Factorio Computer
-
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 155
- Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:26 pm
- Contact:
Factorio Computer
In anticipation of 0.12, I've started laying the groundwork for a computer.
The plan is to make 2 kb of flash memory in 256 4 Byte cells which will double as RAM. Right now I'm anticipating a clock speed of about 4-6 Hz. Took a few pictures of the wiring I've laid so far.
Here's the main bus: Overview; have the wiring for 1 out of the 8 memory modules laid. One of the more complicated junctions...
What do you guys think?
The plan is to make 2 kb of flash memory in 256 4 Byte cells which will double as RAM. Right now I'm anticipating a clock speed of about 4-6 Hz. Took a few pictures of the wiring I've laid so far.
Here's the main bus: Overview; have the wiring for 1 out of the 8 memory modules laid. One of the more complicated junctions...
What do you guys think?
- vampiricdust
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 317
- Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:31 am
- Contact:
Re: Factorio Computer
That's awesome! Is there a way to hardwire a program or perhaps use requester chests to store it? Be neat if we use blueprints to pass programs between "computers".
-
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 952
- Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 12:10 pm
- Contact:
Re: Factorio Computer
you can compact the bus if you realize that each item is its own channel on the wire, that means each string of poles has 2*number of items channels for data transfer and each channel can hold (presumably) a 32 bit word
so you can encode each column to a specific item and use a multiplexer to select a row to pull.
then on the cpu side you select the exact word(s) you want by splitting out the channel again and use another multiplexer.
so you can encode each column to a specific item and use a multiplexer to select a row to pull.
then on the cpu side you select the exact word(s) you want by splitting out the channel again and use another multiplexer.
Re: Factorio Computer
Sounds like a two core fiber glass cable to me, Awesome Ideaeach string of poles has 2*number of items channels for data transfer and each channel can hold (presumably) a 32 bit word
Re: Factorio Computer
Oh wow. I think I want your savegame. It will be the true test for the migration of the circuit wires and networks
send me a PM if you want.
I see you have mods. That might be a problem when moving to 0.12 since most mods will be broken.
![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif)
I see you have mods. That might be a problem when moving to 0.12 since most mods will be broken.
-
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 155
- Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:26 pm
- Contact:
Re: Factorio Computer
I thought about doing this, but a large part of the reason I'm building this is to teach myself how all this works. So with a few exceptions I'm trying to make it as binary as possible. Theoretically if one were very clever this could work with only one line of poles doubling as data and address buses, since there are quite a few different items in the game to use. Each memory cell would have to be programmed individually though...ratchetfreak wrote:you can compact the bus if you realize that each item is its own channel on the wire, that means each string of poles has 2*number of items channels for data transfer and each channel can hold (presumably) a 32 bit word
so you can encode each column to a specific item and use a multiplexer to select a row to pull.
then on the cpu side you select the exact word(s) you want by splitting out the channel again and use another multiplexer.
The only mod I have is active is landfill, I'm just praying that 0.11 saves will be forward compatible with 0.12. They should be, right?Twinsen wrote:I see you have mods. That might be a problem when moving to 0.12 since most mods will be broken.
Re: Factorio Computer
Yes, we are doing quite some work to make saves forward compatible. That's why I wanted your save, to test forward-compatibility so your save will work perfectly in day 1 of 0.12Lupoviridae wrote:I'm just praying that 0.11 saves will be forward compatible with 0.12. They should be, right?
![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif)
Re: Factorio Computer
In other words, Lupoviridae: If you want to make the community a good, then provide the saves, no matter how good or bad you think it is built.
(Indeed: The more ugly, the better)
![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif)
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...
-
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 155
- Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:26 pm
- Contact:
Re: Factorio Computer
Here's the latest save file
-
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 155
- Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:26 pm
- Contact:
Re: Factorio Computer
A few new pictures, all ready for 0.12.
First off, here's the map overview of the completed memory, far bigger than my entire base. And here is the future site of the address decoder: 8 bits in (4 red, 4 green) to 2 x 16 lines out.
This will also control the clock enable and read/write signal distribution. Last but not least here is the main bus that will tie in to the CPU.
From left to right...
1x Large pole: carries read (red), write (green), and clock enable (blue)
4x large poles: 8 bit address bus
16x med poles: 32 bit data bus On a side note the electric field has grown so large I have actually hit a bug where the game crashes if i try to remove any existing electric pole. Thankfully it has already been fixed for 0.12, but man is it annoying to build around lol
First off, here's the map overview of the completed memory, far bigger than my entire base. And here is the future site of the address decoder: 8 bits in (4 red, 4 green) to 2 x 16 lines out.
This will also control the clock enable and read/write signal distribution. Last but not least here is the main bus that will tie in to the CPU.
From left to right...
