[MOD 0.12.11]ResourceCombinator 0.0.5

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Post Reply
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

[MOD 0.12.11]ResourceCombinator 0.0.5

Post by Choumiko » Mon Sep 21, 2015 10:15 pm

Resource Combinator

Info:
  • Adds a combinator that outputs the amount of resources of the field it's placed on.
    Searches for crude oil in a 13x13 square, outputting following signals:
    Image
    From left to right:
    • Oil/minute including bonus from speed modules
    • Oil/minute without speed modules
    • Number of pumpjacks
    Pictures
    Thanks to drs9999 for making the Resource Monitor Mod. The resource field detection and overlay is taken from there.
  • Name: ResourceCombinator
  • Latest Release: v0.0.5, October 16, 2015
  • Factorio Version: 0.12.11
  • Download: ResourceCombinator 0.0.5
  • License: tbd
  • Website: github
Unlocks with the vanilla combinators. Update frequency is once every second (can be changed in control.lua line 7)
Version history
Last edited by Choumiko on Fri Oct 16, 2015 6:23 pm, edited 6 times in total.

cpw
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 3:47 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.1

Post by cpw » Tue Sep 22, 2015 3:03 pm

Nice! I was thinking about building this myself too. Way to go! :)

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.1

Post by waduk » Tue Sep 22, 2015 5:19 pm

So, this mean we can actually integrated resource count on network ?
Wow,..just wow...

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10645
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.1

Post by ssilk » Tue Sep 22, 2015 11:49 pm

Fantastic improvement of the former idea and makes it now totally in the sense of the game.

How will it work with resources like oil? (yield, slowly depleting)? Fluid resources?
(these are inspirational questions :) )
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.1

Post by Choumiko » Wed Sep 23, 2015 3:13 pm

ssilk wrote:Fantastic improvement of the former idea and makes it now totally in the sense of the game.

How will it work with resources like oil? (yield, slowly depleting)? Fluid resources?
(these are inspirational questions :) )
For now, like this:

Updated to 0.0.2
  • look for resource under combinator first, in neighbouring tiles if none found
  • search for oil wells in a 13x13 square around the combinator
  • outputs oil per 10seconds, number of oil spots as pumpjack signal
The 13x13 square is shown like the supply area of the electric poles. Note that it's oil per 10seconds, as the circuit network only supports integers. The combinator output may even be more precise than the tooltip of a pumpjack due to rounding (or maybe not :D )
Blueprinting a combinator only works if you blueprint the ghosted combinator (the item you place by hand is an electric pole which gets switched via script)
The pumpjack signal is the number of oilspots, not the actual amount of pumpjacks placed.

As always, open for suggestions :)

Vin
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.1

Post by Vin » Fri Sep 25, 2015 1:41 am

Choumiko wrote:
ssilk wrote:Fantastic improvement of the former idea and makes it now totally in the sense of the game.

How will it work with resources like oil? (yield, slowly depleting)? Fluid resources?
(these are inspirational questions :) )
For now, like this:

Updated to 0.0.2
  • look for resource under combinator first, in neighbouring tiles if none found
  • search for oil wells in a 13x13 square around the combinator
  • outputs oil per 10seconds, number of oil spots as pumpjack signal
The 13x13 square is shown like the supply area of the electric poles. Note that it's oil per 10seconds, as the circuit network only supports integers. The combinator output may even be more precise than the tooltip of a pumpjack due to rounding (or maybe not :D )
Blueprinting a combinator only works if you blueprint the ghosted combinator (the item you place by hand is an electric pole which gets switched via script)
The pumpjack signal is the number of oilspots, not the actual amount of pumpjacks placed.

As always, open for suggestions :)
How does the output interact with modules and/or modded pumpjacks? Currently, effect sources won't update the expected output on a pumpjack, but modded pumpjacks with higher base mining power/speed will. Does the resource combinator work the same?

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.1

Post by Choumiko » Fri Sep 25, 2015 6:38 am

Vin wrote:How does the output interact with modules and/or modded pumpjacks? Currently, effect sources won't update the expected output on a pumpjack, but modded pumpjacks with higher base mining power/speed will. Does the resource combinator work the same?
Right now it completely ignores pumpjacks/beacons. What it outputs is calculated by the amount a crude oil spot has. It's basically the oil/10s you'd get if all spots had a pumpjack on it.
I'll probably add/change it so that it works like the tooltip and maybe calc with modules/beacons too.

Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1091
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.2

Post by Peter34 » Fri Sep 25, 2015 11:31 am

This mod looks better and better!

