[0.16.7] Inserter can't take used up cells from burnt_result_inventory

Things that has been reported already before.
Post Reply
User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

[0.16.7] Inserter can't take used up cells from burnt_result_inventory

Post by darkfrei »

Mod reference: (Version 0.0.1) https://mods.factorio.com/api/downloads ... _0.0.1.zip

This mod adds new entity (type = "furnace", name = "nuclear-furnace-1"), that has nuclear burner as energy source:

Code: Select all

energy_source = {
  type = "burner",
  fuel_category = "nuclear",
  effectivity = 0.25,
  emissions = 0.02,
  fuel_inventory_size = 1,
  burnt_inventory_size = 1
}
So, the vanilla GUI looks so:
vanilla furnace GUI
vanilla furnace GUI
2017-12-26 02_42_46-Factorio 0.16.7.jpg (209.07 KiB) Viewed 3308 times
But inserter can't take "used-up-uranium-fuel-cell" from this inventory, only from result inventory.

:arrow: UPD:
Same topics:
[0.15.35] Boiler type entities cannot eject burnt items
[0.15.2] Inserters not removing spent fuel from non-reactors

:arrow: :arrow: UPD2:
Extractor from burnt inventory
https://mods.factorio.com/mods/darkfrei/BurntExtractor
Last edited by darkfrei on Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:56 am, edited 3 times in total.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13175
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.7] Inserter can't take used up cells from burnt_result_inventory

Post by Rseding91 »

Thanks for the report. This is a limitation of how inserters work at the moment. They can only ever extract items from 1 inventory which means you simply can't use the burnt-result system with any entity that produces items otherwise.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.7] Inserter can't take used up cells from burnt_result_inventory

Post by darkfrei »

Rseding91 wrote:Thanks for the report. This is a limitation of how inserters work at the moment. They can only ever extract items from 1 inventory which means you simply can't use the burnt-result system with any entity that produces items otherwise.
How it can be reworked?
Now inserters can to insert items to more-then-one inventories, but they cat to extract items from only one.
It means, we have two possibilities: make new inserter "burnt-result-extractor", that works with burnt_result_inventory or modify old insertors code.

UPD:
So, here is an extractor for extracting items from burnt result inventory Burnt Extractor

Anson
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 4:41 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.7] Inserter can't take used up cells from burnt_result_inventory

Post by Anson »

Rseding91 wrote:They can only ever extract items from 1 inventory which means you simply can't use the burnt-result system with any entity that produces items otherwise.
question from a non-modder :
there are several machines which produce more than one type of output.
does this mean that all those types are in separate output slots (which all can be accessed by inserters), but all those slots are in a single output inventory ?

can't the burnt-output-slot be merged to all the other output slots so that inserters can grab the burnt-output as well?
(of course, that would require sorting by filter inserters or other methods, just like we already have to separate multiple products that are made by one machine)
or are the production and the fuel components of a machine too deeply separated from each other so that they absolutely require two separate output inventories (each with one or several slots) ?

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13175
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.7] Inserter can't take used up cells from burnt_result_inventory

Post by Rseding91 »

Anson wrote:
Rseding91 wrote:They can only ever extract items from 1 inventory which means you simply can't use the burnt-result system with any entity that produces items otherwise.
question from a non-modder :
there are several machines which produce more than one type of output.
does this mean that all those types are in separate output slots (which all can be accessed by inserters), but all those slots are in a single output inventory ?
Yes, that's how it works now.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.7] Inserter can't take used up cells from burnt_result_inventory

Post by darkfrei »

Rseding91 wrote:
Wed Dec 27, 2017 3:36 pm
Thanks for the report. This is a limitation of how inserters work at the moment. They can only ever extract items from 1 inventory which means you simply can't use the burnt-result system with any entity that produces items otherwise.
Is the limitation still here? The fuel leech works: https://mods.factorio.com/mod/Burner-Leech/changelog

Post Reply

Return to “Duplicates”