3 bit adder

Post pictures and videos of your factories.
If possible, please post also the blueprints/maps of your creations!
For art/design etc. you can go to Fan Art.

Post Reply
User avatar
quadrapod
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 12:54 am

3 bit adder

Post by quadrapod » Thu Jan 23, 2014 1:16 am

Just something I thought I'd try out real quick, it's a little finicky but works.

Input is in the form of copper bars put into the red and yellow chests.
image

User avatar
cube
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1111
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:14 pm

Re: 3 bit adder

Post by cube » Thu Jan 23, 2014 10:06 am

Wow, yesterday i was thinking about making a challenge here on the forums for it.
Image

Anyway, you are the winner :-)
I have no idea what I'm talking about.

User avatar
quadrapod
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 12:54 am

Re: 3 bit adder

Post by quadrapod » Thu Jan 23, 2014 4:19 pm

cube wrote:Wow, yesterday i was thinking about making a challenge here on the forums for it.
Image

Anyway, you are the winner :-)

I do like being the winner. Is there a prize. :P

Gammro
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 357
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:45 pm

Re: 3 bit adder

Post by Gammro » Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:00 pm

My factorio logic is a bit rusty/non-existent. Can you explain how it works? Also, which of the in- and outputs are the least and most significant bit? I assume most to least significant are still left to right?

Cool work! I was thinking of doing some logic stuff myself, but I feel a bit intimidated by the mess of wires it gives :P
Ignore this

User avatar
quadrapod
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 12:54 am

Re: 3 bit adder

Post by quadrapod » Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:20 pm

Gammro wrote:My factorio logic is a bit rusty/non-existent. Can you explain how it works? Also, which of the in- and outputs are the least and most significant bit? I assume most to least significant are still left to right?

Cool work! I was thinking of doing some logic stuff myself, but I feel a bit intimidated by the mess of wires it gives :P

Yeah LSB is on the left and it's a simple ripple carry adder with some extra chests and inserters in there for timing. It's one time use then it needs to be reloaded unfortunately, and some of the inserters need to be destroyed and replaced due to a bug.

User avatar
cube
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1111
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:14 pm

Re: 3 bit adder

Post by cube » Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:50 pm

That bug is "Inserters picking things up when unpowered" ?

Also, what do you think would be a best small change to make logic stuff in factorio easier?
I have no idea what I'm talking about.

User avatar
quadrapod
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 12:54 am

Re: 3 bit adder

Post by quadrapod » Thu Jan 23, 2014 7:43 pm

cube wrote:That bug is "Inserters picking things up when unpowered" ?

Also, what do you think would be a best small change to make logic stuff in factorio easier?

Yeah that's the bug, and I only found it because I was making things like this.

As for small changes, being able to disable parts of the electrical network would be nice, maybe give substations some kind of fuse panel, so that if they don't have a fuse in them they don't power anything or transmit power down the line. That would in theory make constucting things like an ALU possible as well as giving more purpose to logic systems.

Post Reply

Return to “Show your Creations”