[MOD 0.15|0.14] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.4.1

Topics and discussion about specific mods
ASD_9
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 6:26 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.1

Post by ASD_9 »

patka076 wrote:So I've had this issue with ghost tanker hit boxes causing pumps at stations not to work properly. While you can disable and enable the mod to fix this, it causes a lot of work to set things up again. To just remove the ghost hit boxes you can use the following console command (standing close to them).

Code: Select all

/c for _,entity in pairs(game.local_player.surface.find_entities_filtered{area={{game.local_player.position.x-32, game.local_player.position.y-32},{game.local_player.position.x+32, game.local_player.position.y+32}}, name="rail-tanker-proxy"}) do entity.destroy() end
Does not work

Instructor
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 6:07 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.2

Post by Instructor »

Found this in a storage chest http://i.imgur.com/pe9cPlv.png

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1352
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.31

Post by Choumiko »

Updated to Railtanker 1.3.31 for Factorio 0.13+
  • now works with vanilla train conditions (full/empty/item count/inactivity)
  • Note: Inserters can remove the used fake items from the railtanker, so be sure to not have inserters at a station where a railtanker might stop! Currently there is no way around it
ASD_9 wrote:
patka076 wrote:

Code: Select all

/c for _,entity in pairs(game.local_player.surface.find_entities_filtered{area={{game.local_player.position.x-32, game.local_player.position.y-32},{game.local_player.position.x+32, game.local_player.position.y+32}}, name="rail-tanker-proxy"}) do entity.destroy() end
Does not work
Try the same command but replace "rail-tanker-proxy" with "rail-tanker-proxy-noconnect". And if you are on 0.13+ replace game.local_player with game.player
Instructor wrote:Found this in a storage chest http://i.imgur.com/pe9cPlv.png
Looks like you had an inserter at a trainstop and somehow the item didn't get removed when the railtanker stopped. Even with versions below 1.3.31 it's best to have railtanker stops have no inserters.
With 1.3.31 it's a must, since i need to keep the fake items in the inventory to make train conditions work.

Nexela
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1828
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 11:09 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.31

Post by Nexela »

1st BUG - Crash to desktop

In this setup the train is at the station in automatic mode..
Not that anyone in their right mind would attempt to do this but............ Don't try to attach a circuit wire to your rail tankers!



2n BUG (minor as everything still works right) - Fluid item object from other mods fluid show up with unknown-key in Railtanker.
Attachments
1... 2... BOOM
1... 2... BOOM
output_nsGoiK.gif (96.93 KiB) Viewed 6487 times

User avatar
Mooncat
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1190
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 4:55 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.31

Post by Mooncat »

Hi Choumiko, great mod here :D

As a player, may I request that the items of fluids in tank to have the hidden flag so they are not shown in the logistic request slot and filter slot?

As a modder, I think I can help to solve the unknown-key problem as mentioned above. When creating things based on other mods, don't try to localize them yourself because it is a task without an end. Instead, add the localised_name property when creating the thing and use it to refer to the localization key of the source.
For example, in your case, you are creating items based on fluids, and in Factorio, the keys of fluids are stored in the format of "fluid-name." + fluid name. (I checked it from the language files, and I think this can apply to all mods.) So, the value of localised_name should be {"fluid-name." .. fluid.name}

For your reference, in our Creative Mode, the part for creating free fluid recipes looks like this:

Code: Select all

data:extend(
{
	{
		type = "recipe",
		name = creative_mode_defines.names.free_fluid_recipe_prefix .. fluid.name,
		localised_name = {"fluid-name." .. fluid.name},
		icon = fluid.icon,
		category = creative_mode_defines.names.recipe_categories.free_fluids,
		ingredients = {},
		results =
		{
			{type = "fluid", name = fluid.name, amount = 50}
		},
		main_product = "",
		subgroup = creative_mode_defines.names.item_subgroups.free_fluids,
		enabled = false
	}
})
So now I don't need to care about the localized name of any fluid. Unfortunately, if you want to add additional string in the localized name, AFAIK, the additional string cannot be localized even if the original localized string has placeholder.
Hope this helps. :mrgreen:

Edit: it turns out the additional string can also be localized. In my unreleased (but will be released soon) version, I added a key

Code: Select all

[recipe-name]
creative-mode_free-fluid=__1__ x __2__
and changed localised_name to

Code: Select all

localised_name = {"recipe-name.creative-mode_free-fluid", 50, {"fluid-name." .. fluid.name}}
The result is "50 x Hydrotin Gas" (The gas is from Yuoki Industries)


Edit: ooooooh, bad news. Due to the change of 0.13.5 about the on_load function. Your mod causes an error when loading a save that doesn't not have RailTanker before.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1352
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.31

Post by Choumiko »

