yes but the current graphics are all ready at scale 1. so without re rendering them all the normals would be blown up in size to match the current entity sizes
low quality graphics ..
Moderator: pyanodon
-
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 1463
- Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:39 am
- Contact:
Re: low quality graphics ..
Re: low quality graphics ..
Ah. So they're already low-res graphics, and it's the hi-res graphics that don't exist?kingarthur wrote: βMon Jun 14, 2021 7:08 amyes but the current graphics are all ready at scale 1. so without re rendering them all the normals would be blown up in size to match the current entity sizes
- eradicator
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 5211
- Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
- Contact:
Re: low quality graphics ..
Also perhaps not exactly what was asked for, I just remembered the No Animations mod which claims to reduce VRAM usage significantly.
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
Re: low quality graphics ..
I talked with kingarthur and he's going to implement frame_sequence as a means to maintain animations but with reduced frame count. Apparently py animations have an absurd number of frames.eradicator wrote: βThu Jun 17, 2021 9:48 pmAlso perhaps not exactly what was asked for, I just remembered the No Animations mod which claims to reduce VRAM usage significantly.
- eradicator
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 5211
- Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
- Contact:
Re: low quality graphics ..
Sounds like a nice compromise if it works (what with frame_sequence being itself limited to 255 frames = 4.25 seconds at 60fps). Does that imply he's also going to add some kind of mod option to allow user control over how strong frame count is reduced? Hm...looking at the wiki page it sounds like it should even be possible to make "No Animations" style generic mod that uses frame_sequence to procedurally reduce animations.kirazy wrote: βThu Jun 17, 2021 10:20 pmI talked with kingarthur and he's going to implement frame_sequence as a means to maintain animations but with reduced frame count. Apparently py animations have an absurd number of frames.eradicator wrote: βThu Jun 17, 2021 9:48 pmAlso perhaps not exactly what was asked for, I just remembered the No Animations mod which claims to reduce VRAM usage significantly.
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
- eradicator
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 5211
- Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
- Contact:
Re: low quality graphics ..
I hacked together a quick proof-of-concept dynamic sequence reducer. I don't have a map to test, so someone else will have to do that. If it works well enough I might release it to the portal.
Edit: Reduction ratio is a mod setting. Reduction of very short animations is a bit stuttery because of the simplistic poc algorithm, can probably be improved later.
Edit: Oops, forgot to add library dependency.
Edit2: There's now a proper polished mod portal release: Eradicator's VRAM Saver
PRIVATE USE ONLY. DO NOT REDISTRIBUTE.
Edit: Reduction ratio is a mod setting. Reduction of very short animations is a bit stuttery because of the simplistic poc algorithm, can probably be improved later.
Edit: Oops, forgot to add library dependency.
Edit2: There's now a proper polished mod portal release: Eradicator's VRAM Saver
PRIVATE USE ONLY. DO NOT REDISTRIBUTE.
Last edited by eradicator on Sun Jun 20, 2021 9:34 pm, edited 3 times in total.
-
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 1463
- Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:39 am
- Contact:
Re: low quality graphics ..
you mean something like this? plan is that by default itll cut the number in half and if you max it out at 255 itll just cut the animations completely. itll only work on normal mode though as hr version will stay the same as now.eradicator wrote: βThu Jun 17, 2021 11:50 pm Does that imply he's also going to add some kind of mod option to allow user control over how strong frame count is reduced?
- Attachments
-
- frame skip.png (4.37 KiB) Viewed 5433 times
- eradicator
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 5211
- Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
- Contact:
Re: low quality graphics ..
Heh, that's exactly how my setting works in the demo mod I posted above (lulz, 400+ downloads over night o_O). After some thought I think a simple 0-100% setting would be more intuitive to use though.kingarthur wrote: βFri Jun 18, 2021 2:24 am you mean something like this? plan is that by default itll cut the number in half and if you max it out at 255 itll just cut the animations completely.
I had the impression that the whole point is that there *is* only one version? Or are you making a copy for "normal" just to adjust the frames?kingarthur wrote: βFri Jun 18, 2021 2:24 am itll only work on normal mode though as hr version will stay the same as now.
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
- eradicator
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 5211
- Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
- Contact:
Re: low quality graphics ..
So, after wasting way too much time on polishing the thing up and reducing the frame stutter I decided to officially publish it anyway so that other modpacks can benefit too.
I present you: Eradicator's VRAM Saver (let's see how long it takes this time to break 400 downloads...).
