[MOD 0.12.12+] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.4

Mods that are directly focused on adding, removing or changing a game-concept to the vanilla game.
You need to rebuilt many things if you remove the mod, but it is still possible to remove it, without completely destroying the game.

[MOD 0.12.12+] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.4

Postby vampiricdust » Wed Jul 22, 2015 1:31 am

Type: Mod
Name: Pocket Bots Start
Description: Gives more items to start & enables use of the Pocket Bots
License: http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-3.0.txt
Version: 1.0.0
Release: 2015-07-21
Tested-With-Factorio-Version: 0.12.0
Category: Convenience
Tags: Start of Game
Download-Url: http://www.factorioforums.com/forum/download/file.php?mode=view&id=4716
Website: http://www.factorioforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=94&t=13863

License
License
You may copy, distribute and modify the software as long as you track changes/dates in source files. Any modifications to or software including (via compiler) GPL-licensed code must also be made available under the GPL along with build & install instructions.


Long description
Long description

viewtopic.php?f=54&t=13862
I made this mod for a new series I started & I really wanted to see how having pocket bots at the start would affect game play. I've changed it to give a choice of two starts, normal & fast.

For the normal start, the following are added to your inventory at the start of freeplay game:

    iron plates - 8
    pistol - 1
    basic-bullet-magazine - 10
    stone-furnace - 1
    burner-mining-drill - 1
    deconstruction-planner - 1
    blueprint - 1
    basic-modular-armor - 1
    construction-robot - 10
    personal-roboport-equipment - 1
    solar-panel-equipment - 11
    battery-equipment - 5


If you edit the config.lua and set fastStart = true, than you will get the following items on the start of the game:

    basic-transport-belt - 100
    basic-transport-belt-to-ground - 4
    basic-splitter - 4
    basic-inserter - 20
    pipe - 20
    pipe-to-ground - 10
    submachine-gun - 1
    basic-bullet-magazine - 10
    basic-mining-drill - 3
    stone-furnace - 4
    assembling-machine-1 - 2
    boiler - 14
    small-electric-pole - 32
    steam-engine - 10
    offshore-pump - 1
    deconstruction-planner - 1
    blueprint - 1
    basic-modular-armor - 1
    construction-robot - 10
    personal-roboport-equipment - 1
    solar-panel-equipment - 11
    battery-equipment - 5

The following techs are researched if fastStart = true:

    military
    automation
    logistics


Pictures
Pictures
Image


Version history
Version history
1.0.4 (2015-10-29): Updated for the 0.12.11 Changes, tested on 0.12.15
1.0.3 (2015-7-29): Removed automated-construction from tech research on fastStart & added a new technology to be researched by default.
1.0.2 (2015-7-28): Added 8 iron plates to basic start
1.0.1 (2015-7-26): Changed it to include a basic start
1.0.0 (2015-7-21): Initial Release
Attachments
Pocket-Bots-Start_1.0.4.zip
0.12.11 Update
(12.51 KiB) Downloaded 2445 times
Pocket-Bots-Start_1.0.3.zip
0.12.0 - 0.12.10
(12.37 KiB) Downloaded 768 times
Last edited by vampiricdust on Fri Oct 30, 2015 2:29 am, edited 7 times in total.
Combinator Tutorial Part 1 - Some info & uses.
Biter Park - Building some enclosures to study & build attractions with.
Orders Up! - Place an order for goods, now taking .12 orders!
X-Perimental - and base building with combinators!
Pocket Bot Start
User avatar
vampiricdust
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:31 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.1

Postby vampiricdust » Mon Jul 27, 2015 4:10 am

After thinking about it, I figured some may prefer a basic start & have the pocket bots, so I've added an option to enable more stuff & tech research. You'll have to modify the control.lua, line 2 where it sets fastStart = false to fastStart = true if you want them.

