Version 0.11.10

Information about releases and roadmap.
kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8058
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Version 0.11.10

Post by kovarex »

Lets try it again.
  • Bugfixes:
    • Technology slots icons drawing positions.
    • Fixed the crash when trying to drag non-draggable window.
    • Fixed the problem of stuck inserters when putting stuff on transport belt with direction away from it.
    • Fixed the crash when tips & tricks window was displayed.
Use the automatic updater if you can (check experimental updates in other settings) or download full installation at http://www.factorio.com/download/experimental.

User avatar
bastrath
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by bastrath »

That was really fast, thank you! Keep up the great work.

Edit:
  • No more crashes when starting a new game or loading a game from 11.9
    inserter don't place items into a tunnel, maybe a new feature? Or was it already like this all the time?
    Research Icons are all in position now :)
Last edited by bastrath on Tue Jan 06, 2015 5:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Maybe my english isn's good, but compared to our train conductors my english is high level (Sänk ju for träwelink wiss deutsche Bahn!)

User avatar
Piranha
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 8:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by Piranha »

Impressively quick hot fix.. Good Job!

..now let's hear the results :P

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8058
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by kovarex »

bastrath wrote:That was really fast, thank you! Keep up the great work.

Edit:
  • No more crashes when starting a new game or loading a game from 11.9
    inserter don't place items into a tunnel, maybe a new feature? Or was it already like this all the time?
Not intended, could you post bug report with description of the problem please?

User avatar
Piranha
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 8:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by Piranha »

kovarex wrote:Could you post bug report with description of the problem please?

Bug Report: They cover the entire planet!!!
8-)

Ekelbatzen
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by Ekelbatzen »

kovarex wrote:
bastrath wrote:That was really fast, thank you! Keep up the great work.

Edit:
  • No more crashes when starting a new game or loading a game from 11.9
    inserter don't place items into a tunnel, maybe a new feature? Or was it already like this all the time?
Not intended, could you post bug report with description of the problem please?
Is he probably referring to this post from the 0.11.9 thread?

westy wrote:Inserters will no longer place items onto underground belt entrances.

Image

This seems to have broken a fair few things in my factory ;)

(I also get the science visuals bug, but there's nothing game-breaking there)
Specs: 3770k, 16GB DDR3, 1060, Win10 x64, latest experimental via Steam

roy7
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 4:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by roy7 »

Ekelbatzen wrote:Is he probably referring to this post from the 0.11.9 thread?
Yeah but the release comments/discussions aren't really bug reports per se. It's best to post actual bug reports in the bug report forum for organization/tracking purposes.

User avatar
bastrath
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by bastrath »

Ekelbatzen wrote:
kovarex wrote:
bastrath wrote:That was really fast, thank you! Keep up the great work.

Edit:
  • No more crashes when starting a new game or loading a game from 11.9
    inserter don't place items into a tunnel, maybe a new feature? Or was it already like this all the time?
Not intended, could you post bug report with description of the problem please?
Is he probably referring to this post from the 0.11.9 thread?

westy wrote:Inserters will no longer place items onto underground belt entrances.


(I also get the science visuals bug, but there's nothing game-breaking there)
yes, it's exactly the problem. Thanks for the quick response :) I wasn't sure if it's a bug or it's just me ^^
Maybe my english isn's good, but compared to our train conductors my english is high level (Sänk ju for träwelink wiss deutsche Bahn!)

BrinCaspian
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 3:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by BrinCaspian »

I'm now getting an Error during startup. Seems there is now a compatibility issue with DyTech Inserters. "inserter-close has wrong insert vector as it isn't in safe distance from the tile edge"

That seems something DyTech will need to look at, but I just wanted to report it before others run into it by updating. 0.11.9 worked fine for me, but the saves had gotten longer again for me.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8058
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by kovarex »

BrinCaspian wrote:I'm now getting an Error during startup. Seems there is now a compatibility issue with DyTech Inserters. "inserter-close has wrong insert vector as it isn't in safe distance from the tile edge"
Yes, that is intentional, to force the mods to be fixed.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7346
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by bobingabout »

okay, if you've done these changes to inserters force mods to update inserters, what values should we use to make inserters put items on the near side of the belt?

Take a look at the base mode.

