[MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Topics and discussion about specific mods
User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2604
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by eradicator » Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:31 am

badtouchatr wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 11:04 pm
Ok, just started on a new game with Xander mod. I also have Alien Biomes mod, and when I start the game, there are no terrain details (except cliffs).
Tested with Xander 2.1.1 and Alien Biomes 0.3.10, and for unknown reasons world gen consists entirely of gravel indeed. If you press "restart" a lot you'll eventually get a map with only snow instead :p. Can be fixed by simply disallowing gravel from generating at all (data-final-fixes):

Code: Select all

if (mods['xander-mod'] == '2.1.1') and (mods['alien-biomes']) then
  data.raw.tile.gravel.autoplace = nil
  end
I'm not sure if it's supposed to generate in the first place, i thought it was landfill only.

I've added it to my hotfix mod. @Therax: Feel free to add it to your own hotfix, mine isn't really up to date.
er-xander-mod-hotfix_0.0.5.zip
(2.19 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Author of: Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Hotkey 2.0
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English

badtouchatr
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 8:00 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by badtouchatr » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:55 pm

eradicator wrote:
Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:31 am

I've added it to my hotfix mod. @Therax: Feel free to add it to your own hotfix, mine isn't really up to date.
Thank you so much for this. It did the job! Now I have my "dead planet" with trees!!

badtouchatr
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 8:00 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by badtouchatr » Fri Nov 16, 2018 1:12 am

OMGosh, I think I give up now. The mod has beaten me. I'm at 166 hours, and just got past blue science (don't even have red belts being made yet), and was trying to make the move to robots.

Good lord, there are dozens of things needed for this, PLUS purple science to make some of the items. With all the fires I've been having to put out just to keep my current factory going, and having to manually transfer materials because even my spaghetti was getting too compact to make any more of it feasible, it's just too much. Yes, I have trains also, but haven't been able to get a hold on setting up routes to transfer all the many things necessary (have had to build things at opposite ends of the factory -- guess I didn't plan my expansion that well).

Was hoping robots would help with a lot of the manual moving around of things, but oh man, it's gonna be another 200 hours till I get there, it seems. Best to take a break from it for now at least. Don't know how you guys made it.

I do thank you guys (Therax and eradicator) for helping me so much getting started, and I've had quite a bit of fun (up till now), but really think I need to play something else for a while to clear my mind. Maybe then I won't feel so overwhelmed when I come back to it.

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2604
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by eradicator » Fri Nov 16, 2018 12:59 pm

badtouchatr wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 1:12 am
Don't know how you guys made it.
Ample space between the sphagetthi. And when it still gets too dense you pull some of the noodles outside of the current factory and plug them into more sphagetthi a few hundred tiles away. Until it gets too dense again. Rinse and repeat. Also our factory was split into one somewhat streamlined large "mass production" complex for ye know, plates, gears, gasses, belts, inserters. And a chaotic noodle complex for the other stuff like science bottles, production machines, etc.

The barrier to bots is as big as it looks like though. ;)
Author of: Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Hotkey 2.0
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English

User avatar
Therax
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 317
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 6:28 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by Therax » Fri Nov 23, 2018 12:50 am

I’m still ramping up to purple science. Those tier 2 pumps take a lot of supporting components. I’m gradually moving metals production into the train network, with nickel, steel, zinc, and aluminum out there so far. Still need to put tungsten on the train network and ramp up volume production of high alloy steel. Next step is I think to set up a new electronics factory. The two AM1s I set up ages ago for electromechanical circuits have served me well but just can’t keep up with my demand for circuit wire, lamps, furnaces, etc. Robots are a long way away, but my experience making a belts only Angel’s Petrochemical factory are serving me well.

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2604
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by eradicator » Fri Nov 23, 2018 12:49 pm

@Therax:
Did you start on 2.x? I haven't dared migrating from 1.5.x yet (and haven't played in a really long time).
Author of: Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Hotkey 2.0
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English

Ragu
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:40 am

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by Ragu » Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:55 am

big thanks for this mod, i have some problems

1)is it intended that for robot frame need T3 brushless motor? (it so far in tech and need violet science)
2)productivity modules work only with basic mod recipes
3)oxygen - very small production speed and very high demand

User avatar
Therax
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 317
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 6:28 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by Therax » Sat Nov 24, 2018 8:39 pm

Ragu wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:55 am
big thanks for this mod, i have some problems

1)is it intended that for robot frame need T3 brushless motor? (it so far in tech and need violet science)
2)productivity modules work only with basic mod recipes
3)oxygen - very small production speed and very high demand
1) Yes, AFAIK. Compact flying drones capable of carrying heavy loads are high tech.
2) Sounds like something that could use adjustment.
3) In my private branch of the mod, I decreased crafting time for cryogenic separation of air -> O2 & N2 by a factor of 2.5, because I agree that the number of distillation towers you need is insane.

