[2.0.20] Fuel wildcard does not read the type of fuel currently inside the Locomotive engine

Bugs that are actually features.
Ka-Oz
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2024 8:47 am
Contact:

[2.0.20] Fuel wildcard does not read the type of fuel currently inside the Locomotive engine

Post by Ka-Oz »

Having no fuel in the 3 fuel storages of the locomotive while the engine is still processing the last fuel Cell makes the interrupt reading the fuel status return nothing.

It make the train go refuel when in reality, its still as 50 % of the full autonomy when using Nuclear Cells as fuel, because of the 1 stack size, since you have to trigger the interrupt when there is still one Nuclear cell in storage plus the one already in the engine .

Edit :
After more thought, its not a realy wildcard issue but more an interrupt issue, because if I use the correct Fuel type in the interrupt condition instead of the wildcard the result is identical

ImageImage
robot256
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 946
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 1:52 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.20] Fuel wildcard does not read the type of fuel currently inside the Locomotive engine

Post by robot256 »

This is mentioned at the end of this suggestion post since it seems to be functioning as designed, but as noted, the existing fuel wildcard is simply not useful. It has come up in several other bug reports as well that would be resolved if the fuel item wildcard were removed and replaced with a "fuel+currectly burning energy remaining" value:

121996
119017
118126
117239
116706

The fuel item wildcard matches the fuel item that is below the threshold. But there is literally no purpose to have a wildcard match with a single constant because every fuel has a different energy density. Even if you have different trains with different fuel types that are supposed to go to different refueling stations, you can't use the wildcard to make a generic interrupt because each group needs a different threshold constant. So you might as well have separate interrupts that check each fuel directly--you wouldn't want to use the wildcard in multiple interrupts because then you wouldn't know which fuel that constant corresponds to.
User avatar
boskid
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3078
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.20] Fuel wildcard does not read the type of fuel currently inside the Locomotive engine

Post by boskid »

All comparisons like that are doing a comparison of values of specific signals while you expected this to be a comparison of type in one line and comparison of value in second line which is not supported and as such not a bug. Effectively it is the same type of confusion as in 121638.
Ka-Oz
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2024 8:47 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.20] Fuel wildcard does not read the type of fuel currently inside the Locomotive engine

Post by Ka-Oz »

boskid wrote: Tue Nov 19, 2024 4:03 pm you expected this to be a comparison of type in one line and comparison of value in second line which is not supported and as such not a bug.
the 2 first brackets of the condition in the screenshot work fine, trains go refuel when using other types of fuel. The issue is we cant identify the fuel type within an interrupt when there is none in the fuel storage of the locomotive. When using nuclear fuel it force us to send the train to refuel when there is still one cell in the storage, meaning he is still at 50% of his fuel capacity (1 in storage + 1 in engine)
the result is : using interrupts and nuclear fuel is quite inefficient

An easy solution would be to make the interrupt read the fuel type inside the engine aswell, allowing us to then use 0 as a condition
Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”