[MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.3 (Updated '16-05-01)

Topics and discussion about specific mods
User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm

[MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.3 (Updated '16-05-01)

Post by Jackalope_Gaming » Sun Jan 24, 2016 11:50 pm

0.13 notes
This mod -will not- work properly with 0.13 and I have no intention of making it work due to 0.13 making this mod obsolete. If I do make a train mod for 0.13 then it will be a new mod with a different name so people don't get mixed up.

Important notice

You will need to pick up and again place down all your locomotives and cargo wagons to update them properly if you add this mod to an existing game or are updating the mod from before version 1.2.1.

Type: Mod
Name: The 8L Train Project
Description: Standardizes length of cargo wagons and diesel locomotives, with other minor adjustments.
License: MIT License
Version: 1.2.3
Release: 2016-02-13
Tested-With-Factorio-Version: 0.12.22+
Category: SimpleExtension
Tags: Train, locomotive, wagon, length
Download-Url: https://github.com/Jackalope-Gaming/8L- ... tag/v1.2.3 or see download link below in this post.
Website: https://github.com/Jackalope-Gaming/8L-Train-Project

Currently supported mods and mod versions:
FARL >= 0.4.0
RailTanker >= 1.1.3
Bob's Mods/Logistics >=0.12.0
More Locomotives >= 0.3.0
Color Coding >= 1.0.3
Factorio Extended >= 0.1.3
Shuttle Train >= 1.0.1
License
Long description
Pictures
Version history
8L-Train-Project_1.2.3.zip
(2.24 KiB) Downloaded 522 times
8L-Train-Project_1.2.2.zip
(2.2 KiB) Downloaded 380 times
8L-Train-Project_1.2.1.zip
(2.11 KiB) Downloaded 125 times
8L-Train-Project_1.2.0.zip
(2.1 KiB) Downloaded 247 times
Last edited by Jackalope_Gaming on Mon Jun 27, 2016 10:02 am, edited 21 times in total.

User avatar
Buggi
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 6:23 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix

Post by Buggi » Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:26 pm

Excellent work! Now hopefully the dev's see how it should have been done in the first place.
- Buggi -
Here's my Humble YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/FlexibleGames

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10393
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix

Post by ssilk » Tue Jan 26, 2016 4:02 am

Hm. I think this mod does change the game. So it is wrong here. But where should I move it into? I would move it into General mods or maybe better New items... But helper mods would also be valid...
Better ideas?
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3751
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix

Post by Koub » Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:14 am

I'd vote for general : as I understand it, helper mods help but don't change the gameplay. With this mod, gameplay is *slightly* changed (train stations will not be the same as vanilla)
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix

Post by Jackalope_Gaming » Tue Jan 26, 2016 9:11 am

ssilk wrote:Hm. I think this mod does change the game. So it is wrong here. But where should I move it into? I would move it into General mods or maybe better New items... But helper mods would also be valid...
Better ideas?
I suppose it depends on where one draws the line for what's a new item. It doesn't feel like it should be a new item since all I did was change the connection distances between cargo wagons and to a lesser extent diesel locomotives. Then again, if a mod made a near side inserter then I suppose that would count as a new item? Of note is if a new item does not break the game if removed then my mod has absolutely no impact on the game if removed. Oddly enough removing my mod keeps the train length fixed until the trains are picked up or placed by the player.

It definitely doesn't fit in the "Helper" category since, by your reckoning, it does change the game whereas Helper mods are specifically called out as not changing the game.

The Vanilla+ section might work, but that depends on whether tweaking four numbers in the game files counts as game-changing enough. The vanilla game's cargo wagon is 7.3 tiles long and the diesel locomotive is 7.9 units. I simply changed them to both be 8 units.

It seems safest to put it in the General mod pile.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10393
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix

Post by ssilk » Wed Jan 27, 2016 6:03 pm

Moved to General mods, leaving a link in Vanilla+, cause this mod really does change a game and you cannot remove it simply, cause then the train stations don't match anymore.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix

Post by Jackalope_Gaming » Thu Jan 28, 2016 5:55 am

Quite reasonable. Thank you for looking at it.

User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix

Post by Jackalope_Gaming » Sat Feb 13, 2016 11:15 pm

Hello everyone. I have updated this mod with larger graphics for the cargo wagons so that the previous gap between them is now much more reasonable. An updated picture is included in the original post.

User avatar
Buggi
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 6:23 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix (updated 2016-2-13

Post by Buggi » Sun Feb 14, 2016 2:13 pm

I've just noticed on Reddit you've used my channel icon as your reddit icon.

