[MOD 0.13] Mining Tools - resources generation

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Post Reply
User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

[MOD 0.13] Mining Tools - resources generation

Post by binbinhfr »

Infos
  • Type: Mod
  • Name: MiningTools
  • Description: Tools to speed up your mining (pneumatic drills & fast mining drills), provide new resources (with dynamite or massive water injection) and even erase resources (with dynamite).
  • Tested-With-Factorio-Version: 0.13.0
  • Multiplayer compatible: tested on a headless server...
  • Optional dependencies : 5dim ores, dark matter replicator mod, tenemut ore, Bob ores, Nucular, Thorium Mod, Crafted Artifacts, reactor.
  • Locale: english, french, german
  • Tags: Mining, Resources, Drill, Ore, Oil, Axe, Uranium, Thorium, Bob ores, 5dim ores, dark matter replicator.
  • License: You are free to use and distribute this mod and also to modify it for personal use, but not to release a modified version without permission (unless visibly not maintained anymore).
  • Portal download : https://mods.factorio.com/mods/binbinhfr/MiningTools
miningtools-screencopy1.jpg
miningtools-screencopy1.jpg (22.93 KiB) Viewed 36520 times
Description
Download
For Factorio 0.13.X :
Please now use the portal for downloads (see link above or use ingame mod install/update), as I won't update both downloads links here anymore.
Last edited by binbinhfr on Fri Aug 05, 2016 5:34 pm, edited 53 times in total.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

User avatar
sporefreak
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:55 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.2

Post by sporefreak »

So this is just a source of infinite ores? Seems a bit broken, Could be great for turtle bases but this just promotes anti-exploration.
How powerful are the resources? they shouldn't have a lot in them, and I'm assuming you can just the same area over and over to bring ores up.

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.2

Post by binbinhfr »

Yes obviously, this mod is oriented towards turtle bases. Some players just like to focus on their factory.
Dynamite does expel the same average resource than in the basic starting zone.
Water injector expel far more resources, closer to an average resource field generated by RSO when you are far from your starting base.

But anyway, you can edit the config.lua file to suit your needs.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.3

Post by binbinhfr »

here is v1.0.3 : prevents the player to exploit twice the same zone with the Water Injector.
Note that it won't take into account the mining fields you already created with v1.0.2...
Last edited by binbinhfr on Mon Apr 18, 2016 9:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

apcnc
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 1:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.3

Post by apcnc »

german locale

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.4

Post by binbinhfr »

here is v1.0.4 : Adds locale for german (thanks to Apcnc).
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

rubberduck
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 12:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.4

Post by rubberduck »

this is awesome!
visit https://factorioprints.com/ for all your blueprint needs

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.4

Post by binbinhfr »

rubberduck wrote:this is awesome!
Thank you for your support. I knew that at least one person will like it ! I put so much efforts on the spawning effects :D
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

User avatar
garryberry
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.4

Post by garryberry »

GERMAN LOCALE v2
sorry I had to correct the spelling :?

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.4

Post by binbinhfr »

Here is v1.0.5 = correct a bug when a mined dynamite still explodes. Prevents opening of dynamite entity. Correction of the german locale.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

MrSonic
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 3:40 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.5

Post by MrSonic »

I encountered a bug that crashes the game while trying to place the ore removal dynamite with construction bots. I was trying to save myself some effort but it seems to just crash the game. Otherwise this is an awesome mod.

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.5

Post by binbinhfr »

MrSonic wrote:I encountered a bug that crashes the game while trying to place the ore removal dynamite with construction bots. I was trying to save myself some effort but it seems to just crash the game. Otherwise this is an awesome mod.
Waooo, you're very quick : I never tried to make a blueprint with these dynamites during the 5 seconds countdown :-)

But the bug is now corrected, here is v1.0.6
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

Guest_4544
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.3

Post by Guest_4544 »

binbinhfr wrote:here is v1.0.3 : prevents the player to exploit twice the same zone with the Water Injector.
Note that it won't take into account the mining fields you already created with v1.0.2...
Is there some kind of a timeout for this or is it indefinite?

Besides that I like this mod, also what is needed to make a new dynamite type? I would to make a patch that's adds a few more type based on mod ores.

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.3

Post by binbinhfr »

Guest_4544 wrote: Is there some kind of a timeout for this or is it indefinite?
Besides that I like this mod, also what is needed to make a new dynamite type? I would to make a patch that's adds a few more type based on mod ores.
It's infinite : once you exploit one area underground, it is exhausted. But you can create a new area just contiguous to the first one. If it is too close, the Injector would not start working.

For a new ore, please give me the name of the mod that integrates this other ore and I'll see what I can do. I have to integrate it in the code, but also design an icon for the recipe. I could make my code more modular to easily integrate custom ore.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

Guest_4544
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.3

Post by Guest_4544 »

binbinhfr wrote: For a new ore, please give me the name of the mod that integrates this other ore and I'll see what I can do. I have to integrate it in the code, but also design an icon for the recipe. I could make my code more modular to easily integrate custom ore.
Here you go:
Nucular: viewtopic.php?f=93&t=21676
Resource: nuclear-ores , nature-gas
Reactor: viewtopic.php?f=97&t=16162
Resource: uranium-ore
Thorium: viewtopic.php?f=94&t=23224
Resource: monazite-ore

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
sporefreak
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:55 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.6

Post by sporefreak »

Removal Dynamite doesn't seem to work on oil? or does it have to have low levels.

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.6

Post by binbinhfr »

sporefreak wrote:Removal Dynamite doesn't seem to work on oil? or does it have to have low levels.
That's a bug. Will be corrected soon in the next version.
I try to integrate Uranium and custom ores, on condition of their respective mods are presents. Not so easy... ;)
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.3

Post by binbinhfr »

Guest_4544 wrote: Here you go:
Nucular: viewtopic.php?f=93&t=21676
Resource: nuclear-ores , nature-gas
Reactor: viewtopic.php?f=97&t=16162
Resource: uranium-ore
Thorium: viewtopic.php?f=94&t=23224
Resource: monazite-ore

Thanks in advance.
Guest_4544 , can you test this extended version of the mod with your 3 nuclear mods, and tell me if everything is ok for you before I publish it as a stable version ?
MiningTools_1.0.7.zip
(472.29 KiB) Downloaded 146 times
It integrates ores and gas, with dynamites and injection.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

Guest_4544
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.3

Post by Guest_4544 »

binbinhfr wrote:
Guest_4544 , can you test this extended version of the mod with your 3 nuclear mods, and tell me if everything is ok for you before I publish it as a stable version ?
MiningTools_1.0.7.zip
It integrates ores and gas, with dynamites and injection.
The newly added dynamite ore works as intended, I had to enable those recipes manually because I already researched the tech and Factorio doesn't have a more convenient way of doing it.
Removing the mods doesn't cause any crashes or whatsoever

Those test are done in Single Player.
Image
Image2

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Mining Tools 1.0.3

Post by binbinhfr »

Guest_4544 wrote: The newly added dynamite ore works as intended, I had to enable those recipes manually because I already researched the tech and Factorio doesn't have a more convenient way of doing it.
Removing the mods doesn't cause any crashes or whatsoever
I'll work on the recipe updates. Then release the version.

PS: by the way, the "reactor" mod does not seem really finished... :-)
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”