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2604
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by eradicator » Sat Nov 24, 2018 8:51 pm

Therax wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 8:39 pm
Ragu wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:55 am
1)is it intended that for robot frame need T3 brushless motor? (it so far in tech and need violet science)
1) Yes, AFAIK. Compact flying drones capable of carrying heavy loads are high tech.
I do remember a bug where T2/T3 were interchanged. But that should have been fixed in recent versions?
Author of: Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Hotkey 2.0
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English

aklesey1
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 3:45 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by aklesey1 » Mon Nov 26, 2018 12:51 pm

Can someone tell me where to use VLSI wafer? And carbon tetrafluoride too

User avatar
Therax
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 317
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 6:28 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by Therax » Mon Nov 26, 2018 9:28 pm

eradicator wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 8:51 pm
I do remember a bug where T2/T3 were interchanged. But that should have been fixed in recent versions?
I think you're remembering the steam turbines, where the T2 steam engine (medium-temp steam turbine) was using the T3 recipe and vice versa.

User avatar
Therax
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 317
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 6:28 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by Therax » Mon Nov 26, 2018 9:28 pm

aklesey1 wrote:
Mon Nov 26, 2018 12:51 pm
Can someone tell me where to use VLSI wafer? And carbon tetrafluoride too
VLSI wafer is not used for anything right now, but it will be used for high-tier circuits (digital control system and the like).

khadgarion
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 3:34 am

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by khadgarion » Wed Nov 28, 2018 1:52 am

badtouchatr wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 1:12 am
OMGosh, I think I give up now. The mod has beaten me. I'm at 166 hours, and just got past blue science (don't even have red belts being made yet), and was trying to make the move to robots.

Good lord, there are dozens of things needed for this, PLUS purple science to make some of the items. With all the fires I've been having to put out just to keep my current factory going, and having to manually transfer materials because even my spaghetti was getting too compact to make any more of it feasible, it's just too much. Yes, I have trains also, but haven't been able to get a hold on setting up routes to transfer all the many things necessary (have had to build things at opposite ends of the factory -- guess I didn't plan my expansion that well).

Was hoping robots would help with a lot of the manual moving around of things, but oh man, it's gonna be another 200 hours till I get there, it seems. Best to take a break from it for now at least. Don't know how you guys made it.

I do thank you guys (Therax and eradicator) for helping me so much getting started, and I've had quite a bit of fun (up till now), but really think I need to play something else for a while to clear my mind. Maybe then I won't feel so overwhelmed when I come back to it.
I am not quite to robots yet, I'm at 6 days 16 hours of playtime on this game. I am at the point where my "starter" production just can't keep up. Blue science research is taking forever because of the circuit boards required; Specifically Tungsten production is slowing me down. I am currently working on ramping that up; Flotation surfactant production will be the first step there; Hydrogen was a chokepoint but the Alkali electrolysis helped with that.

If it's not one thing, its the other ;)

Ragu
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:40 am

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by Ragu » Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:30 am

Therax wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 8:39 pm

1) Yes, AFAIK. Compact flying drones capable of carrying heavy loads are high tech.
but there is high-performance flying robot frame - it needs same motors but all other is next tier
also it's hard to construct big base without construction robot.
i think it will be better that for standard flying robot frame will need induction motor, not brushless

some more oddness -
1)semiconductor power supply (T2) need titanium alloy, when high-tension converter (T3) need duralumin casting. but titan is higher tech - so i think need switch ingredients
2)modular armot need only red and green science (and some equipment also), power armor (Mk1) and other equip need blue science, but you can't use it because you need portable solar panel and this tech need violet science pack (i think it will be good only 3 packs for this tech)

aklesey1
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 3:45 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by aklesey1 » Fri Nov 30, 2018 4:34 am

Xander mod version 2.1.1 - it seems that 20% of the text is just not translated to english and many of the names are taken from code in quotes
in principle, it isn't difficult to go and put down the localization names, just maybe some of the items and recipes do not have a mark in the localization file?

khadgarion
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 3:34 am

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by khadgarion » Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:10 am

Ragu wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:30 am
Therax wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 8:39 pm

1) Yes, AFAIK. Compact flying drones capable of carrying heavy loads are high tech.
but there is high-performance flying robot frame - it needs same motors but all other is next tier
also it's hard to construct big base without construction robot.
i think it will be better that for standard flying robot frame will need induction motor, not brushless
I agree. Having regular construction robots need red - green - blue science to research, but then requiring ingredients which need purple science to research is kind of wierd. I'm at the point where I *should* be able to start making robots, but just figured out that I need purple science to do so. I think induction motors are a more appropriate entry point to construction robots. All the other components required for flying robot frames are tier 2 components.

Edit:
Also, the first roboport requires induction motors (tier 2) not brushless (tier 3) which makes me think this was an error.
I finally found the recipe for the flying robot frame and edited it to require the correct (IMHO) motor.
It's in prototypes -> recipes -> parts -> assembly.lua
I'd make a hotfix for it, but I have no idea how to do so.

User avatar
morcup
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 2:07 am

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by morcup » Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:03 pm

I'm probably missing something obvious, but I can't figure out how to pump natural gas. It won't work for me with pumpjacks.

khadgarion
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 3:34 am

Re: [MOD 0.16] Xander Mod v2.1.1

Post by khadgarion » Wed Dec 12, 2018 4:11 am

I made a mod fix that changes some of the recipes to be more consistent:

https://mods.factorio.com/mod/KhadsXanderFixes

I will try to fix things as I find them.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”