Option to disable no-power flashing / Remove potential epilepsy problem / Reduce distraction on power loss

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5201
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: Option to disable no-power flashing

Post by eradicator »

Optera wrote:
Sat Dec 05, 2020 7:24 am
Ideally we'd get an indicator light on machinery like the new mining drills have.
Green: operating normal
Red: missing ingredient or output full
Yellow: no power
"No light" seems like a more natural indicator for "no power" in a hypothetical situation where all other states have indicator lights. But i'm not convinced that replacing all warnings by indicator lights is a good solution, especially considering colour blind people.
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

mmmPI
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Option to disable no-power flashing

Post by mmmPI »

what about a yellow lighting with a red diagonal cross on it ?
It maybe hard to get that's a lightning that represent power but the red diagonal cross must be enough to convey the idea that something's missing.

color coding is nice but to better convey things one can also use the shapes to help with color perception, blue square, red triangle, green circle, yellow hourglass.

inserter are so small on the screen though it makes it hard to use the few pixel available to make something easily recognizable but the actual yellow triangle with the unplugged icon does it well, if only it wasn't blinking :).
Optera wrote:
Sat Dec 05, 2020 7:24 am
Ideally we'd get an indicator light on machinery like the new mining drills have.
Green: operating normal
Red: missing ingredient or output full
Yellow: no power
Sad_Brother wrote:
Sat Dec 05, 2020 5:13 pm
Yellow as no output is better.
I think that's the default option when you use bottleneck mod.
It does just that, add a little light on each assembly (and chemplant or refinery but not inserter or combinator), green is working, yellow no output, red no input. Color that dot in grey or black for no power, assing a shape to each color and voila :).

TheRaph
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Option to disable no-power flashing

Post by TheRaph »

+1
No flashing should be an option at least for modder.

There are Mods which alter the icons and some who disable warnings completely - but there are no mods for "no blinking" because it seems to be hard coded.

And as stated before color coding is nice for me and maybe the devs, but shape is better for people with any kind of color-blindness.

By the way my color favorites for mashinery:
Green = normal operating
Yellow = output banks up
Red = Input missing
Black = No Power <-- This should make the complete building a bit darker because all of inner lights and sparkling ar off.

blazespinnaker
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 461
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Option to disable no-power flashing

Post by blazespinnaker »

Yes, this would be nice. Or at the very least make the flashing a static icon. It's quite an unnecessary visual irritant at the moment. Sometimes I just want to power things off.
OptimaUPS Mod, pm for info.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12253
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Option to disable no-power flashing

Post by ssilk »

I also like that somehow, but beginners would not understand that.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
jodokus31
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Option to disable no-power flashing

Post by jodokus31 »

ssilk wrote:
Sun Dec 06, 2020 9:11 am
I also like that somehow, but beginners would not understand that.
I could imagine, that you dont need flashing to get beginners attention.
But Ok, Make it default blinking, and an option to change it to Static. Or just as modding possibility.

AlveKatt
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 1:44 pm
Contact:

Ability to disable blinking of Icons

Post by AlveKatt »

TL;DR
I want an option to disable the blinking of icons.
What ?
I want an option to disable the blinking of icons, most notably the Power warning icons.
Why ?
The blinking icon messes with my ability to focus. I have ADD and autism, and sorting impressions that doesn't need to be there is just needlessly draining.

User avatar
jodokus31
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Ability to disable blinking of Icons

Post by jodokus31 »

https://mods.factorio.com/mod/No_Power_Icons

I hope there will be something like this or better in vanilla some day.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6540
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Option to disable no-power flashing

Post by Koub »

[Koub] Merged into older thread with same suggestion.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

AlveKatt
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 1:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Option to disable no-power flashing

Post by AlveKatt »

Koub wrote:
Sun Feb 07, 2021 1:47 pm
[Koub] Merged into older thread with same suggestion.
Seriously. This is an accessibility issue. Sure, I can play and have done so a lot, but it's more draining than it should be.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6540
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Option to disable no-power flashing

Post by Koub »

AlveKatt wrote:
Sun Feb 07, 2021 3:30 pm
Koub wrote:
Sun Feb 07, 2021 1:47 pm
[Koub] Merged into older thread with same suggestion.
Seriously. This is an accessibility issue. Sure, I can play and have done so a lot, but it's more draining than it should be.
No need to try and convince me, I'm just a moderator, my job is to keep the forums nice and tidy. The ones you need to convince are the devs :).
Or you can use the mods that were created specially for that.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

PhasmaNL
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Option to disable no-power flashing

Post by PhasmaNL »

+1 for some improvements in this area. The blinking is obviously not necessary, and when things are intentionally turned off by a power switch it shouldn't display a warning at all. I hope this still gets fixed eventually...

User avatar
ickputzdirwech
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 638
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 10:16 am
Contact:

Re: Option to disable no-power flashing

Post by ickputzdirwech »

[ick] Merged it with yet another old thread about the same suggestion.
Mods: Shortcuts for 1.1, ick's Sea Block, ick's vanilla tweaks
Tools: Atom language pack
Text quickly seems cold and unfriendly. Be careful how you write and interpret what others have written.
- A reminder for me and all who read what I write

User avatar
BlueTemplar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2198
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Option to disable no-power flashing

Post by BlueTemplar »

Image
Koub wrote:
Thu Apr 02, 2020 11:43 am
[Koub] Merged a few topics with the same suggestion.
Note : there are also suggestions to have different behaviour when entities are unpowered because of a power switch.
Y U no link ? => viewtopic.php?f=6&t=62546

Image

User avatar
atomizer
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2018 3:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Option to disable no-power flashing

Post by atomizer »

good link, +1 to both

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12253
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Option to disable no-power flashing / Remove potential epilepsy problem / Reduce distraction on power loss

Post by ssilk »

This thread is about general option to remove/exchange flashing. The purpose is especially to reduce the ability to produce epilepsy. But there are some more options to achieve this. (*)

The linked thread is about handling the type of warning in power-switched networks.


(*) my favorite way is similar to what I suggested lately for trains:
viewtopic.php?p=548003#p548003
Non blinking icons on top of each device show the current state, like working, waiting for input, waiting for output, power drain/loss…
And the icons can be shut off if you learned the lights on top of the devices. The lights look like for the miners, perhaps a bit more obvious.


P.S. :lol: https://mods.factorio.com/mod/Emojitorio
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
NotRexButCaesar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1044
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: Option to disable no-power flashing / Remove potential epilepsy problem / Reduce distraction on power loss

Post by NotRexButCaesar »

ssilk wrote:
Sun Jun 27, 2021 6:11 am
(*) my favorite way is similar to what I suggested lately for trains:
viewtopic.php?p=548003#p548003
Non blinking icons on top of each device show the current state, like working, waiting for input, waiting for output, power drain/loss…
And the icons can be shut off if you learned the lights on top of the devices. The lights look like for the miners, perhaps a bit more obvious.
I do not think that this will happen, considering that the assembler redesign appears to have been scrapped.
: Alea jacta est. Determine what you intend to accomplish with an action before execution.
Have you ever heard the gospel? Most have not.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”