[0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Schmendrick
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 11:17 pm
Contact:

[0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by Schmendrick » Sun Jul 06, 2014 11:28 pm

Made from a smart chest and 4 express splitters, terminal chests can be fed items straight from belts.
terminalchest.jpg
terminalchest.jpg (116.46 KiB) Viewed 15092 times
Of course, with all those complicated mechanics going on inside to support this behavior, there isn't as much room left for storage; the terminal chest only holds 8 stacks of items. But that doesn't matter to you, does it, because your improved stack size inserters are busy unloading from it... right?


Note that like other mods that involve scripted behavior for objects, terminal chests won't work if a construction bot places it: the player must place it manually. Hopefully this will change when the devs give us more mod interfaces. Sorry. :)
Attachments
terminalchest.zip
(14.01 KiB) Downloaded 909 times
Like my mods? Check out another! Or see older, pre-0.12.0 mods.

Attilasensei
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 4:33 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by Attilasensei » Tue Jul 08, 2014 4:51 pm

Very useful thank you

Image

User avatar
Lone_Player
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by Lone_Player » Thu Sep 11, 2014 5:30 am

I love this Mod, a bit expensiv... but good things, have there price. :D

Kane
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by Kane » Thu Sep 11, 2014 12:02 pm

Nice bump. did not notice this one.

Alexs
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 9:46 am

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by Alexs » Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:48 pm

very good - thx :D

User avatar
Netoen
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by Netoen » Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:55 am

Hey hey, I'm rather new to factorio, trying to write my own mod, question is: under what licence you make your mod? Cause I wanna get some of it, especially since I only getting into control.lua, may I ? Of course with all the links to you and your mod :)

Schmendrick
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 11:17 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by Schmendrick » Sun Sep 21, 2014 8:32 am

Netoen wrote:Hey hey, I'm rather new to factorio, trying to write my own mod, question is: under what licence you make your mod? Cause I wanna get some of it, especially since I only getting into control.lua, may I ? Of course with all the links to you and your mod :)
https://forums.factorio.com/wiki/inde ... g_Tutorial is old but still a very good intro to modding. Read that, look at the code in various mods to get a feel for how things are laid out.

I'm not sure what you mean by license, Factorio mods are almost universally made under the "do whatever, just don't be rude" "license." (In other words, no license but don't be a jerk.) If you want to just include someone's stuff in your own mod like as a modpack or whatever, ask them if it's okay. Don't try to pass off another's work as your own. But if you want to look at my code to see how something's done, go ahead. Terminal Chests is pretty simple, really, so I don't know how much you can really learn from it, other than the very basics of a few things.
Like my mods? Check out another! Or see older, pre-0.12.0 mods.

User avatar
Netoen
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by Netoen » Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:01 am

You can't really imagine what one can learn from what other think
Schmendrick wrote:is pretty simple
:) When learning from most scratches both Lua and Factorio your code is a very good example. Thank you for the permission, would it be enough to add info on you in info.json as well as comments inside code itself ? I already added some rows myself, yet I want to people to know who made it possible for this mod to be borned.
And about licence: a lot of mod developers all over the gaming communities include something like "mod distributed under <licence>", for instance GNU GPL - it is basically a not-bad way to tell everyone "Yes, you can take my source code and do whatever you want with it, but as long as you follow rules, for example mentioning me in your job, or not modifying my code. I'm kinda used to it as a user, though first time as a developer and I'm aware of using someone's stuff without proper permission. :)
Oh, and about that link - it was first place I went to. But it's most basic, and had (almost) nothing with moving items, etc.

Schmendrick
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 11:17 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by Schmendrick » Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:32 am

Of course recognition is appreciated, but it's not necessary.
Like my mods? Check out another! Or see older, pre-0.12.0 mods.

starxplor
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 11:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by starxplor » Tue Sep 30, 2014 8:47 am

Are there any known bugs in the chests not accepting items from dytech belts? Sometimes when I place a chest it will not load any items from a 5th tier dytech belt(green), but sometimes it does. In one case, with Iron Plates, it accepts from one side of a belt but not the other.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 9185
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by Rseding91 » Tue Sep 30, 2014 3:59 pm

starxplor wrote:Are there any known bugs in the chests not accepting items from dytech belts? Sometimes when I place a chest it will not load any items from a 5th tier dytech belt(green), but sometimes it does. In one case, with Iron Plates, it accepts from one side of a belt but not the other.
That's going to be an issue with the way items are moved on belts. The dytech 5th tier belts move them so fast (and so far per movement) that the game goes "No, you can't move any closer to the chest - there's a chest in the way" and then the item isn't close enough to the chest for it to be detected and sucked up by the chest. It's the same issue with the underground belts from dytech not working.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

starxplor
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 11:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by starxplor » Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:52 pm

I havent had a chance to try, but would changing the last belt to a 4th teir help, or is that too fast/far as well? It also seems to be random, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't, and sometimes it works for a few pieces then stops. Is there a known number of belt items that must be present to make the last hop line up properly?

pdiddy973
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 4:50 am
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by pdiddy973 » Sun Nov 09, 2014 12:17 am

hey is their a way to mod the mod for a different recipe and tech? i feel like their should be different teirs of these that go with the different teir belts

Boogieman14
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 12:59 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by Boogieman14 » Fri Nov 21, 2014 4:59 pm

As of 0.11.2 it's now possible to make these work when placed by robots. Minor change in control.lua required.

Replace the event handler from line 15 to 25 with the following bit of code:

Code: Select all

function builtEntity(event)
	if event.createdentity.name == "terminal-chest" then
		local p = event.createdentity.position
		
		table.insert(terminal_chest_list,{
				event.createdentity,
				{{p.x-.5,p.y-.5},{p.x+.5,p.y+.5}},
				event.createdentity.getinventory(defines.inventory.chest)
				})
	end
end

game.onevent(defines.events.onbuiltentity, builtEntity)
game.onevent(defines.events.onrobotbuiltentity, builtEntity)
I don't have OCD, I have CDO. It's the same, but with the letters in the correct order.

User avatar
AlphaRaptor
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by AlphaRaptor » Mon Dec 08, 2014 1:52 pm

Is there a Update for This mod ?

I like this Mod and its Cool , please Update it , THANKS :D
Live your life like you want.
Mods are still Awesome , and i love Mods , for every Game.

Lov'in it.

Neotix
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by Neotix » Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:06 pm

Update isn't needed. Mod is working fine with v0.11.5.

User avatar
AlphaRaptor
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by AlphaRaptor » Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:12 pm

Is it Working for MP too ?
Live your life like you want.
Mods are still Awesome , and i love Mods , for every Game.

Lov'in it.

Neotix
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by Neotix » Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:13 pm

I don't know.

User avatar
AlphaRaptor
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by AlphaRaptor » Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:14 pm

Can you try it ? , you can Simply use Evolve for it

Its Free and its Nice :D
Live your life like you want.
Mods are still Awesome , and i love Mods , for every Game.

Lov'in it.

starxplor
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 11:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Post by starxplor » Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:38 pm

AlphaRaptor wrote:Can you try it ? , you can Simply use Evolve for it

Its Free and its Nice :D
AlphaRaptor, did it work when you tried the mod in MP?

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users