Updated to Railtanker 1.3.32 (Changelog in the link)
Mooncat wrote:As a player, may I request that the items of fluids in tank to have the hidden flag so they are not shown in the logistic request slot and filter slot?
Left the flag out so i could look at the localisations for every fluid more easily and forgot putting it back in, and now i realise i forgot it again.. :mrgreen:
Mooncat wrote:As a modder, I think I can help to solve the unknown-key problem as mentioned above. When creating things based on other mods, don't try to localize them yourself because it is a task without an end. Instead, add the localised_name property when creating the thing and use it to refer to the localization key of the source.
For example, in your case, you are creating items based on fluids, and in Factorio, the keys of fluids are stored in the format of "fluid-name." + fluid name. (I checked it from the language files, and I think this can apply to all mods.) So, the value of localised_name should be {"fluid-name." .. fluid.name}

snip
For some reason this doesn't work, it's always complaining about unknown key: item.name.water-in-tanker, even if i add localised_name = {fluid-name." .. fluid.name}. Looks like the localised_name is ignored. Gonna try doing it in data.lua instead of in data-final-fixes.lua

User avatar
Mooncat
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1190
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 4:55 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.31

Post by Mooncat »

Choumiko wrote:For some reason this doesn't work, it's always complaining about unknown key: item.name.water-in-tanker, even if i add localised_name = {fluid-name." .. fluid.name}. Looks like the localised_name is ignored. Gonna try doing it in data.lua instead of in data-final-fixes.lua
hm.... it looks like localised_name is not supported for item prototypes. :? I guess we will need to request that. I have feeling that they will add it soon for consistency. :mrgreen:

floodo1
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 2:33 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.31

Post by floodo1 »

exciting times for Rail Tanker. Really enjoying the fact that the vanilla train UI rules for item quantity work with tankers in v0.13.x! I also had dedicated train stops for my tankers so it is not a problem to avoid inserters that could take the special items out of the tanker 8-)

I enjoy this game so much more when I can build an oil outpost dedicated to Petroleum Gas production and ship that via tanker to wherever I need it!

can't say thanks enough!

Tergiver
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 2:27 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.31

Post by Tergiver »

[0.13.5][1.3.31] Fails to load a game saved with tankers. The error message says:
Error while running mod-RailTanker::on_load().
Detected modifications to the 'global' table:
The patch notes for 0.13.5 say this:
Attempting to mutate the 'global' table of a mod in the 'on_load' event handler will result in an error. The 'on_load' event handler is *only* meant for re-registering conditional event handlers and setting up meta-tables. Use 'on_configuration_changed', 'on_init', and migration scripts in all other instances.


Moosie
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 8:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.32

Post by Moosie »

I can't download this because each time I go to page, it says log in again and forums seem BROKEN.

Is there a non-factorio forums download for 1.3.32?

GotLag
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 532
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.32

Post by GotLag »

Log in using your Factorio username/password, not forums.

User avatar
Mooncat
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1190
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 4:55 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.32

Post by Mooncat »

Just created a request about the localised_name property: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=28424 :D

User avatar
MrGrim
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 7:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.32

Post by MrGrim »

Any thoughts on when or if you will be able to re-render the graphics for the new train sizes? Do you have everything you need to do so, or are the original source files/artist not available? I don't intend to rush, I'm just trying to make the decision on if I want to build my base out depending on this mod or just stick to barrels for now.

Thanks!

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1352
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.32

Post by Choumiko »

To be honest i have no idea :D
Right now all i got is: I think the tanker doesn't look too bad, it mostly seems to be a bit too long right now, so it's not really high on my todo list.

User avatar
MrGrim
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 7:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.32

Post by MrGrim »

Choumiko wrote:To be honest i have no idea :D
Right now all i got is: I think the tanker doesn't look too bad, it mostly seems to be a bit too long right now, so it's not really high on my todo list.
Fair enough. Blender confounds me as well. Thanks for the reply!

*EDIT*: Well I just added 3 fluid stations so, my love for the functionality of the mod won the day. :D Maybe somebody else on the forums has the requisite skill to make a sprite sheet that matches 0.13 trains better. I would think that just having the source blender file helps a lot.

User avatar
aRatNamedSammy
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.32

Post by aRatNamedSammy »

hmm, i doubt it supposed to work like this..
crude oil can be manipulate like solid objects
oil bug.JPG
oil bug.JPG (43.02 KiB) Viewed 6751 times
was building a new outpost,, then i notice after placing an inserter next to the rail tanker it remove the oil and place it in the chest, like any item... :lol:
Teeth for Two (so sorry my bad english)

hoho
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 677
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.32

Post by hoho »

It's required to make the "wait until empty/full conditions to work.

There is no real fix, just don't pull the items out of tanker wagons.

I think there is a MASSIVE cheating possibility by transporting the oil "stack" via regular wagons. I guess it's up to each player to decide if they want to play as it was meant to be played or to cheat.

User avatar
MrGrim
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 7:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.32

Post by MrGrim »

hoho wrote:I guess it's up to each player to decide if they want to play as it was meant to be played or to cheat.
As it should be, really. I never really understood the modern game design trend of "you _will_ play it our way or NO WAY AT ALL!" If I wanted to "cheat" with mods there are far better options, anyway.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1352
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x|0.13] Rail Tanker - Liquid transport 1.3.32

Post by Choumiko »

These items can't really be used to cheat in any way. They have no associated recipe. Railtanker only compares the actual liquid with the items and updates the items to the correct amount. If you take them out you just end up jamming up your inventory/chests ;-)

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”