Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Regular reports on Factorio development.
Selvek
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 225
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 4:04 am
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by Selvek » Tue Jan 24, 2017 6:58 pm

justarandomgeek wrote:
Cabanur wrote:Having the full RGB space to color is great, but if I'm honest it's a bit cumbersome to get the exact same numbers when i want the same color on two trains with different routes (i color them by cargo type, not by route).

How about a selection of colors (16, maybe 32) with a button for "custom color" with the current GUI?
Or at least the colors we have signals for!
Seconded. My suggestion would be to have a pallet of standard colors, plus the ability to add custom colors to that pallet so that you can easily reuse your favorite ones.

Also, IMO color selection is more intuitive with an HSV slider rather than an RGB slider.

User avatar
Sigma1
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by Sigma1 » Tue Jan 24, 2017 7:00 pm

I would love it if you made the gui elements more open so for example mods could add or remove weapon slots and things like that.
My mods can be found on my homepage: https://sigma-one.gitlab.io/
They include nuclear and military stuff right now.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6676
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by bobingabout » Wed Jan 25, 2017 4:17 pm

Sigma1 wrote:I would love it if you made the gui elements more open so for example mods could add or remove weapon slots and things like that.
Yes, that would be useful.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.

BryanSw
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 11:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by BryanSw » Wed Jan 25, 2017 9:13 pm

Agreed. Changing the quickbar size instead of just adding more would also be beneficial along that line.

R3vo
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 5:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by R3vo » Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:07 pm

Any chance we could get some default colour templates for locomotives and train stations? I am thinking about some basic colours for iron, copper, coal, oil, uranium?

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3284
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by mrvn » Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:43 pm

Or trains if there are more than one.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6676
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by bobingabout » Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:56 pm

Rseding91 wrote:
bobingabout wrote:good to know.

is this in 0.14, or do I have to wait for 0.15 to use it?
It's in 0.14.

Additionally I expanded it to include support for scaling and shifting for 0.15 essentially allowing masks for icons.
So... 0.14 allows you to specify an array of icons, which can hold a tint, which are overlayed on top of each other.

0.15 adds x, y, width, height and scale to allow you to use a sprite sheets for icons, like we do now with most other sprites?
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 9261
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by Rseding91 » Thu Jan 26, 2017 7:24 pm

bobingabout wrote:
Rseding91 wrote:
bobingabout wrote:good to know.

is this in 0.14, or do I have to wait for 0.15 to use it?
It's in 0.14.

Additionally I expanded it to include support for scaling and shifting for 0.15 essentially allowing masks for icons.
So... 0.14 allows you to specify an array of icons, which can hold a tint, which are overlayed on top of each other.

0.15 adds x, y, width, height and scale to allow you to use a sprite sheets for icons, like we do now with most other sprites?
It adds scale and shift. I might add the rest of the properties.. I'll have to see if there's a reason I didn't do so.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

pawel.dawidowski
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 8:57 am
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by pawel.dawidowski » Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:36 pm

R3vo wrote:Any chance we could get some default colour templates for locomotives and train stations? I am thinking about some basic colours for iron, copper, coal, oil, uranium?
What would be really cool is to have a simple checkbox that automatically assign a locomotive color depending on its cargo. Then just by seeing the train you actually know or suspect whats its content.

User avatar
yousai
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:31 am
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by yousai » Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:48 pm

pawel.dawidowski wrote:What would be really cool is to have a simple checkbox that automatically assign a locomotive color depending on its cargo. Then just by seeing the train you actually know or suspect whats its content.
Well you know, we have this Alt-View thing...

User avatar
Saint
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by Saint » Tue Feb 07, 2017 3:58 pm

If i mod my GUI, can i play on a vanila server ? Or do any mod direct blocking that i can play on a vanila server?
Playtime Factorio ~1300 hours Last Stand
Achievement 100% since a very long Time

Neemys
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 457
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 6:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by Neemys » Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:43 pm

Saint wrote:If i mod my GUI, can i play on a vanila server ? Or do any mod direct blocking that i can play on a vanila server?
Server and client must have the same mod with the same configuration. So your gui modded must be on the server as well.
Want more space restriction ? Or maybe you want to be forced to use train for other thing than ore and oil ? Try Building Platform Mod !

User avatar
Saint
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by Saint » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:43 pm

i know it but i hoped that it give any option ;)

i take a screenshot why i will mod my gui. If you look in the right bottom corner you see that only 1/3 of all items listed. in my big storage to much items to see the full item list

@Dev`s is it possible to make any changes that we can see all items ? i cann only see the first ~ 60 items from ~160

maybe add a button on the minimap to minimize it, or something like this.
Attachments
gui to small.jpg
The GUI is to Small
gui to small.jpg (242.75 KiB) Viewed 2201 times
Playtime Factorio ~1300 hours Last Stand
Achievement 100% since a very long Time

driver
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 11:24 am
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by driver » Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:23 am

Just looking on the screenshot above: Research could be a clickable button and there's no real need to have a button for achievements on the screen (could be somewhere else under options).
The right frame could be static and nontransparent. The inventory and quickbar could be larger if you scale up the gui.

Zeblote
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 972
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by Zeblote » Wed Feb 08, 2017 1:08 pm

Saint wrote:i take a screenshot why i will mod my gui.
I think you're misunderstanding what this is about. You still can't modify any of the default guis, it's just about making all the custom guis have a consistent style.

User avatar
y.petremann
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 393
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 4:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by y.petremann » Wed Feb 08, 2017 2:22 pm

If you want, there is this mod that automaticaly hide minimap when looking at logistic chest
https://mods.factorio.com/mods/daniel34 ... p-autohide

User avatar
Saint
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by Saint » Wed Feb 08, 2017 7:16 pm

driver wrote:Just looking on the screenshot above: Research could be a clickable button and there's no real need to have a button for achievements on the screen (could be somewhere else under options).
The right frame could be static and nontransparent. The inventory and quickbar could be larger if you scale up the gui.
the achievment button is ok but the tech could be in the same row as the other buttons, thats save 1 line as example
Zeblote wrote:
Saint wrote:i take a screenshot why i will mod my gui.
I think you're misunderstanding what this is about. You still can't modify any of the default guis, it's just about making all the custom guis have a consistent style.
no i have understand this part ^^ but you can create a new windows with all items, but mod is no option, because i play only vanilla server.
y.petremann wrote:If you want, there is this mod that automaticaly hide minimap when looking at logistic chest
https://mods.factorio.com/mods/daniel34 ... p-autohide
good idea but i want play on all server, with mod is this not possible^^
Playtime Factorio ~1300 hours Last Stand
Achievement 100% since a very long Time

User avatar
Cabanur
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by Cabanur » Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:05 pm

driver wrote:Research could be a clickable button
I think it *should* be. For consistency and ease of use.

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3621
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by Klonan » Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:22 pm

Cabanur wrote:
driver wrote:Research could be a clickable button
I think it *should* be. For consistency and ease of use.
In 0.15 it is :)

User avatar
Saint
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Friday Facts #174 - Mod gui

Post by Saint » Wed Feb 08, 2017 10:12 pm

@Klonan
is it possible that we get any option to see the full list from the logistic network on a storage chest etc. ? without any mod ^^
Playtime Factorio ~1300 hours Last Stand
Achievement 100% since a very long Time

Post Reply

Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bilka