[MOD 0.12.x] Large, filterable chests

Mods that are directly focused on adding, removing or changing a game-concept to the vanilla game.
You need to rebuilt many things if you remove the mod, but it is still possible to remove it, without completely destroying the game.

[MOD 0.12.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby johanwanderer » Fri Jul 03, 2015 6:42 am

I have always wanted to build a factory without using (much) transport belts, but that requires large (dimension-wise, not storage-wise) chests that can reserve its slots for various types of items.

Searching the forum does not result in any hits, so I decided to roll one myself.
Version 0.11.5 works in multiplayer mode.
Version 0.12.6 works in Factorio 0.12.0.
Version 0.12.11 works in Factorio 0.12.11.

Enjoy! And let me know if it works/doesn't work for you.
Long.


Type: Mod
Name: Long's Large Chests Mod
Description: Larger size chests (2x2, 3x3, 5x5) that can be filtered.
License: http://opensource.org/licenses/MIT
Version: 0.12.6
Release: 2015-07-20
Tested-With-Factorio-Version: 0.12.0
Category: SimpleExtension
Tags: Storage
Website: http://www.factorioforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13312
Download-Url:
LongLargeChests_0.12.11.zip

LongLargeChests_0.11.5.zip


*Note: please use version 0.12.x for Factorio 0.12.x, and version 0.11.x for Factorio version 0.11.x. Also, version 0.12.11 works with Factorio 0.12.11 and later.

License
License
The MIT License (MIT)

Copyright (c) 2015 Long Doan

Permission is hereby granted, free of charge, to any person obtaining a copy
of this software and associated documentation files (the "Software"), to deal
in the Software without restriction, including without limitation the rights
to use, copy, modify, merge, publish, distribute, sublicense, and/or sell
copies of the Software, and to permit persons to whom the Software is
furnished to do so, subject to the following conditions:

The above copyright notice and this permission notice shall be included in
all copies or substantial portions of the Software.

THE SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED "AS IS", WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND, EXPRESS OR
IMPLIED, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY,
FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND NONINFRINGEMENT. IN NO EVENT SHALL THE
AUTHORS OR COPYRIGHT HOLDERS BE LIABLE FOR ANY CLAIM, DAMAGES OR OTHER
LIABILITY, WHETHER IN AN ACTION OF CONTRACT, TORT OR OTHERWISE, ARISING FROM,
OUT OF OR IN CONNECTION WITH THE SOFTWARE OR THE USE OR OTHER DEALINGS IN
THE SOFTWARE.


http://opensource.org/licenses/MIT


Long description
Long description
I have always wanted to build a factory without using (much) transport belts, but that requires large (dimension-wise, not storage-wise) chests that can reserve its slots for various types of items.

Searching the forum does not result in any hits, so I decided to roll one myself.
Version 0.11.5 works in multiplayer mode.


Pictures
Pictures
This is how I envision a module-factory would look (except that the large 5x5 chest would be fed directly from the train and not by requester chests.)
screenshot-1-small.png

More screenshots: viewtopic.php?t=13312#p89570

Version history
Version history
- Version 0.0.1: Initial version based on steel chests
- Provides 1x3, 2x3, 3x3, 1x5, 2x5, 3x5, and 5x5 chests. Not filterable.

- Version 0.0.2: Rework to base on cargo wagons.
- Removes the 1x3, 2x3, 1x5, 2x5, and 3x5 chests.

- Version 0.0.3: Allow chests to be placed off-grid via temporary rail segments.
- Chests can now be placed without placing rail.

- Version 0.11.4: Re-version to match Factorio's version requirements, i.e. 0.11.x will work with Factorio 0.11.x.
- Add 2x2 chest.
- Rename entities, etc. via migration scripts.

- Version 0.11.5: Add multiplayer support.
- Fix ghost-build bug.

- Version 0.12.5: Rework for Factorio 0.12.x.

- Version 0.12.6: Programatically generate entities.
- Decrease requirements from steel chests (plus rail tech) to iron chests to allow earlier usage.

- Version 0.12.7: Hide the non-item items.

- Version 0.12.11: Make the mod compatible with Factorio 0.12.11 and later.

Full changelog: viewtopic.php?t=13312#p89568 (and in changelog.txt within the mod itself).

Previous versions
LongLargeChests_0.12.7.zip

LongLargeChests_0.12.6.zip

LongLargeChests_0.12.5.zip

LongLargeChests_0.11.4.zip

LongLargeChests_0.0.3.zip

LongLargeChests_0.0.2.zip
Last edited by johanwanderer on Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:27 am, edited 16 times in total.
johanwanderer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:13 pm

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby johanwanderer » Fri Jul 03, 2015 8:16 pm

Change log:
===========
- Version 0.0.1: Initial version based on steel chests
- Provides 1x3, 2x3, 3x3, 1x5, 2x5, 3x5, and 5x5 chests. Not filterable.

