[0.14+] Infinizoom - zoom without limits

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Post Reply
aaargha
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:35 am
Contact:

[0.14+] Infinizoom - zoom without limits

Post by aaargha »

Info Important notice
Using the scroll wheel is not supported in regular Factorio. As a workaround use the AutoHotkey script below while playing. It also presses the default zoom in/out keys for this mod when you use the scroll wheel. As an added feature scrolling in any list in-game will also change the zoom ;) (blueprint books work fine though, don't worry)
scrollzoom.ahk
Changelog
If anyone tries this in multiplayer and gets this to work please leave a message and let me know. Also, this mod should work for earlier versions of Factorio, if anyone tries if for an earlier version (just change info.json) please leave a message and I'll make an upload for that version as well.

Feedback/thoughts/bug reports welcome (just not too many of the last one)
Last edited by aaargha on Wed Jan 22, 2020 7:18 pm, edited 4 times in total.

abordoli
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: [0.14+] Infinizoom - zoom without limits

Post by abordoli »

I tired a similar mod that had adverse affects to zooming out too much, but I did like getting really close in for taking snapshots. Does your mod suffer from CPU-lock when zooming out too much or does it alias over it?
Regards,
~B

aaargha
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:35 am
Contact:

Re: [0.14+] Infinizoom - zoom without limits

Post by aaargha »

abordoli wrote:I tired a similar mod that had adverse affects to zooming out too much, but I did like getting really close in for taking snapshots. Does your mod suffer from CPU-lock when zooming out too much or does it alias over it?
Regards,
~B
I'd guess that it suffers from the same performance problems that other zoom mods do. It basically runs the mod equivalent of the '/c game.player.zoom = X' command and lets the game do the rest. Zooming out a lot will drain performance as the game has to render more.

jagr_200
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:41 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14+] Infinizoom - zoom without limits

Post by jagr_200 »

So I am trying to use this mod. I can't figure it out. What am I supposed to do with the code? I copied it all and put it into the command line by pressing ~ and nothing happens. I'm sure I'm confused. Thanks.

slippycheeze
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 567
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14+] Infinizoom - zoom without limits

Post by slippycheeze »

jagr_200 wrote:
Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:41 am
So I am trying to use this mod. I can't figure it out. What am I supposed to do with the code? I copied it all and put it into the command line by pressing ~ and nothing happens. I'm sure I'm confused. Thanks.
I'd strongly suggest that if you hit that problem, you are gonna keep having pain and suffering from this, but...

You run the AHK code with AutoHotKey. It remaps some input from the normal behaviour to custom input controls in the mod, which then overrides the zoom features that core has. The mod itself needs the controls matching the AHK code.

Early Wynn
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2017 5:30 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14+] Infinizoom - zoom without limits

Post by Early Wynn »

This is Confusing.... So you need to download Autohotkey(AHK), use your Code in AHK and activate your Mod ingame to get this work?

aaargha
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:35 am
Contact:

Re: [0.14+] Infinizoom - zoom without limits

Post by aaargha »

While you don't need to use AutoHotkey -or any other third party key rebinding software- it is the only way to use the scroll wheel as an input to trigger custom events, something this mod uses to change the zoom level. If you're fine using other keys to zoom, they hotkeys used by the mod are configurable on the settings screen.

DJQuad
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2020 2:41 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14+] Infinizoom - zoom without limits

Post by DJQuad »

I'm already using AHK to help with among other things, zooming -

Code: Select all

PgUp::
Send {WheelUp}
Return

PgDn::
Send {WheelDown}
Return
Do I need to change this in order for Infinizoom to work? I can't zoom out any further than before.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users