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.1

Post by Choumiko » Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:49 pm

Updated to 0.0.3
  • output oil/10secs as pumpjack signal for oil spots with pumpjack on it
  • # of oil spots as C-signal
  • use speed modifier of inserted modules
A bit of of a prerelease, since i'll probably drop the # of oil spots and oil/10seconds for oil spots without a pumpjack on them. I can't really think of a use for those. If you can think of one, let me know, else the next release will probably output:
  • crude oil signal: Amount of oil per 10 seconds (for crude oil with pumpjacks on it, including speed bonus from modules in the pumpjack)
  • pumpjack signal: # of pumpjacks (so you can calculate the average oil/s)
Anything else that could make sense?

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.3

Post by waduk » Sun Sep 27, 2015 12:18 am

Hey Choumiko, it's me again, asking noob question as usual.
I don't get it how read the value , see pic below.
v.0.0.3
Pic
Pumpjack Icon = Didn't have a clue what value is that. Number of multiplier plus pumpjack from modules ?
C Icon = Self explanatory, number of pumpjack in area that you stated that in the first post.
Crude oil icon = Didn't have a clue, adding/removing pumpjack/modules didn't change that value. Is this with/without modules value ?

Also, why use C signal icon ? I think it would makes sense if the C was replaced by the pumpjack icon and the current pumpjack icon were changed to "pumpjack icon with small modules" overlay.

Also, can you make it the calculation configurable ? I'd like to see the value /min. It doesn't matter if the update rate is every 1 min, not /10s. to reduce script-update.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.3

Post by Choumiko » Sun Sep 27, 2015 9:36 am

waduk wrote:I think it would makes sense if the C was replaced by the pumpjack icon and the current pumpjack icon were changed to "pumpjack icon with small modules" overlay.
Also, can you make it the calculation configurable ? I'd like to see the value /min. It doesn't matter if the update rate is every 1 min, not /10s. to reduce script-update.
How about:
  • pumpjack signal: number of pumpjacks
  • crude oil: oil/min without speed bonus
  • crude oil with small modules: oil/min with speed bonus
Oil/min really seems better, since the production window also uses that. Update rate is already configurable in control.lua line 7
Last edited by Choumiko on Sun Sep 27, 2015 10:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.3

Post by waduk » Sun Sep 27, 2015 10:12 am

Choumiko wrote:
  • pumpjack signal: number of pumpjacks
  • crude oil: oil/min without speed bonus
  • crude oil with small modules: oil/min with speed bonus
Oil/min really seems better, since the production window also uses that. Update rate is already configurable in config.lua line 7
Yeah, that's better. OK, i see the config file, thanks for making it configurable.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.3

Post by Choumiko » Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:04 pm

Updated to 0.0.4

Changes
  • outputs oil/minute instead of oil/10seconds
  • changed meaning of signals (again :D )
Image
From left to right:
  • Oil/minute including bonus from speed modules
  • Oil/minute without speed modules
  • Number of pumpjacks
It doesn't check for beacons with speed modules (yet), also speed bonus is only updated every 5 seconds.

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.4

Post by waduk » Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:14 pm

Thanks for the update and make /min calculation.
Can't test it since i accidentally delete my save file :roll:
But the good thing is i found a bug on new game.
Image

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.4

Post by Choumiko » Sun Sep 27, 2015 4:52 pm

waduk wrote:Can't test it since i accidentally delete my save file :roll:
Sounds bad :o

Add

Code: Select all

global.version = global.version or "0.0.1"
before line 26 and you should be good. I don't know what that "New game" thing is :D

Edit: updated the linked zip to fix the error

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.4

Post by waduk » Sun Sep 27, 2015 9:33 pm

Thanks, the error on new game is gone.
Yeah, i'm really sad about losing my save file (hundreds of hours playtime). :(
Technically it wasn't deleted, but i unknowingly overwrite the save file with other world. :?

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.3

Post by Choumiko » Fri Oct 16, 2015 6:26 pm

updated for Factorio 0.12.11 ResourceCombinator 0.0.5
You should only upgrade from 0.0.4, since i took the opportunity to remove old migration code

Sacredd
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 9:30 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11]ResourceCombinator 0.0.5

Post by Sacredd » Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:35 am

Please upgrade for 14.x.
Or is there any other altenative mod?

User avatar
Brathahn
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11]ResourceCombinator 0.0.5

Post by Brathahn » Sun Oct 09, 2016 11:41 am


Sacredd
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 9:30 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11]ResourceCombinator 0.0.5

Post by Sacredd » Sun Oct 09, 2016 3:03 pm

Brathahn wrote:Try YARM viewtopic.php?f=92&t=16698
Does YARM have some kind of resource combinator?

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users