Why would you steal my art like that?
- Buggi -
Here's my Humble YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/FlexibleGames

daniel34
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2757
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:30 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix (updated 2016-2-13

Post by daniel34 » Sun Feb 14, 2016 2:29 pm

Buggi wrote:I've just noticed on Reddit you've used my channel icon as your reddit icon.
Why would you steal my art like that?
To clarify to non-reddit users, this is done automatically:
Image

User avatar
Buggi
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 6:23 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix (updated 2016-2-13

Post by Buggi » Sun Feb 14, 2016 2:48 pm

Yeah, I wasn't aware of this, sorry for that.
- Buggi -
Here's my Humble YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/FlexibleGames

User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix (updated 2016-2-13

Post by Jackalope_Gaming » Sun Feb 14, 2016 8:17 pm

It would seem I need to get an avatar for Reddit so a mixup like that doesn't happen again.

I had assumed that the Factorio subreddit simply put the gear logo in when someone had a link or some other thing and there wasn't a user preferred image, but now I see that's not the case.

Sorry for the mixup, Buggi! I saw the pic at first and had never seen it before so I thought it was a picture indicating the thread hadn't been reviewed for moderation yet but for the life of me I couldn't figure out what FG meant in that context. Now I see it's your Youtube channel pic and I'm wondering how on earth it chose that picture of all things.

Kane
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:34 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix (updated 2016-2-13

Post by Kane » Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:20 am

Should this not be under fixes or hire this guy as a dev or so many other sections beside big mess? I feel like this is the last thing from a mess.

User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix (updated 2016-2-13

Post by Jackalope_Gaming » Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:02 pm

This mod section is called "Big Mess" because it's the place where everything goes that doesn't really fit into the other categories. But this one does overlap with Vanilla + since it has an impact on objects in the game and switching into it or away from it requires redoing train stations.

My hope is the effects of the mod get incorporated into the base game when 0.13 is released, or whatever number they call it since Steam release might be called 1.0 effectively if it goes directly to market instead of Greenlight.

Kane
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:34 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix (updated 2016-2-13

Post by Kane » Tue Feb 23, 2016 12:09 am

Will RailTanker work out of the box with this or will we have some possible issues?

User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix (updated 2016-2-13

Post by Jackalope_Gaming » Tue Feb 23, 2016 2:05 am

Kane wrote:Will RailTanker work out of the box with this or will we have some possible issues?
Yes, it will work without any problems.

Hm, I might work with JamesOFarrell to make an 8 length railtanker since I see the one in the mod is 7.3 like the baseline cargo wagon. Having it at 8.0 long should enable the connections to line up much better.

Kane
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:34 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix (updated 2016-2-13

Post by Kane » Tue Feb 23, 2016 7:05 am

Jackielope wrote:
Kane wrote:Will RailTanker work out of the box with this or will we have some possible issues?
Yes, it will work without any problems.

Hm, I might work with JamesOFarrell to make an 8 length railtanker since I see the one in the mod is 7.3 like the baseline cargo wagon. Having it at 8.0 long should enable the connections to line up much better.
Thanks friend :)

MONOmah_V
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:28 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix (updated 2016-2-13

Post by MONOmah_V » Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:34 pm

I'm trying to expand this fix to Bob's mod's Mk{2,3,armoured} cargo wagons and locos. FIrst of all -- just changing joint and connection distances wouldnt work, Factorio will tell you that something is wrong with collision and/or selection boxes (if modded versions of wagons used values from base). I copied modified values from your mod and everything works fine.

Jackielope, do you have a repository for this mod? I could use some help from factorio community in modding basics and this mod seems good to learn something. ^^

User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix (updated 2016-2-13

Post by Jackalope_Gaming » Tue Mar 01, 2016 12:34 am

I don't have a repository, though I am working on including graphics and such for other mods which so far is just using Photoshop to enlarge the sprite sheets. If I was really shooting for the stars I could make this into something like "The 8L Train Project" where I'd end up supporting as many train mods as I could.

What kinds of things would you (and others who can chip in their opinions) like to see in the repository?

Right now I'm learning how to do the conditional modding where my mod looks for another mod and then does some changes to make interactions work better.

Kane
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:34 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x]Train position and length fix (updated 2016-2-13

Post by Kane » Tue Mar 01, 2016 1:34 am

Mod has been working great for me so far. I hope it's added in 13 but if not I assume this mod will be updated for it :)

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”