Station!!

Post pictures and videos of your factories.
If possible, please post also the blueprints/maps of your creations!
For art/design etc. you can go to Fan Art.

Post Reply
jakobeng1303
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 12:20 pm
Contact:

Station!!

Post by jakobeng1303 » Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:33 am

Hey guys, I'm a train fan in factorio!! I love big system and stations and I wanted to ask if you could post pictures of your stations with a short description under this post thank you!

User avatar
MisterSpock
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: Station!!

Post by MisterSpock » Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:59 am

atm im optimizing my trainnetwork:

Image
Supplytrain reloading repairpacks, walls and laserturrets


Image
Overview. The big cross isnt efficient: Pathfinding isnt optimal, and sometimes trains stop. So defense is required.


Image
240Items/s


Image
Iron outpost


Image
Solarfarm and turningpoint

Turtle
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 227
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 9:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Station!!

Post by Turtle » Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:22 am

Did you play TTD, MisterSpock? Your railways and stations look a lot like the way many people played TTD!

User avatar
MisterSpock
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: Station!!

Post by MisterSpock » Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:27 am

Turtle wrote:Did you play TTD, MisterSpock? Your railways and stations look a lot like the way many people played TTD!
No, sorry. I copied a highwaycross.

Turtle
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 227
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 9:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Station!!

Post by Turtle » Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:43 am

This is how I like to load/unload my trains:
train-loading.jpg
train-loading.jpg (123.08 KiB) Viewed 10576 times
train-unloading.jpg
train-unloading.jpg (114.1 KiB) Viewed 10576 times

jakobeng1303
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 12:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Station!!

Post by jakobeng1303 » Wed Jul 09, 2014 8:30 am

The stations lokk really cool!!!! But the trains are very small. I am using a concept at the moment where trains just turn around and go the same way the come in out. I had/hvae big problems with signals because I didn't realise a signal sets a direction a train can go. I will post pictures later today cuz my laptop isn't avaiable at the moment. But basically I have 7 short and 2 long platforms. You can just reach 2 small platforms fom both sides

sillyfly
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1099
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: Station!!

Post by sillyfly » Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:27 am

My rail system (currently :) )

Image

And the main unload/sorting station (currently quite messy, I know):
Image

The other stations are pretty basic, only loading ores or oil.

(note: the automatic image stitcher did an ok job stitching the multiple screenshots for the map, but you can still see mismatches and skewed parts. Oh, well - better than stitching 8 pictures by hand :) )

jakobeng1303
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 12:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Station!!

Post by jakobeng1303 » Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:04 pm

As you can see I have a big system!
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2014-07-09 um 21.00.38.png
Bildschirmfoto 2014-07-09 um 21.00.38.png (454.98 KiB) Viewed 10347 times
Bildschirmfoto 2014-07-09 um 21.00.34.png
Bildschirmfoto 2014-07-09 um 21.00.34.png (450.56 KiB) Viewed 10347 times
Bildschirmfoto 2014-07-09 um 21.00.27.png
Bildschirmfoto 2014-07-09 um 21.00.27.png (538.38 KiB) Viewed 10347 times

jakobeng1303
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 12:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Station!!

Post by jakobeng1303 » Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:15 pm

i can't upload pictures anymore shiiiiiiiiiit

jakobeng1303
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 12:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Station!!

Post by jakobeng1303 » Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:28 pm


User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10462
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Station!!

Post by ssilk » Thu Jul 10, 2014 4:31 am

moved from General to here... -- ssilk
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

ColonelWill
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:25 am
Contact:

Re: Station!!

Post by ColonelWill » Thu Jul 17, 2014 4:43 pm

@ sillyfly

Very impressive rail network, could I trouble you for the map string so I could build something similar myself have been looking for a good map to a big network.

Many thanks

Will

jakobeng1303
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 12:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Station!!

Post by jakobeng1303 » Tue Jul 29, 2014 1:31 pm

i have just recently upgraded my network! I am going to post a picture in the evening!

User avatar
sbroadbent
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 11:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Station!!

Post by sbroadbent » Mon Aug 18, 2014 8:37 am

I had a limited space to build my station so I didn't do anything complicated. I'll eventually be upgrading the stops at this station to handle 4 wagon trains, but such has not been required up till now. With that said, I've built up my rail network to enable bringing online a number of new mining outposts. Click on the map (link) to view a larger version.

My home train station has two East bound stations and 2 westbound stations, in which I have two active 2-wagon trains, though "East 2" station is my personal rail stop so no other trains use it. It's where I park when I return home. Most people use cars to get around, I got my own 3 wagon train ;)

In addition, I setup a dedicated stop for unloading Crude Oil Barrels and loading empty barrels. I have so much oil though that I have an entire chest full of crude barrels waiting to be emptied, but no more capacity in my storage tanks. Some of the Oil line stops also had a limited amount of stone and other ore so I had a separate stop setup for those resources.

Image

My rail network has 4 main routes. The West Line which travels west and to the south, the East Line, which travels East along the lake to South Base Transfer Station. The North Line which travels north to North Base Transfer station and the North Loop to the North-East. Both North Base and South Base will act as transfer stations where other smaller local lines will converge so that resources are transported efficiently home. Up till now I've not required any of these main routes, with the exception of some iron and copper mining along the West Line, though resource consumption has spiked leading me to establish more mining operations.

Image
SB Gaming Youtube Channel:
ImageImage
Also includes series for Cities Skylines, Prison Architect, Euro Truck Simulator 2, Far Cry 2, and Test Drive Unlimited 2.

Post Reply

Return to “Show your Creations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Zyin