1x Large pole: carries read (red), write (green), and clock enable (blue)
4x large poles: 8 bit address bus
16x med poles: 32 bit data bus On a side note the electric field has grown so large I have actually hit a bug where the game crashes if i try to remove any existing electric pole. Thankfully it has already been fixed for 0.12, but man is it annoying to build around lol
-
- Inserter
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:38 pm
- Contact:
Re: Factorio Computer
Dude, this is fantastic. Very inspiring. I think I know what I'll be doing when .12 is released. ![Wink ;)](./images/smilies/icon_e_wink.gif)
![Wink ;)](./images/smilies/icon_e_wink.gif)
Re: Factorio Computer
I cannot even begin to comprehend what all of this is doing and how you would use it. It looks very impressive and I can't imagine how much time went into this.
I think if I used red/green wires more in my bases maybe some of this might make sense, but I never use any green/red wires and I rarely use smart inserters.
I think if I used red/green wires more in my bases maybe some of this might make sense, but I never use any green/red wires and I rarely use smart inserters.
-
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 180
- Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 7:49 pm
- Contact:
Re: Factorio Computer
I don't even...
It is just so...
How does it even...
I just...
Wha...
*waits for brain to solidify*
That is one epic build man! And you did it in 'survival' as well! And I thought I was intelligent...
I wonder - how similar is it to real computers (maybe to old ones) and will it be able to run any program that it has the memory to?
Whatever it does:
![Image](https://forums.factorio.com/images/ext/1b0f7a7c94b462283314b61efdd6d78b.gif)
It is just so...
How does it even...
I just...
Wha...
*waits for brain to solidify*
That is one epic build man! And you did it in 'survival' as well! And I thought I was intelligent...
I wonder - how similar is it to real computers (maybe to old ones) and will it be able to run any program that it has the memory to?
Whatever it does:
![Image](https://forums.factorio.com/images/ext/1b0f7a7c94b462283314b61efdd6d78b.gif)
FactoriOh No: when it's accidentally 2am, again
-
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 155
- Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:26 pm
- Contact:
Re: Factorio Computer
It is built almost exactly like a real computer and works in the same way. So theoretically yes, it could run any program smaller than 2 kB. Although with no operating system any program would have to be built without using code. (in other words programmed directly into binary) I'm hoping that once the new inputs come out (late 0.12 or 0.13) I will be able to program simple games; namely pong or space invaders.Jonathan88 wrote:I don't even...
I wonder - how similar is it to real computers (maybe to old ones) and will it be able to run any program that it has the memory to?
On a side note, my first task on the release of 0.12 will be placing the approximately 13,000 combinators required to actually make this memory functional.
![Laughing :lol:](./images/smilies/icon_lol.gif)
-
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 180
- Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 7:49 pm
- Contact:
Re: Factorio Computer
Ha haLupoviridae wrote:On a side note, my first task on the release of 0.12 will be placing the approximately 13,000 combinators required to actually make this memory functional.
![Very Happy :D](./images/smilies/icon_e_biggrin.gif)
![Laughing :lol:](./images/smilies/icon_lol.gif)
![Shocked :shock:](./images/smilies/icon_eek.gif)
FactoriOh No: when it's accidentally 2am, again
Re: Factorio Computer
Wow!
That is so inspiring Lupoviridae!!!
I consider myself "computer smart" but this doesn't make much sense to me... Where did you learn how to make this?
That is so inspiring Lupoviridae!!!
I consider myself "computer smart" but this doesn't make much sense to me... Where did you learn how to make this?
No, I'm not a piece of cheese! ![Very Happy :D](./images/smilies/icon_e_biggrin.gif)
![Very Happy :D](./images/smilies/icon_e_biggrin.gif)
- vampiricdust
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 317
- Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:31 am
- Contact:
Re: Factorio Computer
Blueprints for the win!Jonathan88 wrote:Ha haLupoviridae wrote:On a side note, my first task on the release of 0.12 will be placing the approximately 13,000 combinators required to actually make this memory functional.![]()
![]()
13000! Wow - good luck with that! I'll see you in a few years when you're done!
I wonder if they posted the ingredients for the combinators anywhere? Doubt it'll be much, but probably some green circuits will be heavily used.
-
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 155
- Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:26 pm
- Contact:
Re: Factorio Computer
Thanks! It's all self-taught. I started off learning the logic gate layout for NAND and NOR flash memory, and adapted it to combinators.Gouada wrote:Wow!
That is so inspiring Lupoviridae!!!
I consider myself "computer smart" but this doesn't make much sense to me... Where did you learn how to make this?
Each memory "bit" is composed of 6 combinators.
2 Address controllers; that disallow reading and writing when the cell is not being addressed
2 tri-state buffers; that control reading/writing, disconnecting the bit from the data bus when the address controllers are not active
1 memory cell; that stores the binary 1 or 0
1 write buffer; since the memory cell uses R>G;R (if red is > green, output red), a write signal (green) drains the memory cell. The buffer is an arithmetic R*2, allowing the cell to actually be written with a 1.
Also including a light with each bit, to tell its status at a glance.
![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif)
- Phillip_Lynx
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 541
- Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 6:00 pm
- Contact:
Re: Factorio Computer
do you think you can make a Game of Life with this?
-
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 952
- Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 12:10 pm
- Contact:
Re: Factorio Computer
You don't even need combinators for GoL
tricky part is the timing
tricky part is the timing