- Version 0.0.2: Rework to base on cargo wagons.
- Removes the 1x3, 2x3, 1x5, 2x5, and 3x5 chests.

- Version 0.0.3: Allow chests to be placed off-grid via temporary rail segments.
- Chests can now be placed without placing rail.

- Version 0.11.4: Re-version to match Factorio's version requirements, i.e. 0.11.x will work with Factorio 0.11.x.
- Add 2x2 chest.
- Rename entities, etc. via migration scripts.

- Version 0.11.5: Add multiplayer support.
- Fix ghost-build bug.

- Version 0.12.5: Rework for Factorio 0.12.x.

- Version 0.12.6: Programatically generate entities.
- Decrease requirements from steel chests (plus rail tech) to iron chests to allow earlier usage.

- Version 0.12.7: Hide the non-item items.

- Version 0.12.11: Make the mod compatible with Factorio 0.12.11 and later.
Last edited by johanwanderer on Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:21 am, edited 5 times in total.
johanwanderer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:13 pm

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby johanwanderer » Fri Jul 03, 2015 8:34 pm

More screen shots:

Sorting belts with the filtered chests:
screenshot-3.png


Filtering:
screenshot-2.png
Last edited by johanwanderer on Tue Jul 07, 2015 5:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
johanwanderer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:13 pm

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby MadZuri » Fri Jul 03, 2015 11:24 pm

OMG YES! YES! This is the thing that I have wanted for as long as I've been playing. This is the thing that prompted me first sign up for the forums and my first post was to suggest this be added to vanilla. This is exactly what I have been searching for all this time. Thankyouthankyouthankyouthanyou.
User avatar
MadZuri
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:15 am

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby johanwanderer » Fri Jul 03, 2015 11:54 pm

MadZuri wrote:OMG YES! YES! This is the thing that I have wanted for as long as I've been playing. This is the thing that prompted me first sign up for the forums and my first post was to suggest this be added to vanilla. This is exactly what I have been searching for all this time. Thankyouthankyouthankyouthanyou.


Let me know how it work out. I have yet to start a fresh game with the mod, so I have not have a chance to build a new base around the new chests. (Too busy trying to mod in an electric boiler :))
johanwanderer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:13 pm

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby MadZuri » Sat Jul 04, 2015 1:46 am

It might be useful to have 1x1 and 2x2 boxes as well. I'm not sure if I'm going to start a new game around it... I'm a little attached to my megabase. I'm sure I can figure out the mod and implement those sizes myself if I wanted to. The 2x2 would be incredibly useful for rail systems.
User avatar
MadZuri
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:15 am

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby johanwanderer » Sat Jul 04, 2015 3:04 am

MadZuri wrote:It might be useful to have 1x1 and 2x2 boxes as well. I'm not sure if I'm going to start a new game around it... I'm a little attached to my megabase. I'm sure I can figure out the mod and implement those sizes myself if I wanted to. The 2x2 would be incredibly useful for rail systems.


Yeah, the (bad) graphics are already there for some of the sizes. I just got tired of copy/paste/replace for the various elements and decided to stick with the two that I think will be most useful. Let me know if you find a particular size more useful than others and I'll just add it to the mod.
johanwanderer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:13 pm

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby 666JTK666 » Sat Jul 04, 2015 10:11 am

Let me Second the request for 2x2 size chest.
If there could be logistic versions of these it would make a great mod even more fantastic.
Big 2 thumb's up for this.
:D
666JTK666
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 11:19 pm

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby johanwanderer » Sat Jul 04, 2015 4:59 pm

666JTK666 wrote:Let me Second the request for 2x2 size chest.
If there could be logistic versions of these it would make a great mod even more fantastic.
Big 2 thumb's up for this.
:D


I'll add the 2x2 size later today. As far as making them logistic, I don't think that's possible right now. They can either be filtered or logistic, but not both. Besides, I think the existing logistic chests work just fine.
johanwanderer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:13 pm

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby johanwanderer » Sun Jul 05, 2015 6:13 am

MadZuri wrote:It might be useful to have 1x1 and 2x2 boxes as well. I'm not sure if I'm going to start a new game around it... I'm a little attached to my megabase. I'm sure I can figure out the mod and implement those sizes myself if I wanted to. The 2x2 would be incredibly useful for rail systems.


