[MOD 0.12.11+] Smarter Chests (requester/storage hybrid)

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Post Reply
Phenix0cs
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 1:30 am
Contact:

[MOD 0.12.11+] Smarter Chests (requester/storage hybrid)

Post by Phenix0cs »

Type: Mod
Name: Smarter Chests
Description: Add a hybrid chest (requester/storage).
Web: https://github.com/Phenix0cs/Smarter-chests
License: The MIT License (MIT)
Version: 0.3.0
Release: 2016-02-02
Tested-With-Factorio-Version: 0.12.20
Category: Gameplay
Tags: Chests, Robots, Logistic
Download-Url:
smarter_chests_0.3.0.zip
(9.15 KiB) Downloaded 411 times
License
Long description
Pictures
Version history
Known Issues
Last edited by Phenix0cs on Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:23 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Phenix0cs
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 1:30 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] Smarters Chests (requester/storage hybrid)

Post by Phenix0cs »

New version available.
Fix many UI issues.
Changed graphics to differentiate from storage chest.


Phenix0cs
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 1:30 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] Smarters Chests (requester/storage hybrid)

Post by Phenix0cs »

With version 0.2.0 it work.

If something (not mentioned in know issue) is not working correctly post it here.

And thanks, plz give me your feedback when you have tried it.

More features to come :)

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11011
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] Smarters Chests (requester/storage hybrid)

Post by ssilk »

Correct English: Smarter Chest. (or is the extra s with purpose?)

And when I'm on it: For completeness it would be great to explain the transport priorities in detail, so that also technicians can understand how it works. :)
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Phenix0cs
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 1:30 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] Smarters Chests (requester/storage hybrid)

Post by Phenix0cs »

My first language is french, so I make mistakes sometimes lol.

I'm working on the next version where priorities will change a bit from 0.2.0.

For the basic, it send requests for one tick every 100 ticks.
It force requests for some cases where it's needed for functionality reasons.

If you want to know how it handle a specific case you can ask here and/or take a look to source code.

Edit: It seem i had a 's' only in opening post, not elsewhere doh.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11011
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] Smarter Chests (requester/storage hybrid)

Post by ssilk »

Don't be so self-critical: I see it as my job as moderator to give such hints. :D
And for the extreme details someone can read the code of course. It's just that someone might want to know how exactly it works.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Phenix0cs
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 1:30 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] Smarter Chests (requester/storage hybrid)

Post by Phenix0cs »

New version available (0.3.0).
Fixed blueprints.
Robots no longer bring too much items.

TheTom
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:33 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] Smarter Chests (requester/storage hybrid)

Post by TheTom »

I have some bad news for you - odd behavior.

First - in 0.2 I saw a serious duping bug suddenly filling up the chest. It seems to be gone in 0.3

But - 0.3. I have a place where I really want 2 hybrid chests in close distance. Both are filled from a belt via smart inserter. When also requesting items from storage - items started to be moved between them. I.e. first chest 1 would fill up quite a lot, the the bots would come and move the items to chest 2, then the bots would come and move the items to chest 1 etc. eating a ton of bot bandwidth ;)

Phenix0cs
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 1:30 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] Smarter Chests (requester/storage hybrid)

Post by Phenix0cs »

Yes, there was a bug in 0.2.0, it's been fixed in 0.3.0 .

For the second issue, I need more details please, can you post a screenshot and/or a save file?

It could be "normal" in the sense that I don't control bot behavior and what I do is create a pattern where the bot receive requests in a way to avoid loops and other unwanted behaviors.

So with more details, I will see if I can improve the situation :)

Thanks for the feedback, it's much appreciated.

TheTom
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:33 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] Smarter Chests (requester/storage hybrid)

Post by TheTom »

Will try. Another thing - I am unable to limit the chest to specific items? Just have to replace a lot of them as they got used as storage chests, introducing all kinds of crap into my production flows...

Nebbeh
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] Smarter Chests (requester/storage hybrid)

Post by Nebbeh »

Any chance for a update? The chest can now be placed anywhere, even on top of other entitites, once placed it cannot be opened or picked up again.

User avatar
jakimfett
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 3:28 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] Smarter Chests (requester/storage hybrid)

Post by jakimfett »

I'm adding this to my list of mods to update to 0.13.x, when I have a few free minutes.
Pyromaniac technomancer blacksmith with Steampunk tendencies.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: theRustyKnife