It makes the start of game so much more friendly for quickly setting up a new factory.
Combinator Tutorial Part 1 - Some info & uses.
Biter Park - Building some enclosures to study & build attractions with.
Orders Up! - Place an order for goods, now taking .12 orders!
X-Perimental - and base building with combinators!
Pocket Bot Start
User avatar
vampiricdust
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:31 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.1

Postby madac83 » Mon Jul 27, 2015 7:15 pm

Nice, I have been wondering when you were going to put this up. Thank you and keep up the good work sir.
madac83
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 4:59 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.1

Postby rinaf » Mon Jul 27, 2015 7:59 pm

i just started testing it and im a bit annoyed to be forced to mine 4 iron without a pickaxe :/
rinaf
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 2:31 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.1

Postby vampiricdust » Mon Jul 27, 2015 11:35 pm

rinaf wrote:i just started testing it and im a bit annoyed to be forced to mine 4 iron without a pickaxe :/

I'm sorry about, I didn't think about. I'll make sure to add the standard starting iron and get it uploaded when I get home.
Combinator Tutorial Part 1 - Some info & uses.
Biter Park - Building some enclosures to study & build attractions with.
Orders Up! - Place an order for goods, now taking .12 orders!
X-Perimental - and base building with combinators!
Pocket Bot Start
User avatar
vampiricdust
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:31 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.1

Postby vampiricdust » Mon Jul 27, 2015 11:40 pm

rinaf wrote:i just started testing it and im a bit annoyed to be forced to mine 4 iron without a pickaxe :/

I'm sorry, I didn't think about that. I'll make sure to add the standard starting iron and get it uploaded when I get home.
Combinator Tutorial Part 1 - Some info & uses.
Biter Park - Building some enclosures to study & build attractions with.
Orders Up! - Place an order for goods, now taking .12 orders!
X-Perimental - and base building with combinators!
Pocket Bot Start
User avatar
vampiricdust
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:31 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.2

Postby vampiricdust » Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:58 am

Alrighty, got it updated. Should give 8 plates to make a pick.
Combinator Tutorial Part 1 - Some info & uses.
Biter Park - Building some enclosures to study & build attractions with.
Orders Up! - Place an order for goods, now taking .12 orders!
X-Perimental - and base building with combinators!
Pocket Bot Start
User avatar
vampiricdust
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:31 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.2

Postby Lonewolf » Tue Jul 28, 2015 1:59 pm

Awesome, really like this idea :)
Thank you
Lonewolf
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 1:23 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.2

Postby lordfwahfnah » Tue Jul 28, 2015 11:42 pm

hey, awesome mod
i just seem to be unable to use the blue-blueprint. i can copy buildings into the blueprint, but i cant paste it on the ground so my bots build it up.
not sure if its a problem with THIS mod (got other mods installed) but i have no other mods interfering with the blueprints so...
lordfwahfnah
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 12:25 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.2

Postby vampiricdust » Wed Jul 29, 2015 10:50 am

Oh, I know. I removed the research tech for the default which makes blueprints unusable in the normal start..... hmmm. I'll need to modify it to enable ghost usage either way then I don't need to research blueprint tech automatically. Let me get on it.

Alrighty, 1.0.3 uploaded & this problem has been fixed by adding a new tech called Pocket Bot Planning that is researched at the start. If you place a lab or have one placed, the research can be done for free, only takes a second of time to do.
Combinator Tutorial Part 1 - Some info & uses.
Biter Park - Building some enclosures to study & build attractions with.
Orders Up! - Place an order for goods, now taking .12 orders!
X-Perimental - and base building with combinators!
Pocket Bot Start
User avatar
vampiricdust
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:31 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.3

Postby Lonewolf » Fri Jul 31, 2015 3:02 pm

Hi. Tried to start a new game today with your mod and Dytech CORE, something seem to clash between them. I got an error message that had something to do with the bot research, i set it to false in your control.lua line 59 i think it was.
Sorry I'm just a complete noob at this, don't even know where to find the logs. But setting that value from true to false made it work.
Lonewolf
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 1:23 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.3

Postby vampiricdust » Fri Jul 31, 2015 7:08 pm

Lonewolf wrote:Hi. Tried to start a new game today with your mod and Dytech CORE, something seem to clash between them. I got an error message that had something to do with the bot research, i set it to false in your control.lua line 59 i think it was.
Sorry I'm just a complete noob at this, don't even know where to find the logs. But setting that value from true to false made it work.

