Container prototype: Don't show contents in tooltip option

Place to ask discuss and request the modding support of Factorio. Don't request mods here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Raiguard
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:29 pm
Contact:

Container prototype: Don't show contents in tooltip option

Post by Raiguard » Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:31 am

I would like to request a prototype option on containers that allows one to prevent the game tooltips from showing that container's inventory contents. The reason is simple: I have a modded chest that contains a stack of every item in the game, and the tooltip is horrifying:
2019-08-10 22_30_32-D__Caleb_Programs_Rainmeter_Skins_ModernGadgets_Settings_Sidebars_Control_2_Sb2C.png
2019-08-10 22_30_32-D__Caleb_Programs_Rainmeter_Skins_ModernGadgets_Settings_Sidebars_Control_2_Sb2C.png (294.33 KiB) Viewed 105 times
Thanks!
Don't forget, you're here forever.

User avatar
Oktokolo
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 626
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 5:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Container prototype: Don't show contents in tooltip option

Post by Oktokolo » Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:04 am

If the tooltip display is broken for chests containing hundreds of different items, that should be fixed somehow.
Truncating the list in the tooltip and adding three dots to indicate that not all items are shown might be enough.

slippycheeze
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Container prototype: Don't show contents in tooltip option

Post by slippycheeze » Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:15 pm

For what it is worth, I think this is actually a generic problem. I have a logistic network in the "mall" where I build the zen special -- one with everything -- in order to make my own life convenient for hand-managed construction and stuff. When I mouse over something that is part of the logistic network, like the requester chest I use for one-shot stuff, I get a lovely view of all the content of the network.

It looks exactly like that, right down to hitting the bottom of the screen. The pile of "unsorted storage chests" that hold the content in whatever sequence the robots decided to throw it in there are even worse, because very few things have more than one stack. That means most chests have a tooltip with a full requester worth of different items, and then they go into the whole logistic network...

So while it is definitely made visible with a modded chest, it is also something that is visible in the standard, vanilla game.

User avatar
Raiguard
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Container prototype: Don't show contents in tooltip option

Post by Raiguard » Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:28 pm

I assume that when the main GUI is redesigned (I think that's supposed to happen in the post-stable 0.17 feature updates), they'll fix this issue. The tooltips are also slated to be redesigned, as per the FFF gui progress tables.

Maybe they'll do something about this then.
Don't forget, you're here forever.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 9678
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Container prototype: Don't show contents in tooltip option

Post by Rseding91 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 3:01 am

The tooltip content not fitting on screen is a generic "thing" which has no clear solution and so has been mostly ignored.

I could easily add a property to do what this request asks for but I'm wondering - why do you have this entity in the game as something a player can even see/select if you don't want them to see this?
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
Raiguard
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Container prototype: Don't show contents in tooltip option

Post by Raiguard » Wed Aug 14, 2019 4:31 am

The chest cannot be opened or fast-transferred to or from (operable = false) because the game lags hard when you open an extremely large inventory. However, the chest can be interacted with by inserters/loaders/bots and can be mined normally.
Don't forget, you're here forever.

Post Reply

Return to “Modding interface requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users