[MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.2

Topics and discussion about specific mods
MrDoomah
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 1:11 pm
Contact:

[MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.2

Post by MrDoomah »

Type: Mod
Name: Belt hoppers
Description: Adds hoppers that drop items on belts.
License: Image
Version: 1.0.2
Release: 2016-04-21
Tested-With-Factorio-Version: 0.12.30
Category: SimpleExtension, Gameplay
Tags: Belt, hopper
Download-Url:
Belt-hoppers_1.0.2.zip
(33.26 KiB) Downloaded 343 times
Long description
Version history
Last edited by MrDoomah on Thu May 19, 2016 9:53 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
Ralord89
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 6:06 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.0

Post by Ralord89 »

Fantastic! This'll replace the Slipstream mod for me. Great work!

kingoftheinternet
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 12:25 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.0

Post by kingoftheinternet »

Nice! This seems to work fine if I start a new game and research logistics, but the recipes don't show up in an existing game where I had logistics researched, even if I call game.player.force.reset_technologies() and game.player.force.reset_recipes().

User avatar
MiniMe943
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 5:24 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.0

Post by MiniMe943 »

Oh, this looks interesting, but I have a few questions.

Are you planning on adding logistics versions?

How do you fill them? Do you just plop down an inserter like normal?

What's the point of this? Throughput? What kind of setups does this allow?

GameCharmer
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 2:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.0

Post by GameCharmer »

MiniMe943 wrote:What's the point of this? Throughput? What kind of setups does this allow?
It makes inserter stack-size bonuses work with belts in a much smaller area. Instead of a half-dozen inserters not gaining a bonus dropping 1 item at a time onto a belt, have 1 inserter pump items into the hopper, and the hopper lay them out in both lanes as fast as it can. :D

MrDoomah
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.0

Post by MrDoomah »

MiniMe943 wrote:Oh, this looks interesting, but I have a few questions.

Are you planning on adding logistics versions?

How do you fill them? Do you just plop down an inserter like normal?

What's the point of this? Throughput? What kind of setups does this allow?
You can only fill them with inserters. It is a solution to make the inserter stack size bonus with belts. (At least for inserters putting items on a belt, not for items picking up). I don't think logistic versions are needed as you can just put an inserter between a logic chest and the hopper. If you want to apply logic to the hopper you can use the smart one, since it's wire connectable.

You can place the hopper at the start of a belt or inline and it will only drop items if there is space on the belt.

Lurkily
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 1:55 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.0

Post by Lurkily »

How do these do, performance-wise, in comparison to slipstream chests or interface chests?

MrDoomah
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.0

Post by MrDoomah »

They probably are more efficient.

1) They don't pick up items from belt, only put items on the belt. This means they don't have to check the belt for items.
2) This also allows the code to be skipped when empty.
3) It doesn't use power, so no check on that.

That being said, I don't know if my code is more efficient than theirs.

Also, looking at their code, it runs every 6th or 10th tick. In this mod the basic, fast, express and smart hopper run every 9th, 5th, 3rd and 1 tick respectively. (These are experimental values that drop items as often as possible without running more than necessary.)

So it probably is more efficient but I am not sure.

johnnyBgoode
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 7:12 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.0

Post by johnnyBgoode »

Just tried this. Can't find the recipe or the technology needed to make it show up.

Shekki
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 1:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.0

Post by Shekki »

johnnyBgoode wrote:Just tried this. Can't find the recipe or the technology needed to make it show up.
same

MrDoomah
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.0

Post by MrDoomah »

They are part of the logistics technologies. I've uploaded an updated version that properly loads the recipes in an existing save.

Shekki
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 1:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.0

Post by Shekki »

MrDoomah wrote:They are part of the logistics technologies. I've uploaded an updated version that properly loads the recipes in an existing save.
So many forgets add load on an existing saves. Anyway, thank you so much!

Edit: I still don't see smart one, 140 items per second.. I use bob's mods and it has faster belts than express, so I need that =D

Edit2: How much space there is on each version? One slot? More would be maybe waste, I don't want fill them so full, one slot is enough.
Last edited by Shekki on Wed May 04, 2016 5:43 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Lurkily
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 1:55 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.1

Post by Lurkily »

I'm liking these, so far. They do one thing, excellently, without a lot of fancy dongles and wingwangs that the author likes, and released with it. One thing I wanted to mention. One of the developer's posts about possible plans for the future mentioned a 'heavy loader' which would use the loader bonus by having the loader grab from a chest, then over the belt, unload its entire capacity rapid-fire. The gif demonstrated the loader practically pouring a compressed line of five-ish iron plates onto a belt.