Yeah, the problem is Dytech is logging when research is completed, but since I'm making the research completed before the game technically starts, the game time is nil and breaking Dytech. Technically this is a problem with Dytech as any mod that enables technology at the start of the game will cause that.

On the bright side, disabling the tech does fix the problem & all you have to do is put a lab down & start research on it. It will finish in 1 second & you can use the blueprint.
Combinator Tutorial Part 1 - Some info & uses.
Biter Park - Building some enclosures to study & build attractions with.
Orders Up! - Place an order for goods, now taking .12 orders!
X-Perimental - and base building with combinators!
Pocket Bot Start
User avatar
vampiricdust
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:31 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.3

Postby Lonewolf » Sat Aug 01, 2015 7:17 am

Indeed, it is all working flaweless now :) Thank you again for this mod, it makes the early game more enjoyable!
Lonewolf
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 1:23 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.3

Postby Talguy » Sat Aug 01, 2015 11:32 am

vampiricdust wrote:Yeah, the problem is Dytech is logging when research is completed, but since I'm making the research completed before the game technically starts, the game time is nil and breaking Dytech. Technically this is a problem with Dytech as any mod that enables technology at the start of the game will cause that.

On the bright side, disabling the tech does fix the problem & all you have to do is put a lab down & start research on it. It will finish in 1 second & you can use the blueprint.

Wouldn't it be possible to add an optional dependency ("? DYTech-Core" or whatever the filename is)? I'm assuming DYTech-Core registers an event handler for this.
Talguy
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:54 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.3

Postby hoho » Sat Aug 01, 2015 5:32 pm

Talguy wrote:Wouldn't it be possible to add an optional dependency ("? DYTech-Core" or whatever the filename is)? I'm assuming DYTech-Core registers an event handler for this.

I'm fairly certain it's not possible as the dependency deals with loading order but the problem appears when a game starts, long after mods get loaded.
hoho
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 574
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:23 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.3

Postby vampiricdust » Sun Aug 02, 2015 8:40 am

Lonewolf wrote:Indeed, it is all working flaweless now :) Thank you again for this mod, it makes the early game more enjoyable!


I'm glad you enjoy it. It takes out the tree cutting labor & speeds up constructing. I also like how it extends your reach so you don't have to move around so much to place stuff. I've had more fun in early game with this kind of start. Only thing that would be nice is if the bots could mine for you.
Combinator Tutorial Part 1 - Some info & uses.
Biter Park - Building some enclosures to study & build attractions with.
Orders Up! - Place an order for goods, now taking .12 orders!
X-Perimental - and base building with combinators!
Pocket Bot Start
User avatar
vampiricdust
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:31 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.3

Postby antichaos » Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:06 am

Is there a way I can activate this on an existing game I'm already an hour into?
antichaos
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 11:44 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.3

Postby vampiricdust » Wed Aug 12, 2015 6:40 am

No, this only changes how you spawn. You could use the lua commands to give you the stuff though.

/c game.player.insert{name="iron-plate",count=100}

Replace iron-plate with the item's LUA name and change how many you want.
Combinator Tutorial Part 1 - Some info & uses.
Biter Park - Building some enclosures to study & build attractions with.
Orders Up! - Place an order for goods, now taking .12 orders!
X-Perimental - and base building with combinators!
Pocket Bot Start
User avatar
vampiricdust
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:31 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.3

Postby vampiricdust » Fri Oct 30, 2015 2:19 am

Updated for 0.12.12 and tested on 0.12.15
Combinator Tutorial Part 1 - Some info & uses.
Biter Park - Building some enclosures to study & build attractions with.
Orders Up! - Place an order for goods, now taking .12 orders!
X-Perimental - and base building with combinators!
Pocket Bot Start
User avatar
vampiricdust
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:31 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.12+] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.4

Postby space_jockey » Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:26 pm

I'm on 12.26 and when I gen a world I get this error:

__Pocket-Bots-Start__/control.lua:8: attempt to index global 'game' (a nil value)

Was there an API change from then to now that breaks your mod? I'm using the archive provided from your last post.
space_jockey
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 8:19 pm

Next

Return to Gameplay / Vanilla+

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests