[0.12.29] Starting in the middle of an ocean

Things that has been reported already before.
Post Reply
Serpardum
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:48 am
Contact:

Bad character spawn location

Post by Serpardum » Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:54 am

Generate random land: Check.
Generate water: Check.
Spawn player on ground not water: Check.

Image

Balthazar
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 10:58 am
Contact:

Re: Bad character spawn location

Post by Balthazar » Mon Mar 24, 2014 6:29 am

I'm pretty sure the devs allready know about this, but its a dificult thing to solve, and a low priority one. XP we've all been there but just regenerate and try again.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10448
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Bad character spawn location

Post by ssilk » Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:21 am

Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Serpardum
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:48 am
Contact:

Re: Bad character spawn location

Post by Serpardum » Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:56 pm

Not a bug? O.o How is this not a bug?

And if it was me and I was coding it I'd take a direction (any one) about 10 - 20 blocks away, make sure it was ground then try to path to it. If I couldn't path to it then I would chose a new spawn location. You might miss a few good spawn locations but you'll also miss a lot of bad ones.

User avatar
AlexPhoenix
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 7:48 am
Contact:

Re: Bad character spawn location

Post by AlexPhoenix » Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:22 pm

Serpardum wrote:Not a bug? O.o How is this not a bug?

And if it was me and I was coding it I'd take a direction (any one) about 10 - 20 blocks away, make sure it was ground then try to path to it. If I couldn't path to it then I would chose a new spawn location. You might miss a few good spawn locations but you'll also miss a lot of bad ones.
this is bug, but bug with very low priority, cuz you always can regenerate map.
so while there is bug with higher priority this is will be in not bug section.

Is if was you, you must dont forget about priorities of bugs.

muzzy
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 7:17 am
Contact:

Re: Bad character spawn location

Post by muzzy » Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:34 pm

Beautiful spawn :)

This is definitely an issue, but technically I don't think it should be called a bug. The issue is that sometimes you get a bad spawn, but since there isn't any trivial way to determine if the spawn is bad or not, the lacking functionality cannot be called a bug.

I'm hoping in the future they would implement some kind of requirement/criteria system in the map generator, so that the map is rerolled if it doesn't meet the defined criteria. This could be used for resource reachability tests and other things such as minimum necessary connected land, maximum distance to resources, minimum distance to hostiles to avoid instantly aggroing enemies, etc.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10448
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Bad character spawn location

Post by ssilk » Mon Mar 24, 2014 10:13 pm

Sorry for the short response.

This is not a bug by definition. The program behaves as it is defined.
An issue, yes.

I see the chance to have a simple boat to solve this situation.

But this is only the most obvious case of many others: you are surrounded by 20 biter nests. The island is much bigger than this and you play 8 hours before you find it out. There is not enough wood around. And many other things like that. My opinion is, that there can be situations, which are hard. Very hard. But solvable. With the feature of giving away the map-seed I think this can be a good feature.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Serpardum
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:48 am
Contact:

Re: Bad character spawn location

Post by Serpardum » Tue Mar 25, 2014 3:48 am

ssilk wrote:Sorry for the short response.

This is not a bug by definition. The program behaves as it is defined.
An issue, yes.

I see the chance to have a simple boat to solve this situation.
You explained yourself well. In your explanation, yes, this is not a bug. It is just a feature that has not been coded yet.

I will keep that in mind as I play.

If you wish to attract more people to the game I would recommend a simple screen shot of your character and a bot following you like it was following me in game. I enjoy your game entirely and the designers/programmers have done an excellent job as well as the artists.

Incidentally I have a low end laptop and your game runs well although my char does slow down running when a lot of things are on the screen at once. But with 200+ bots flying around overhead I get little lag.

I have not been reading the forums and I won't be until I learn all knowledge as I don't want any spoilers.

Sander_Bouwhuis
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 10:45 pm
Contact:

[0.12.29] Starting in the middle of an ocean

Post by Sander_Bouwhuis » Mon Apr 04, 2016 7:58 pm

I started a new game and couldn't do anything:
Ocean start.jpg
Ocean start.jpg (142.31 KiB) Viewed 4408 times

sillyfly
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1099
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.29] Starting in the middle of an ocean

Post by sillyfly » Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:07 pm

From the thread titled READ BEFORE POSTING:
slpwnd wrote: Small island spawn

This is not really a bug. Just respawn. See more: https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... f=7&t=3492

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3377
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.29] Starting in the middle of an ocean

Post by posila » Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:26 pm

Duplicate: 3492

vivim
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:45 pm
Contact:

Well, this might be difficult...

Post by vivim » Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:55 pm

2016-04-04 (1).png
2016-04-04 (1).png (1.96 MiB) Viewed 4114 times
I started a map with increased natives for a bit of a challenge. Turns out they weren't that great of a threat.

User avatar
prg
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 947
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 12:39 am
Contact:

Re: Well, this might be difficult...

Post by prg » Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:58 pm

Is anyone keeping count of those "I started on an island!" posts?
Automatic Belt (and pipe) Planner—Automate yet another aspect of constructing your factory!

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4611
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.29] Starting in the middle of an ocean

Post by Koub » Mon Apr 04, 2016 10:07 pm

[Koub] Topics merged because buffer overflowth topic about starting on an island
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3592
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Well, this might be difficult...

Post by Klonan » Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:12 am

prg wrote:Is anyone keeping count of those "I started on an island!" posts?
Something like that:
https://www.reddit.com/r/FactorioCirclejerk

Sander_Bouwhuis
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.29] Starting in the middle of an ocean

Post by Sander_Bouwhuis » Tue Apr 05, 2016 6:03 am

Oh, sorry about that.

Why doesn't the generator simply check whether you can reach at least, say, 100 tiles? This should be easy to fix.
If there are a gazillions mentions of this bug, maybe that's a hint a lot of people encounter this problem.

If this is your first play, it's VERY confusing what you need to do.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4611
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.29] Starting in the middle of an ocean

Post by Koub » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:25 am

It's OK to feeel confused. It's also OK to search "island" with the forum search :).
Moreover, even 100 tiles is not enough to play a viable game. There is no limit above which a game will be considered as "playable" depending on the ressources and biters that are generated on the map.
And ... there are people who want to spawn on big islands, so the devs can't just add an island detector in the map generation to get rid of islands.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3377
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.29] Starting in the middle of an ocean

Post by posila » Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:16 am

I think the main issue is that people don't know "Restart" in menu won't restart the game on the same map, but will regenerate new map too. When you spawn on island, generating new map is question of 2 seconds.

BTW. My first Factorio freeplay ever I spawned on 1x1 island too :D And I also made a screenshot and save with intention to report it as an issue :)

lonking1990
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 10:49 am
Contact:

Cant move after create map

Post by lonking1990 » Sun Apr 10, 2016 10:53 am

What is the chance to appear in a little island inside of a lake when creating a new map? I suppose this is a bug, isnt it? Im using bob mods, but they dont affect terrain generation (but adding ores) as far as i know :/

Image

sillyfly
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1099
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: Cant move after create map

Post by sillyfly » Sun Apr 10, 2016 11:08 am

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3636

Just open the menu and hit restart. It will generate a new map with the same settings (but a different seed).

Post Reply

Return to “Duplicates”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users