When you run into a tree when building, stop, don't sidestep

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
TheBeardyMan
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 12:54 am
Contact:

When you run into a tree when building, stop, don't sidestep

Post by TheBeardyMan » Wed Jul 27, 2016 6:50 am

I'm sure this has happened to everybody: you're running and placing conveyor belts, and you're sure that you're clear of that tree ahead of you, but when you reach it, it turns out that you're not, and you step to one side and place several belts out of line with where they're supposed to be.

This could be prevented by having the act of continuous building change the player's behaviour when running into a tree from sidestepping to stopping completely.
Last edited by TheBeardyMan on Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Harkonnen604
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:56 am
Contact:

Re: When you run into a tree when building, stop, don't sidestep

Post by Harkonnen604 » Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:12 am

Good point, +1.

I'd also mention my other suggestion here (about trees, not buildings) - some form of ctrl-click placement that automatically harvests trees and rocks on the way instead of stopping or sidestepping.

BlakeMW
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 948
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 9:29 am
Contact:

Re: When you run into a tree when building, stop, don't sidestep

Post by BlakeMW » Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:30 am

Another thing is with belts and pipes it hardly makes sense to lay them in any orientation other than their direction of transport - this is especially true with underground belt and pipe-to-ground. I would prefer it if these things snap to a line aligned with their rotation and maintain that line as long as you are holding down the mouse key.
Last edited by BlakeMW on Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
siggboy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 988
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: When you run into a tree when building, stop, don't sidestep

Post by siggboy » Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:41 am

There's a mod that does what Blake suggested (Easy Belt Layer). I'm not sure if it's updated for 0.13.

I've used it most of the time, it worked really well but sometimes it got in the way. I'm sure something like it could easily implemented in Vanilla, and then probably work more reliably. (I don't know enough about modding Factorio to know if there's a limitation there that made Easy Belt sometimes a bit awkward.)

Actually I might have misunderstood: Easy Belt Layer allows you to basically "draw" a line with the belt and it makes the belt turns for you.

What Blake suggests would go against this, but it would also be great. +1 to that.
Is your railroad worrying you? Doctor T-Junction recommends: Smart, dynamic train deliveries with combinator Magick

User avatar
LuckyStar
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: When you run into a tree when building, stop, don't sidestep

Post by LuckyStar » Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:45 am

It's funny, this plauged me today a great deal when i was trying to make my bloody stone outpost work.

+1 +1 +1 +1

Even if mods cover the subject, there is no reason why this shouldn't be in vanilla.

xuhao
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 10:55 am
Contact:

Re: When you run into a tree when building, stop, don't sidestep

Post by xuhao » Thu Jul 28, 2016 12:32 pm

could such a feature be a problem when figthing critters? would you be able to run/escape trough a forrest without stopping every time you run into a tree??

User avatar
siggboy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 988
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: When you run into a tree when building, stop, don't sidestep

Post by siggboy » Thu Jul 28, 2016 1:07 pm

xuhao wrote:could such a feature be a problem when figthing critters? would you be able to run/escape trough a forrest without stopping every time you run into a tree??
You're probably not busy laying belts while you're running away from biters...
Is your railroad worrying you? Doctor T-Junction recommends: Smart, dynamic train deliveries with combinator Magick

User avatar
LuckyStar
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: When you run into a tree when building, stop, don't sidestep

Post by LuckyStar » Thu Jul 28, 2016 5:28 pm

siggboy wrote:
xuhao wrote:could such a feature be a problem when figthing critters? would you be able to run/escape trough a forrest without stopping every time you run into a tree??
You're probably not busy laying belts while you're running away from biters...

He probably means that this feature should independet, he wants to simply run away from the biters with ease, regardless of belts.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10467
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: When you run into a tree when building, stop, don't sidestep

Post by ssilk » Sat Jul 30, 2016 2:15 pm

Added to viewtopic.php?f=80&t=22305 Walking on Belts (New Power Armor module)

This describes the problem more or less viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1084 Placement when walking
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

kpreid
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: When you run into a tree when building, stop, don't sidestep

Post by kpreid » Thu Sep 08, 2016 2:12 pm

This problem is annoying but removing sidestepping would also be annoying, because there's plenty of small sidesteps around trees and power poles and so on that don't interfere with building most of the time. I have an idea for a different solution to the problem:

If you are building and sidestep due to running into something, then don't move the camera, i.e. the character is no longer exactly at the center. Thus the cursor position relative to the world doesn't change, and you keep building. When you let go of the mouse button, the camera would then slide back to where it normally would be.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], wobbycarly