[MOD 0.12.0] endless resources
Re: [0.11.1] endless resources
How can I make it work with DyTech ores and gems? I'd love to get more of those (*_* )
- MasterBuilder
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 353
- Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 1:22 am
- Contact:
Re: [0.11.1] endless resources
Given the way it loops it should work with any resource ever. Only issue is load order.Nagshell wrote:How can I make it work with DyTech ores and gems? I'd love to get more of those (*_* )
If you make sure DyTech loads first, then this mod, it will alter DyTech's ores.
Easiest way do do this is add optional dependencies; something like:
Code: Select all
"dependencies": ["base >= 0.11.1", "? DyTech >= 0.0.0"]
Do this for every mod that adds a resource and you're golden. (Most mods that add resources usually have "./prototypes/resources.lua".)
Give a man fire and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
Re: [0.11.1] endless resources
No, the proper way is to use the data-updates.lua instead of data.lua, so it is alwyas loaded after all the mods are initialised no matter what they are.
- bobingabout
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 7352
- Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.11.1] endless resources
in ANY mod(this one or otherwise), make a data-updates.lua (as suggested by Korvarex) which contains the following content
This will make all minable resources infinite.
Code: Select all
for _, resource in pairs(data.raw.resource) do
if not resource.infinite then resource.infinite=true end
if not resource.minimum then resource.minimum=20 end
if not resource.maximum then resource.maximum=350 end
end
Re: [0.11.1] endless resources
I have been trying to increase the minimum yield of the patches but it seems like the yield goes down when i make it higher, how can I make it so that the mining never slows down?
Re: [0.11.1] endless resources
My own tests indicate that setting the minimum attribute of a resource achieves that.
However, a minimum of 100 does not mean 100% yield. When using endless resources, the values shown in Factorio are not accurate, as yield is calculated per resource tile, but drills usually access multiple resources tiles. In my experience, the default values of endless resources are good. If you do not want your resources to drop below ~100% yield, try 350 as the minimum.
However, a minimum of 100 does not mean 100% yield. When using endless resources, the values shown in Factorio are not accurate, as yield is calculated per resource tile, but drills usually access multiple resources tiles. In my experience, the default values of endless resources are good. If you do not want your resources to drop below ~100% yield, try 350 as the minimum.
Re: [0.11.1] endless resources
I'm using the mod with slight modification and while maximum value won't work directly (due to richness calculations I think) minimum value is respected exactly. So 25 minimum means that resource will get to 25% on map per tile.
Re: [0.11.1] endless resources
when i use endless resources the oil wells show 3-6k% instead of the normal 200-300%. is this normal?
Re: [0.11.1] endless resources
I haven't verified this, but I don't think it is normal. endless resources does not change a single bit in the oil resource definitions, it just changes ores (oil is already endless...)
Are you sure you do not have any other mods?
Are you sure you do not have any other mods?
Re: [0.11.1] endless resources
As I recently found out actual displayed percent depends on normal value for given ore. So mod can actually affect %-ages displayed.
Re: [0.11.1] endless resources
i have RSO mod but the guys over there said it was a problem with endless resources.SirRichie wrote:I haven't verified this, but I don't think it is normal. endless resources does not change a single bit in the oil resource definitions, it just changes ores (oil is already endless...)
Are you sure you do not have any other mods?
fake double post:
i have a sugesttion for the fix
replace
Code: Select all
for k, v in pairs(data.raw.resource) do
data.raw.resource[k].infinite = true
data.raw.resource[k].minimum = 175
data.raw.resource[k].normal = 350
end
Code: Select all
for k, v in pairs(data.raw.resource) do
if not data.raw.resouces[k].infinite then
data.raw.resource[k].infinite = true
data.raw.resource[k].minimum = 175
data.raw.resource[k].normal = 350
end
end
Re: [0.11.1] endless resources
Shame on me, it does change oil!
I had this vague memory that it only changed ores... guess I was wrong
I had this vague memory that it only changed ores... guess I was wrong
Re: [0.11.1] endless resources
I'm using similar but with minimum set to 25 and normal to 100 
This one will stop at 50% but there might be lower generated from start I think.

This one will stop at 50% but there might be lower generated from start I think.
Re: [0.12.0] endless resources
It's worth noting that even though things say 3000% yield, miners can't actually go any faster than 100%. The yield is the percentage chance to produce a lump of ore, but they can only ever produce at most 1 lump at a time, even if the "yield" is 3000%.
