[WIP][0.15.37+?] Blueprint Editor 0.1.0

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Post Reply
User avatar
Bigfootmech
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:06 pm
Contact:

[WIP][0.15.37+?] Blueprint Editor 0.1.0

Post by Bigfootmech » Fri Oct 27, 2017 2:35 pm

Hey guys,

TLDR: I'm making blueprints editable in "real time", in the game. But there's a lot of work there, so bear with me.

Mod link: https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Bigfootmech/BPEdit
Github link: https://github.com/Bigfootmech/Factorio ... int-Editor
Notes: https://github.com/Bigfootmech/Factorio ... itor-notes

Current state: Extra Alpha (WARNING: if you try to break it, it will break, and probably crash your game).
README: https://github.com/Bigfootmech/Factorio ... /README.md
CHANGELOG: https://github.com/Bigfootmech/Factorio ... ANGELOG.md
FAQ: https://github.com/Bigfootmech/Factorio ... cs/FAQ.txt

Roadmap/thoughts/bugs/known issues/issue tracker (NOT FINAL): https://github.com/Bigfootmech/Factorio ... diting.txt

Sunday 12th November: Big update today
I managed to finish making all anchors stay on-grid (hopefully), there shouldn't be any more wonky blueprints!

I've also started playing with error handling (makes it a lot easier to debug issues)

Monday 4th December:
I wanted to give an update to anyone listening:
I stopped dev on a version I consider to be "stable enough", because I got a bit bored, and noone seemed to be interested.

As well as the fact that I'm not actually playing this game either on my own, or with friends.

It's kinda difficult to stay invested in something, when it feels like I'm doing it only for myself, and I have other interesting things to do.

So I've been playing a bit of endless legend, as well as don't starve together, and pubg.

I've just seen that this game (and DST) is available on linux though. So I want to set up a secure linux boot, and play around from there.

Again: if anyone actually wants a blueprint editor in game - send me a message! I'm here and stuff :P

Wednesday 6th:
Figured I wanted to play around again.

Changed track from what I was doing previously, and decided to do something fast, and useful

Adding usability - which was the initial point of this whole affair.

Added ability to "add to blueprint" from non-blueprint item in hand, and if not found, then mouseover.

Clearly, this was done quickly, rather than well. So, if you try to break it: it will break (ie: try adding a car, and it will crash. Try adding something sensible, and it seems to work so far)

As always, my door is open for literally anyone to contact me. Otherwise, I'll just go back to assuming that I'm doing this solely for my own amusement.
Last edited by Bigfootmech on Wed Dec 06, 2017 8:46 am, edited 14 times in total.

Stumpyofpain
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 4:31 pm
Contact:

Re: [WIP][0.15.37+?] Blueprint Editor 0.1.0

Post by Stumpyofpain » Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:15 pm

Hi

ty for this Mod and your PM.

Thought that there is no interest because no one has written something about the idea which is why I did not pursue the topic anymore.

I have tried this mod and find it good, but I can not get it running on my current map.
I tried it on a new map with 0 other mods and it works fine.

Then i gradually activated all mods again and your mod is still working there.

I'll try to figure out why it does not work in my current map.

is there a debug mode or something similar so i can see what it is?

edit:
i did deactivate every mod beside yours.
New Map = everything is fine
current map = cant change the anchor point with my numpad

User avatar
Bigfootmech
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: [WIP][0.15.37+?] Blueprint Editor 0.1.0

Post by Bigfootmech » Tue Oct 31, 2017 12:36 am

ty for this Mod and your PM.
No problem :). Thanks for reminding me that this is one of the things I wanted in the game too ^_^. As well as starting the discussion, and letting people give good ideas of how it can be quickly solved :).

I was just in the right place to make it work
is there a debug mode or something similar so i can see what it is?
I don't know :P
I think there are weird interfaces if you press the F-buttons (F4... etc)
I can also change my code / other mod code locally to print to the console, and try to figure out why the errors are happening.
current map = cant change the anchor point with my numpad
Either with all other mods disabled, or all mods? weird.

Can you send me a save (and list of mods), and I'll try to find out why it is.

I can look through keybinds / other mod code / anything else

User avatar
5thHorseman
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 780
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: [WIP][0.15.37+?] Blueprint Editor 0.1.0

Post by 5thHorseman » Tue Oct 31, 2017 12:56 am

This is relative to my interests and I would like to sign up for your newsletter.