I present you: Eradicator's VRAM Saver (let's see how long it takes this time to break 400 downloads...).
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
-
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 1463
- Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:39 am
- Contact:
Re: low quality graphics ..
there is currently only a normal version in the files. the code i was working on makes a copy and adds it as the high res version and then edits the normal res version to remove frames as i assume anyone using the hr version probably doesn't care about vram issues and cant break anything by messing with it.eradicator wrote: βFri Jun 18, 2021 1:28 pm
I had the impression that the whole point is that there *is* only one version? Or are you making a copy for "normal" just to adjust the frames?
- eradicator
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 5211
- Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
- Contact:
Re: low quality graphics ..
I see. My procedural approach has two reduction settings, one for "normal" and one for "hr_version" (let the user decide what they need), and is completely agnostic to where the animations really come from. It just applies the sequence downsampling to anything it "finds". Mostly because it's much much simplier than writing a proper parser for recursive animation layers and having to care where those even are in each kind of prototype. Ofc your situation is different if you only need to deal with definitions that you wrote yourself :D.kingarthur wrote: βSat Jun 19, 2021 1:01 amthere is currently only a normal version in the files. the code i was working on makes a copy and adds it as the high res version and then edits the normal res version to remove frameseradicator wrote: βFri Jun 18, 2021 1:28 pm
I had the impression that the whole point is that there *is* only one version? Or are you making a copy for "normal" just to adjust the frames?
I don't know if I'm alone, but I do like the crispyness of HR tiles, belts, icons, character animations etc. So I'm using HR even though I only have 2gigs of VRAM. I think I might prefer reduced HR animations over full-animation-but-everything-lq. (Would need some actual playtesting.)kingarthur wrote: βSat Jun 19, 2021 1:01 am as i assume anyone using the hr version probably doesn't care about vram issues and cant break anything by messing with it.
___
Also one thing I noticed is that many/most(?) py building animations don't scale with speed bonus (match_animation_speed_to_activity), is that on purpose? Because I experimented
[Edit: On minimal frame count it does look better still, but it's only on medium frame count that is becomes unnoticible.]
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
Re: low quality graphics ..
the animations dont scale at purpose or on mk04 level with modules it would be too fast.
pY Coal processing mod
Discord: Pyanodon #5791
Discord: Pyanodon #5791
- BlueTemplar
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 3220
- Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
- Contact:
Re: low quality graphics ..
Yeah, also watch out for symptoms like these spikes in "GPU load" : This helped making zooming much more smoother for me in 0.16 AB (despite only "10% GPU load"), might or might not apply here : Also, what Zanthra said.
Considering your CPU : "6 AMD PHENOM II 1050", and therefore DDR3 RAM, it might not be the graphic card (especially a 8 Go one) that is the bottleneck. (32 Go of RAM might not help that much if the RAM is slow ?)
----
Right, oh, wait, Factorio actually has THREE levels of graphics, with IIRC "low-res" being 1 pixel for 4 of normal too..?kirazy wrote: βMon Jun 14, 2021 4:14 pmAh. So they're already low-res graphics, and it's the hi-res graphics that don't exist?kingarthur wrote: βMon Jun 14, 2021 7:08 amyes but the current graphics are all ready at scale 1. so without re rendering them all the normals would be blown up in size to match the current entity sizes
... or was "low-res" actually deprecated with 0.17 ?
Also I remember mipmaps being added after 0.17.0, or was it just for icons & belt icons ?
----
Oh, is this going to help with the slowdown around biosamples "ore" ?kirazy wrote: βThu Jun 17, 2021 10:20 pmI talked with kingarthur and he's going to implement frame_sequence as a means to maintain animations but with reduced frame count. Apparently py animations have an absurd number of frames.eradicator wrote: βThu Jun 17, 2021 9:48 pmAlso perhaps not exactly what was asked for, I just remembered the No Animations mod which claims to reduce VRAM usage significantly.
Thank youuuu !eradicator wrote: βSat Jun 19, 2021 12:56 am So, after wasting way too much time on polishing the thing up and reducing the frame stutter I decided to officially publish it anyway so that other modpacks can benefit too.
I present you: Eradicator's VRAM Saver (let's see how long it takes this time to break 400 downloads...).
BobDiggity (mod-scenario-pack)
Re: low quality graphics ..
Mipmaps are for icons, and per https://wiki.factorio.com/Prototype/Animation, doesn't look like low_res is a thing.BlueTemplar wrote: βSat Jun 26, 2021 11:30 amRight, oh, wait, Factorio actually has THREE levels of graphics, with IIRC "low-res" being 1 pixel for 4 of normal too..?