The values were 0.86, 0.14 (distant, near side of the belt).
Now these are 0.7, 0.3

EDIT: that was an edit, not a reply. I've done that myself before in my subforum :lol:

anyway, the numbers that seem to be causing the problem for me were with "insert_position" were 1.35 in the old base mod, and changed to 1.2, so I've been changing them to 1.2 and 0.8 and the game seems to be accepting it, I havn't tried them out yet though.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

McGuten
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by McGuten »

I have the same problem as Bob, how can i correct it?


EDIT: now i tried to put the same values and now work.
Image

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7346
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by bobingabout »

McGuten wrote:EDIT: now i tried to put the same values and now work.
thats why I shared :3
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

User avatar
Smarty
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 816
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 5:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by Smarty »

that hotfix is just in time! Good job

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8058
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by kovarex »

bobingabout wrote:okay, if you've done these changes to inserters force mods to update inserters, what values should we use to make inserters put items on the near side of the belt?

Take a look at the base mode.

The values were 0.86, 0.14 (distant, near side of the belt).
Now these are 0.7, 0.3

EDIT: that was an edit, not a reply. I've done that myself before in my subforum :lol:

anyway, the numbers that seem to be causing the problem for me were with "insert_position" were 1.35 in the old base mod, and changed to 1.2, so I've been changing them to 1.2 and 0.8 and the game seems to be accepting it, I havn't tried them out yet though.
Oups, sorry :)

roy7
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 4:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by roy7 »

Continued the MP .8 game we've been doing and first autosave that happened froze the game. We waited a bit, no help, so when I as host hit 'quit game' the other player's client crashed to desktop. I'm looking for any sort of log file I might be able to upload as a full bug report.

bnvy
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by bnvy »

Not certain of this, but it looks to me like there may be excessive delay in waking up inserters (related to the recent optimization).

Image

I'm looking at the green circuit assembler on the left. It had stalled when I took the screenshot. As you can see, output is not blocked and the assembler only has two completed (of the four it can hold) at this time. It has plenty of wire, but zero iron plates, despite an abundance available to it. The inserters just aren't picking it up.

It's the "stutter" effect where it briefly goes silent, normally because it can't get inputs or unload output. It varies, but seems to do 10-20 smoothly before taking a little break, each of which lasts more than half a second, probably closer to a full second. I tried separately removing either the speed or productivity module, and it didn't seem to make a difference.

On a positive note, this release seems to have eliminated the problem where picking up things like walls and belts sometimes becomes very slow. I'd be picking up a line of belts and the usual rapid pace, and then for no discernible reason they would suddenly start taking more than twice as long. Never figured out a pattern, often went away after saving/reloading, but it was quite frustrating. Have several hours on this release now without seeing it once. Nice.

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3605
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by DaveMcW »

bnvy wrote:It's the "stutter" effect where it briefly goes silent, normally because it can't get inputs or unload output. It varies, but seems to do 10-20 smoothly before taking a little break, each of which lasts more than half a second, probably closer to a full second. I tried separately removing either the speed or productivity module, and it didn't seem to make a difference.
This is caused by not enough output inserters. Input inserters stall when the output stack is >= 2 (for single-item recipes).

User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 834
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by cpy »

Are extra low graphics icons fixed?

Tested, still no fix for icons, how can one see what that thing is supposed to be when there are only few pixels. Other things have normal icons but like 50% have complete pixel garbage displayed.

bnvy
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.11.10

Post by bnvy »

DaveMcW wrote: This is caused by not enough output inserters. Input inserters stall when the output stack is >= 2 (for single-item recipes).
I stand corrected. You can see the space where I had a second one at first, and replacing it makes it run smoothly. Thanks for the clarification, good to know.

Edit: It appears I was mistaken about this as well:
bnvy wrote: On a positive note, this release seems to have eliminated the problem where picking up things like walls and belts sometimes becomes very slow. I'd be picking up a line of belts and the usual rapid pace, and then for no discernible reason they would suddenly start taking more than twice as long. Never figured out a pattern, often went away after saving/reloading, but it was quite frustrating. Have several hours on this release now without seeing it once. Nice.
Still happens. Playing with it a bit more, it's about as if I changed manualminingspeedmodifier by a factor of 10, i.e. it takes about 5 seconds to pick up a wall instead of half a sec, though before and after the value displays as zero (wiki says default should be 1?). Hard to believe no one else experiences this, but searching turns up nothing. I'll be starting a new game shortly, and will file a bug report if I can capture saves before and after the first occurrence.

Post Reply

Return to “Releases”