My first research station

Post pictures and videos of your factories.
If possible, please post also the blueprints/maps of your creations!
For art/design etc. you can go to Fan Art.

Post Reply
Tinyboss
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:11 pm
Contact:

My first research station

Post by Tinyboss » Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:01 pm

It's nothing special compared to the veterans' creations here, but it's mine. :-) It keeps seven labs running red-green-blue research full time with iron and copper hauled in via train.
image
Full-size image here.

User avatar
Xterminator
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 970
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: My first research station

Post by Xterminator » Mon Nov 17, 2014 5:30 pm

Wow not bad at all man. While it may not be very big, your setup and the rest of your factory looks very clean and organized. :D
I only wish I could have this much organization in my factories. Alas, I always end up with a spaghetti maze of belts and power poles. Lol
Image Image Image

Tinyboss
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:11 pm
Contact:

Re: My first research station

Post by Tinyboss » Tue Nov 18, 2014 1:14 pm

Hey, thanks! What this picture (strategically) hides is the abandoned Red/Green science station to the north that was a spaghetti maze of belts and power poles. ;-) I started out making a factory just for blue, then decided to tack on new and improved red/green production lines and move the labs.

In my next playthrough, I'm looking forward to a more planned approach to oil refining. I love/hate how messy the pipes get if you don't plan ahead!

ClayC
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 8:01 am
Contact:

Re: My first research station

Post by ClayC » Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:11 am

Nice one dude, although I like to give you a few pointers
Starting from the top from what i see you have a few copper wire assemblers. Instead of them spreaded around I would've captured the copper plates which seem to only be needed for them and red science packs, in the first part and producing copper wire and have a small conveyor to where this is needed, which then you can have the Electronic units be next to eachother aswell outputting at one area and moving to wherever is needed.

I see that you also have a few belts clogged up on one side and the other is empty, in this case I'd prefer to fully fill the belts, that is so if something happens I'd have a good storage on the belts themselves. Let's say an attack and they destroyed your belt quite close to your labs for example, instead of having 10 of an item you'll have 20.

Even though soon you'll most probably be using the robots to move stuff around, something which I'm implementing in my factory right now, things will be neater.

But good work man, keep it up :)

Post Reply

Return to “Show your Creations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users