... or was "low-res" actually deprecated with 0.17 ?
Also I remember mipmaps being added after 0.17.0, or was it just for icons & belt icons ?
You could easily fake it, though, by making a smaller image and then setting scale = 2 and have that be "normal", and your hi-res be your standard normal...
- eradicator
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 5211
- Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
- Contact:
Re: low quality graphics ..
Np. Feel free to run around the internet and advertise ;).
Mipmaps are supported on lots of stuff, including Animation which you just linked. But mipmaps are a memory-for-speed trade. They consume *more* memory, not less.kirazy wrote: βSun Jun 27, 2021 12:38 amMipmaps are for icons, and per https://wiki.factorio.com/Prototype/Animation, doesn't look like low_res is a thing.BlueTemplar wrote: βSat Jun 26, 2021 11:30 am Also I remember mipmaps being added after 0.17.0, or was it just for icons & belt icons ?
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
Re: low quality graphics ..
eradicator wrote: βSun Jun 27, 2021 11:14 pm Mipmaps are supported on lots of stuff, including Animation which you just linked. But mipmaps are a memory-for-speed trade. They consume *more* memory, not less.
Code: Select all
mipmap_count
Type: uint8
Default: 0
Only loaded if this is an icon (has flag "group=icon" or "group=gui").
Re: low quality graphics ..
kirazy wrote: βTue Jun 29, 2021 4:06 ameradicator wrote: βSun Jun 27, 2021 11:14 pm Mipmaps are supported on lots of stuff, including Animation which you just linked. But mipmaps are a memory-for-speed trade. They consume *more* memory, not less.Code: Select all
mipmap_count Type: uint8 Default: 0 Only loaded if this is an icon (has flag "group=icon" or "group=gui").
I think that option is to prevent mipmaps generation for icons and GUI elements that are drawn at specific scale ratios. Basically mipmaps are always generated in full for non-icons, and if the mipmap_count is specified, a specific number can be generated for icons if they are expected to be drawn at half scale or quarter scale etc.
Basically the default for icons is 0, thus 0 levels of mipmap.
- eradicator
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 5211
- Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
- Contact:
Re: low quality graphics ..
Yea, but is there a mechanism that prevents setting that flag on an entity (etc.) animations? After scrolling through the whole prototype overview I haven't seen a single instance where a Prototype/Animation is used as an icon. Only Prototype/Sprite and IconSpecification seem to be used as icons, and the latter has icon_mipmaps not mipmap_count. So I'm a bit puzzled what the intention is there.kirazy wrote: βTue Jun 29, 2021 4:06 ameradicator wrote: βSun Jun 27, 2021 11:14 pm Mipmaps are supported on lots of stuff, including Animation which you just linked. But mipmaps are a memory-for-speed trade. They consume *more* memory, not less.Code: Select all
mipmap_count Type: uint8 Default: 0 Only loaded if this is an icon (has flag "group=icon" or "group=gui").
Anyway, the main thing I wanted to say: mipmaps are not meant to reduce VRAM usage.
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
Re: low quality graphics ..
Oh, I agree mipmaps don't save memory. I was just contesting the idea they can be used for more than just icons. I don't quite buy Zanthra's response, unless we're talking about different things. When discussing mipmaps I don't really mean the auto-generated mipmaps the game creates, I mean the manually created mipmaps that are added in the files at specific scaling steps. I don't think there's a way to do that for anything but icons.eradicator wrote: βTue Jun 29, 2021 2:21 pmYea, but is there a mechanism that prevents setting that flag on an entity (etc.) animations? After scrolling through the whole prototype overview I haven't seen a single instance where a Prototype/Animation is used as an icon. Only Prototype/Sprite and IconSpecification seem to be used as icons, and the latter has icon_mipmaps not mipmap_count. So I'm a bit puzzled what the intention is there.
Anyway, the main thing I wanted to say: mipmaps are not meant to reduce VRAM usage.
- eradicator
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 5211
- Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
- Contact:
Re: low quality graphics ..
And I'm not contesting that mipmaps are *intended* to be used for icons. Just saying that the docs suggests that it's a simple flag check and thus I'd assume they can be used on non-intended things too.
Neither do I. Unless icon_mipmaps and sprite/animation mipmap_count are completely different implementations.
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
Mod support languages: ζ₯ζ¬θͺ, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.