But no seriously if any mod needs made (and then made stock) it's this one.
"So you completed the game with a spaghetti factory? Well I hand crafted a rocket and threw it into space with my bare hands!"

User avatar
Bigfootmech
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: [WIP][0.15.37+?] Blueprint Editor 0.1.0

Post by Bigfootmech » Tue Oct 31, 2017 2:39 am

5thHorseman wrote:This is relative to my interests and I would like to sign up for your newsletter.
No newsletter for now, but I am doing about an update a day, so if you keep an eye on the mod page/github, you'll see the progress

For every "version", I've been updating the Changelog, and Readme for now.

You can find them in the main directory when downloaded, or in "docs" in the github. As well as seeing different branches / commit progress in the github if you're quite that interested :P.

I've also been thinking of adding my todo/thoughts/roadmap text file to the git repo. What do you think?
5thHorseman wrote:But no seriously if any mod needs made (and then made stock) it's this one.
That's why it's the first one I picked to make ^_^. And chose the free-est "license" that I could find.

User avatar
Bigfootmech
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: [WIP][0.15.37+?] Blueprint Editor 0.1.0

Post by Bigfootmech » Wed Nov 01, 2017 9:20 am

Stumpyofpain wrote: I have tried this mod and find it good, but I can not get it running on my current map.
I tried it on a new map with 0 other mods and it works fine.

Then i gradually activated all mods again and your mod is still working there.

I'll try to figure out why it does not work in my current map.

is there a debug mode or something similar so i can see what it is?

edit:
i did deactivate every mod beside yours.
New Map = everything is fine
current map = cant change the anchor point with my numpad
I think i found out why it might be .

My mod wasn't working if you saved a game with it already activated, then reloaded that save.

Update to version 0.1.8, and try again please!

Stumpyofpain
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 4:31 pm
Contact:

Re: [WIP][0.15.37+?] Blueprint Editor 0.1.0

Post by Stumpyofpain » Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:46 pm

hi, i did test the new version.

1. it works now in my current game :)

2. but only with bp. as soon as i use bpb i cant change the anchor point.
when i take the bp out of the book i can change the anchor again.

now 2 things that I have noticed.
When I change the anchor, the blueprint automatically rotates to its original orientation.

Furthermore, blueprints disappear from the tool belt when I change the anchor.

User avatar
Bigfootmech
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: [WIP][0.15.37+?] Blueprint Editor 0.1.0

Post by Bigfootmech » Thu Nov 02, 2017 8:12 am

Stumpyofpain wrote:hi, i did test the new version.

1. it works now in my current game :)
WOOOO :D
Stumpyofpain wrote: 2. but only with bp. as soon as i use bpb i cant change the anchor point.
when i take the bp out of the book i can change the anchor again.
I haven't had a chance to even look at blueprint books yet, sorry :(. It will come in a future update hopefully!
Stumpyofpain wrote: When I change the anchor, the blueprint automatically rotates to its original orientation.
This is a "known issue" :(
https://github.com/Bigfootmech/Factorio ... diting.txt
Stumpyofpain wrote: Furthermore, blueprints disappear from the tool belt when I change the anchor.
That's because of how I handle the blueprints, I destroy the original, and create a new one.

Actually, that gives me an idea. Maybe I could just edit the one from the hand if I'm not going through the editing screen.

I'll add this to known issues, and try my fix now.

User avatar
Bigfootmech
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: [WIP][0.15.37+?] Blueprint Editor 0.1.0

Post by Bigfootmech » Thu Nov 02, 2017 9:52 am

So, there's good news, and there's bad news...

I can stop rotating back, and keep it in the toolbar.

But the numpad keys (appear to) change which corner they bind to.

I also can't track which way the blueprint in the hand is rotated

I can apparently track when something in the hand changes, and probably track something rotating WHILE in the hand.

But if you rotate something, put it back in the inventory, then take it back out again, I CAN'T track that rotation.

I'll need to ask for help in the mods help forum, or maybe even ask the developers to expose this "rotation" state in the modding API to fix this. Or to remove the "rotate" state from objects (fat chance).

ie: don't expect a fix any time soon.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users