This might more directly accomplish your goal of applying loading capacity bonuses to conveyor systems - with the added bonus that it preserves some of the logistics that loaders require - that is, loading both sides of the belt in such a fasion that belt throughput can be fully compressed.

EDIT: I should say, it preserves some of the fun requirements of having to design complex systems. To be clear.

MrDoomah
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.0

Post by MrDoomah »

Shekki wrote:
MrDoomah wrote:They are part of the logistics technologies. I've uploaded an updated version that properly loads the recipes in an existing save.
So many forgets add load on an existing saves. Anyway, thank you so much!

Edit: I still don't see smart one, 140 items per second.. I use bob's mods and it has faster belts than express, so I need that =D

Edit2: How much space there is on each version? One slot? More would be maybe waste, I don't want fill them so full, one slot is enough.
Each hopper has only 1 slot.

The smart hopper drops 120 items/sec, not 140 and is tied to the fastest belt. So find the research that unlocks that ( logistics 5 from the top if my head) and check if you've already researched that. If you did and smart hoppers didn't unlock, let me know.

Shekki
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 1:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.1

Post by Shekki »

All fine now, thanks. I just needed go deeper on the game >_>. These saves a lot of trouble, normally I use train cargo wagon, request chest and few fastest inserters to load it on belts that takes some space. I still need do that setup when unloading belt though.

GameCharmer
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 2:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.1

Post by GameCharmer »

Still working great on 0.12.33. This mod has drastically changed the way I build out production lines. :D

User avatar
Ralord89
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 6:06 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.0

Post by Ralord89 »

Shekki wrote:
johnnyBgoode wrote:Just tried this. Can't find the recipe or the technology needed to make it show up.
same
They are unlocked VIA the 'Logistics' techs

Lurkily
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 1:55 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.1

Post by Lurkily »

Just as an FYI, per the changes coming to the circuit network, any chest will be connectable to the circuit network, and being just a smart steel chest, the smart chest is going away in 13.x. It's listed in the changes stated here: https://www.factorio.com/blog/post/fff-138

Just mentioning it because it may give you a head start in preparing for 13.x compatibility.

To paraphrase,
TLDR version of all the circuit network changes implemented and coming to 0.13

Power switch, which can turn electricity on or off automatically based on circuit condition.
You can turn off pumps, offshore pumps, insertes, belts, lamps and power switches directly using a logistic condition.
The lamp can change it's color based on circuit network signals.
Roboport is connectable to the circuit network. It sends the logistic network contents.
Accumulator is connectable to the circuit network. It sends it's charge level as a percentage.
Transport Belt is connectable to the circuit network. It can be turned on or off and it can send it's contents to the circuit network.
Requester chest's requested items can be set automatically from the circuit network.
Inserters can now send the item held in hand to the circuit network. Smart inserter can have it's filters set automatically from the circuit network.
Connected Red/Green wires are highlighted when hovering over a combinator or entity connected to the circuit network.
Combinators show some information in alt mode, including input and output arrows.
More virtual signals.
The constant combinator has an on/off switch.
New combinator graphics and graphical improvements.
Constant combinator can be rotated.
All types of inserters can be controlled by the circuit and logistic network, once the respective network is researched.
All types of chests can be connected to the circuit network. Smart Chest was removed from the game.
Circuit network and logistic network conditions can now be accessed by icons in the top-right corner of the entity's GUI, for all entities.
Decider combinator "input count" option makes the combinator copy the count of the specified output signal from the input signals, instead of copying the count from the condition. This might break some setups. 13706

doctrof
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 3:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.1

Post by doctrof »

How to make smart hooper working like a provider chest?

MrDoomah
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Belt hoppers 1.0.1

Post by MrDoomah »

Lurkily wrote:Just as an FYI, per the changes coming to the circuit network, any chest will be connectable to the circuit network, and being just a smart steel chest, the smart chest is going away in 13.x. It's listed in the changes stated here: https://www.factorio.com/blog/post/fff-138
[...]
I am aware of this.
doctrof wrote:How to make smart hooper working like a provider chest?
You can't. You can however make a contraption with wires and smart inserters to limit the contents of the smart hopper.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”