:Then in that case changing to cubic meters as measurement of liquids would make the game inconsistent since everything else is changing prefixes in increments of 1000
pro: It would be correct
con: it would be confusing

I fear in this case the con would outweigh the pro

I would fully support 3 decimal precision and more logical rounding though!
You can make it cubic meter but without prefix. Thats why I like engineering notation so much. It is perfectly fitted for this game.
Complete 2-Lane system as a Blueprint-Book! The perfect OCD reactor? Testing chained science lab efficiency Please use real prefixes and proper rounding!

mp0011
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:17 am

Re: Units and quantities: Use real prefixes and proper rounding

Post by mp0011 » Tue May 16, 2017 5:39 pm

But, just to add some confusion, since we can convert water to steam, volume based units loose the point.

1k units of water is 1k units of steam, but 1m3 of water is not 1m3 of steam...
Now, imagine some new recipies, heat expanding, preassure, and whatever they may add to the game in future.

Kilograms/tons can work...

User avatar
Distelzombie
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:27 pm

Re: Units and quantities: Use real prefixes and proper rounding

Post by Distelzombie » Tue May 16, 2017 5:45 pm

mp0011 wrote:But, just to add some confusion, since we can convert water to steam, volume based units loose the point.

1k units of water is 1k units of steam, but 1m3 of water is not 1m3 of steam...
Now, imagine some new recipies, heat expanding, preassure, and whatever they may add to the game in future.

Kilograms/tons can work...
Forget pressure and 1m³ water can be 1m³ steam
Complete 2-Lane system as a Blueprint-Book! The perfect OCD reactor? Testing chained science lab efficiency Please use real prefixes and proper rounding!

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”