666JTK666 wrote:Let me Second the request for 2x2 size chest.
If there could be logistic versions of these it would make a great mod even more fantastic.
Big 2 thumb's up for this.
:D


2x2 chest added. I also re-version the mod to 0.11.4 (instead of just 0.0.4) so that when Factorio 0.12 comes about, I can make a version 0.12 for it.
johanwanderer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:13 pm

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby 666JTK666 » Sun Jul 05, 2015 3:15 pm

I think I am not using these chests in the way they are intended. re reading the op and viewing the pictures again I have realized that for my purposes these chests should not be used in high bulk buffer situations like rail unloading. I am vary new to the game in fact still playing my vary first world and I have so vary much to learn. Please explain how the filtering works. I have tried clicking on an empty stack thinking it would act like a smart inserter and present a menu screen of items to reserve for that stack. nothing happens when I do that.
Oh btw thank you for adding the 2x2 size.
666JTK666
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 11:19 pm

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby johanwanderer » Sun Jul 05, 2015 6:59 pm

666JTK666 wrote:I think I am not using these chests in the way they are intended. re reading the op and viewing the pictures again I have realized that for my purposes these chests should not be used in high bulk buffer situations like rail unloading. I am vary new to the game in fact still playing my vary first world and I have so vary much to learn. Please explain how the filtering works. I have tried clicking on an empty stack thinking it would act like a smart inserter and present a menu screen of items to reserve for that stack. nothing happens when I do that.
Oh btw thank you for adding the 2x2 size.


Filtering is done by middle-clicking (default key bindings) the empty slot, and allows you to reserve that slot for a particular type of item. This way, if you have a stream of different items being put into a chest at various rates, it is guaranteed that the chest won't fill up with just the most abundant items.

For example, let's supposed I have two assembling machines using the same chest for both inputs and outputs, one for copper coil, and one for green circuits. I also have two belts feeding the chest with copper plates and iron plates, and one belt draining the chest of green circuits. Without reservation, the chest is likely to be filled with plates, cutting off both machines because they can no longer place their outputs into the chest. With at least one slot each reserved for coils and green circuits, the machine will always have a place to put their output (assuming the chest is not full).

If you want to use the chest without filtering / reservation, you can. If you think the inventory size is too small, just unzip the mod, look for a file called entities.lua, and look for the line:
Code: Select all
inventory_size = xx

(Currently xx is 8 for the 2x2 chest, 18 for the 3x3, and 50 for the 5x5)

And change that value to what you need.
johanwanderer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:13 pm

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby 666JTK666 » Sun Jul 05, 2015 9:06 pm

Thank you for explaining how your chests work. Now I know why I could not seem to set the filters. I am using a 2 button mouse. A 3 button mouse will get picked up in the next few day's.
666JTK666
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 11:19 pm

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby johanwanderer » Mon Jul 06, 2015 3:46 pm

666JTK666 wrote:Thank you for explaining how your chests work. Now I know why I could not seem to set the filters. I am using a 2 button mouse. A 3 button mouse will get picked up in the next few day's.


I hope you didn't get a new mouse just because of what I wrote. If you use a mouse with a clickable scroll wheel, that counts as the middle button as well.
johanwanderer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:13 pm

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby johanwanderer » Tue Jul 07, 2015 5:15 pm

Added another screenshot to the 2nd post.
johanwanderer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:13 pm

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby Peter34 » Sun Jul 12, 2015 6:53 pm

I don't really want filterable Chests, but I'd be super keen on getting over-sized Chests wiith footprints of particularly 4x4 tiles, but also 2x2, 3x3 and 5x5.

Is it posible to get made a variant of this mod that omits the filter functions entirely?
Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Location: Europe

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby orzelek » Sun Jul 12, 2015 7:13 pm

If I understand correctly how it's done you can simply use those chests without setting up any filters.
orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby Peter34 » Mon Jul 13, 2015 8:04 pm

orzelek wrote:If I understand correctly how it's done you can simply use those chests without setting up any filters.


That's not how the dynamic of MP works.
Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Location: Europe

Re: [0.11.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby johanwanderer » Tue Jul 14, 2015 5:30 am

I was going to wait until 0.12 come to upload a new revision. Since it didn't come out last Friday, I figured I might as well make a build while waiting.

Changes:
- Version 0.11.5: Add multiplayer support.
- Fix ghost-build bug.

Download link / main post: viewtopic.php?t=13312
Changelog: viewtopic.php?t=13312#p89568
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?t=13312#p89570
johanwanderer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:13 pm

Re: [0.12.x] Large, filterable chests

Postby johanwanderer » Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:34 pm

Uploaded version 0.12.5 for Factorio 0.12.0.
Please continue to use version 0.11.5 for Factorio 0.11.x.

viewtopic.php?t=13312
johanwanderer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:13 pm

Next

Return to Gameplay / Vanilla+

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests