Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Regular reports on Factorio development.

User avatar
Sauerkraut
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 3:37 pm

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by Sauerkraut » Fri Apr 27, 2018 4:44 pm

Whelp, short FFF this time. Good luck moving the office!

deef0000dragon1
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 11:46 pm

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by deef0000dragon1 » Fri Apr 27, 2018 4:50 pm

Good luck with the move

I will say one quick not about the quick replace. It would be REALLY nice to have a hotkey(holding shift) to enable or disable quick replace (underground/splitter -> belt at least). When building complex structures with a lot of stuff around, it gets really annoying to have a belt move you and you replace half an underground, or when belt weaving, weaving the undergrounds, then running to place the belt quickly, to only replace the undergrounds just placed.

Its a nice feature to have, but having it always on has its own quirks.

Sander_Bouwhuis
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 10:45 pm

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by Sander_Bouwhuis » Fri Apr 27, 2018 4:50 pm

I don't understand what changed with the prototypes. When I go to the 'Factorio\data\base\prototypes' directory I see them all there.

KatherineOfSky
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:54 pm

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by KatherineOfSky » Fri Apr 27, 2018 4:53 pm

I'm not a fan of the belt fast replace, as soooo many times it messes up my build, and requires even more work to get it fixed. (Not a time=saver). I HOPE very much that there will be a toggle-off option, as none of the mods that I've seen on the portal do exactly what I would like. Upgrade Builder & Planner is now REQUIRED in my games because of the numerous errors I make when trying to upgrade belts manually.

Dev Team: I wish you the best of luck with the office move! I hope everything goes smoothly! <3
Watch my Co-op with Caledorn & Aven: Factorio: Darkstar series, my tutorial series: Entry Level to Megabase, and the Whisatlestop mod series!!

Video Tutorial Playlist

Tias
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 5:10 am

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by Tias » Fri Apr 27, 2018 5:03 pm

About those QoL features you have implemented in some areas but not in others, placing an entity on it's Blueprint should only continue to place the entity on other blueprints when holding the build key down, not as soon as space is available (Suggestion: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=59895), is probably very similar to implement as don't mine resources if mining starts with non-resources (0.15.3) and Mining rails is disabled if mining starts with trains or gates (0.15.0).

User avatar
5thHorseman
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:21 pm

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by 5thHorseman » Fri Apr 27, 2018 5:05 pm

Wow that lua repository is amazing.
"So you completed the game with a spaghetti factory? Well I hand crafted a rocket and threw it into space with my bare hands!"

jebnor
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 4:52 pm

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by jebnor » Fri Apr 27, 2018 5:10 pm

deef0000dragon1 wrote: ...
I will say one quick not about the quick replace. It would be REALLY nice to have a hotkey(holding shift) to enable or disable quick replace (underground/splitter -> belt at least). When building complex structures with a lot of stuff around, it gets really annoying to have a belt move you and you replace half an underground, or when belt weaving, weaving the undergrounds, then running to place the belt quickly, to only replace the undergrounds just placed.

Its a nice feature to have, but having it always on has its own quirks.
An Upvote Button, my Kingdom for an Upvote Button! aka, Hotkey to enable/disable (CTRL?) please

User avatar
brunzenstein
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 798
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 2:27 pm

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by brunzenstein » Fri Apr 27, 2018 5:13 pm

Moving your office includes a new adress for WUBE or you stay in the same building?

Ghoulish
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:40 am

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by Ghoulish » Fri Apr 27, 2018 5:16 pm

Why are you moving office? Bigger place / better location maybe?

User avatar
fishycat
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:38 pm

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by fishycat » Fri Apr 27, 2018 5:17 pm

Not a big fan of that feature, too. Somehow I always end messing up all my bus :D But luckily we have mods for almost all things. So it's not a big deal.

I wish you guys a happy moving and hopefully with a shiny new office also will come a lot of new projects. I have no doubts!

User avatar
Lubricus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 12:13 pm

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by Lubricus » Fri Apr 27, 2018 5:48 pm

The problem with the current fast replace for belts is that belts replaces splitters and underground belts. If you made so splitters and undergrounds replaces belts and not the other way around we all will be very happy.

User avatar
Tomik
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 3:30 pm

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by Tomik » Fri Apr 27, 2018 5:55 pm

Just don't manage to lose important things and hardware while moving to the new office and be careful.
Image

bug sniper
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 2:11 am

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by bug sniper » Fri Apr 27, 2018 6:25 pm

I didn't even know I wanted this UI change until I saw the idea.

Dry Hairy Tree
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 10:51 pm

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by Dry Hairy Tree » Fri Apr 27, 2018 6:38 pm

The feedback (here, in playthroughs, on twitch) is overwhelmingly in favor of changing/providing options for fast belt replace.

There's a difference between automation that enhances/speeds up gameplay, and automation that has to be babysat.

One mistake and you can find yourself chasing entities down the wrong lanes of your factory. That kinda sucks. The answers are listed above.

As for shifting, take care and mind your backs y'all are office workers after all. :D

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by Jap2.0 » Fri Apr 27, 2018 6:52 pm

It only goes back to 5.0? What about version 4.1? Or 2.7? Or pre-alpha 0.1? :P
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

melind
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 8:11 pm

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by melind » Fri Apr 27, 2018 8:13 pm

I can dig it. I find myself trying to place pipe like this all the time just to end up disappointed it isn't working.

Avezo
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 3:53 pm

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by Avezo » Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:01 pm

I can see so many problems coming from fast pipe replacement. I will hold them for now until I see actual implementation though.
Image

NexGenration
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:26 pm

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by NexGenration » Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:32 pm

Regarding the pipe changes, another great feature that would go well with this would be if while dragging underground pipes/belts, it would detect when once of the two undergrounds cannot be placed because another inject is in the way and move those two undergrounds back 1 or 2 tiles to compensate

KatherineOfSky
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:54 pm

Re: Friday Facts #240 - Factorio-data & Fast pipe replace

Post by KatherineOfSky » Fri Apr 27, 2018 10:49 pm

Someone just commented to me that they would like to see splitters and undergrounds replace belts, but not the other way around. I would definitely be happy with such a solution!
Watch my Co-op with Caledorn & Aven: Factorio: Darkstar series, my tutorial series: Entry Level to Megabase, and the Whisatlestop mod series!!

Video Tutorial Playlist

Post Reply

Return to “News”