As such, setting a high normal figure should mean that the yield starts to drop off (reaches less than 100%) earlier, but each percentage point of drop takes longer to occur, so the higher you set the normal, the more oil-like and the less ore-like it behaves. I haven't extensively tested that though.
As such, setting a high normal figure should mean that the yield starts to drop off (reaches less than 100%) earlier, but each percentage point of drop takes longer to occur, so the higher you set the normal, the more oil-like and the less ore-like it behaves. I haven't extensively tested that though.
Re: [0.12.0] endless resources
I'm currently testing with min = 200 and normal = 1000.
It should stabilize at 20% which means that you can continue to work the field but finding new ones will be necessary to keep the throughput up.
If someone wants to play around I'm attaching it here. It's also modified to affect all ores (added by mods for example) and don't touch oil.
It should stabilize at 20% which means that you can continue to work the field but finding new ones will be necessary to keep the throughput up.
If someone wants to play around I'm attaching it here. It's also modified to affect all ores (added by mods for example) and don't touch oil.
- Attachments
-
- endless-resources_0.3.0.zip
- (841 Bytes) Downloaded 851 times
Re: [0.12.0] endless resources
it works with resource adding modsLoSboccacc wrote: (never tested with other resources adding mod)
Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources
Hey guys, I just started using endless resources in a marathon game, figured it'd be fun to play through, but I just now noticed that the yield actually drops the longer you mine a specific patch, can I change it to somehow always have stardard yield (like a normal game) but JUST endless quantity... I spend a good amount of hours in this marathon game and it would suck to have to find new patches far away from my base...
Edit: I tried setting " data.raw.resource[k].minimum" to all kind of values between 10 and 10,000 (highest yield seem to be the lower number i go to (e.g. 10), but still fields seem to drop to a lower and lower yield rate. I just want to get 1 resource every cycle :/
So tl:dr:
Can I keep the yield the same, and just have limitless resources?
Edit: I tried setting " data.raw.resource[k].minimum" to all kind of values between 10 and 10,000 (highest yield seem to be the lower number i go to (e.g. 10), but still fields seem to drop to a lower and lower yield rate. I just want to get 1 resource every cycle :/
So tl:dr:
Can I keep the yield the same, and just have limitless resources?
Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources
I haven't tested, but what you would want to have are values where .minimum equals .normal
Of course, that won't help you with a game already in progress where resources have dropped below .normal (anything below .normal will decrease the yield below 100%).
So for a running game, probably something like
.normal = 10 and .minimum = 10
might work.
Of course, that won't help you with a game already in progress where resources have dropped below .normal (anything below .normal will decrease the yield below 100%).
So for a running game, probably something like
.normal = 10 and .minimum = 10
might work.
- MasterBuilder
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 353
- Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 1:22 am
- Contact:
Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources
You can, but, not easily for an existing save.zampa wrote:Hey guys, I just started using endless resources in a marathon game, figured it'd be fun to play through, but I just now noticed that the yield actually drops the longer you mine a specific patch, can I change it to somehow always have stardard yield (like a normal game) but JUST endless quantity... I spend a good amount of hours in this marathon game and it would suck to have to find new patches far away from my base...
Edit: I tried setting " data.raw.resource[k].minimum" to all kind of values between 10 and 10,000 (highest yield seem to be the lower number i go to (e.g. 10), but still fields seem to drop to a lower and lower yield rate. I just want to get 1 resource every cycle :/
So tl:dr:
Can I keep the yield the same, and just have limitless resources?
Basically, all 'endless' resources have a min & max yield. Raising the min will not stop the yield from dropping, just from going below that threshold. If you set the min & max the same the yield should, in theory, never change.
When the fields are generated they use & save the current min/max values. Changing the minimum will only work for NEWLY generated resources.
If you want this to happen on existing resources you'll have to regenerate them.
IIRC there is a command to regenerate all resources but this may cause more problems that it will solve if your map was created using an older resource generation algorithm OR if mods have added resources since the initial generation.
EDIT: Just made this (untested) and I don't know if it works on endless resources. (Wiki page only shows 'amount' for the resource entity but this could just be out of date.)
Pasting this into the console should work. Or maybe it will destroy your game. Or maybe nothing. Use at your own risk.
Code: Select all
/c for _,ore in pairs(game.player.surface.find_entities_filtered({area = {{game.player.position.x+20, game.player.position.y+20}, {game.player.position.x-20, game.player.position.y-20}}, type="resource"})) do
ore.amount = 200
end
Give a man fire and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:24 pm
- Contact:
Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources
Could someone please make this compatible with Yuoki ores?