Indicate techs with unavailable science packs

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
User avatar
Lav
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:12 am
Contact:

Indicate techs with unavailable science packs

Post by Lav » Thu May 04, 2017 11:40 am

In the research window, indicate technologies that require science packs which haven't been unlocked yet. Player shouldn't be allowed to start research on these technologies.

Clicking on such technology in the research window should display a message explaining that player hasn't yet unlocked the necessary science pack production, and a hotlink to proceed to the relevant technology (maybe several hotlinks if it requires more than one type of still locked science pack).

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Indicate techs with unavailable science packs

Post by Koub » Thu May 04, 2017 11:50 am

I'd even like to have explicit research to unlock research packs. Right now, if I aim for a specific research (let's say logistic network), I see the needed science packs, but I don't know what researches unlock these science packs (like you had to guess, back in 0.14, that science pack was unlocked by battery tech).
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Slayn25
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Indicate techs with unavailable science packs

Post by Slayn25 » Thu May 04, 2017 7:15 pm

Koub wrote:I'd even like to have explicit research to unlock research packs. Right now, if I aim for a specific research (let's say logistic network), I see the needed science packs, but I don't know what researches unlock these science packs (like you had to guess, back in 0.14, that science pack was unlocked by battery tech).
+1

Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1086
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Indicate techs with unavailable science packs

Post by Peter34 » Thu May 04, 2017 9:15 pm

Koub wrote:I'd even like to have explicit research to unlock research packs. Right now, if I aim for a specific research (let's say logistic network), I see the needed science packs, but I don't know what researches unlock these science packs (like you had to guess, back in 0.14, that science pack was unlocked by battery tech).
Yes, that would be nice. 0.14-and-earlier already had a specific unlick for the Alien Magic Science Potions.

With 0.15, the Red and Green ones are and should remain craftable by default, but there should be unlocks for the other normal ones (not the Rocket one, which I think is implicitly unlocked with an existing Rocket- or Satelite-related Tech already).

User avatar
nemostein
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Indicate techs with unavailable science packs

Post by nemostein » Fri May 05, 2017 2:29 am

+1
Koub wrote:I'd even like to have explicit research to unlock research packs.
I lost half an hour looking for a tech that unlocks a science pack just to realize that I already unlocked it earlier without noticing... ^__^"
"I'd say the main bottleneck is sleep." - AndrewIRL

royce3
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 8:31 pm
Contact:

Tech Tree

Post by royce3 » Mon May 08, 2017 8:36 pm

Some may disagree, but I think it's a bug that clicking on a required science kit in the tech tree doesn't take you to the technology that unlocks that science.

For example, say I'm looking at Power Armor MK2 and one of it's required science is "High Tech". I click on that and nothing happens. I then have to stumble around the tech tree trying to find where that science gets unlocked. The tech to unlock a science isn't always a required technology of the item that uses that science, so it can be hard to find.

As suggested, a simple fix is to be able to click on the science and be taken to the technology that unlocks it.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Indicate techs with unavailable science packs

Post by Koub » Mon May 08, 2017 10:04 pm

[Koub] Topic merged with another on a very similar if not same subject. Not a bug though.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

mophydeen
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 5:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Indicate techs with unavailable science packs

Post by mophydeen » Mon May 08, 2017 10:11 pm

Koub wrote:I'd even like to have explicit research to unlock research packs. Right now, if I aim for a specific research (let's say logistic network), I see the needed science packs, but I don't know what researches unlock these science packs (like you had to guess, back in 0.14, that science pack was unlocked by battery tech).
+1

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users