Py Raw Ores came out

Replaces resource spawning system, so that the distances between resources are much bigger. Railway is needed then.

Moderators: Dark, orzelek

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3686
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: Py Raw Ores came out

Post by orzelek »

TwentyEighty wrote:
Wed Mar 27, 2019 4:52 pm
orzelek wrote:
Tue Mar 26, 2019 11:16 pm
I'm sorry but I think I need a bit more information - they are actually pretty similar in definition.

Main difference would be the size aka count of them per spawn. Is that what you mean?
Salt rock is actually much more rich but there is only one - so dropping richness by factor of lets say 4 and making them spawn in small clusters would help?
Yes, exactly. The number of salt mines I'm able to find is more of a problem than the amount of salt in the mines, since each mine only gives 10 salt per second.
I'll edit it but won't be doing special separate release only for this.

TwentyEighty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Py Raw Ores came out

Post by TwentyEighty »

Great thank you

ShadowGlass
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 1:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Py Raw Ores came out

Post by ShadowGlass »

There's a bit of a problem with PyMods starting resources. If both Py Ore and Py Petroleum Handling is used, then chromium ore should have (smaller than normal) starting patch. Could you please change the "ore-chromium" entry in pyrawores.lua to something like this:

Code: Select all

	config["ore-chromium"] = {
		type="resource-ore",
		allotment=80,
		spawns_per_region={min=1, max=1},
		richness=25000,
		size={min=20, max=30}, 
		min_amount=250,
		starting={richness=4000, size=15, probability=0}
	}
	
	if game.active_mods["pypetroleumhandling"] then
		config["ore-chromium"].starting.probability=1
	end
I've tested this, and it works correctly.

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3686
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: Py Raw Ores came out

Post by orzelek »

ShadowGlass wrote:
Thu Oct 03, 2019 6:54 pm
There's a bit of a problem with PyMods starting resources. If both Py Ore and Py Petroleum Handling is used, then chromium ore should have (smaller than normal) starting patch. Could you please change the "ore-chromium" entry in pyrawores.lua to something like this:

Code: Select all

	config["ore-chromium"] = {
		type="resource-ore",
		allotment=80,
		spawns_per_region={min=1, max=1},
		richness=25000,
		size={min=20, max=30}, 
		min_amount=250,
		starting={richness=4000, size=15, probability=0}
	}
	
	if game.active_mods["pypetroleumhandling"] then
		config["ore-chromium"].starting.probability=1
	end
I've tested this, and it works correctly.
This would make it have completely no starting patch. Should it be just smaller or not at all?
I'd need to check how those mods set up the ores but they do it in pretty complex ways.

ShadowGlass
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 1:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Py Raw Ores came out

Post by ShadowGlass »

orzelek wrote:
Thu Oct 03, 2019 9:19 pm
ShadowGlass wrote:
Thu Oct 03, 2019 6:54 pm
There's a bit of a problem with PyMods starting resources. If both Py Ore and Py Petroleum Handling is used, then chromium ore should have (smaller than normal) starting patch. Could you please change the "ore-chromium" entry in pyrawores.lua to something like this:

Code: Select all

	config["ore-chromium"] = {
		type="resource-ore",
		allotment=80,
		spawns_per_region={min=1, max=1},
		richness=25000,
		size={min=20, max=30}, 
		min_amount=250,
		starting={richness=4000, size=15, probability=0}
	}
	
	if game.active_mods["pypetroleumhandling"] then
		config["ore-chromium"].starting.probability=1
	end
I've tested this, and it works correctly.
This would make it have completely no starting patch. Should it be just smaller or not at all?
I'd need to check how those mods set up the ores but they do it in pretty complex ways.
Currently it has no starting patch (it is probability=0 in the current version). The main change is the if at the end that changes the probability to 1, if the other mod is also active. I did change the starting richness/size to be lower, but since the probability is already 0, that shouldn't affect the default case.

User avatar
ChurchOrganist
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Py Raw Ores came out

Post by ChurchOrganist »

I have been streaming a Pyanodon map on Twitch for the last 3 Saturdays using all the currently available Pyanodon mods, and RSO to regulate the ore distribution which seems to be broken in vanilla. In this morning's stream I ran into a problem - Green science requires rubber and the machine which makes it requires chromium to craft it.

Currently chromium is not available in the starting area - consequently, although I have found a patch of chromium on the map, it is miles away and unbeltable without landfill - which, of course, requires green science to make. I was only able to get to it to examine it via the new walkable water tiles.

Chromium, therefore, needs to be available in the starting area now.

Any chance of a fix soon??

PS The vanilla distribution of some of Pyanodon's ores is very strange - setting frequency to minimum (17%) results in huge patches of the ore forming - don't know whether this will have any bearing on RSO's ore generation algorithm.
Want to know where the biters chewing your power plant have come from??
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3686
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: Py Raw Ores came out

Post by orzelek »

ChurchOrganist wrote:
Sat Nov 23, 2019 1:41 pm
I have been streaming a Pyanodon map on Twitch for the last 3 Saturdays using all the currently available Pyanodon mods, and RSO to regulate the ore distribution which seems to be broken in vanilla. In this morning's stream I ran into a problem - Green science requires rubber and the machine which makes it requires chromium to craft it.

Currently chromium is not available in the starting area - consequently, although I have found a patch of chromium on the map, it is miles away and unbeltable without landfill - which, of course, requires green science to make. I was only able to get to it to examine it via the new walkable water tiles.

Chromium, therefore, needs to be available in the starting area now.

Any chance of a fix soon??

PS The vanilla distribution of some of Pyanodon's ores is very strange - setting frequency to minimum (17%) results in huge patches of the ore forming - don't know whether this will have any bearing on RSO's ore generation algorithm.
Is chromium in starting area without RSO?
There is a chance you are unlucky with spawns outside starting area and it's far out due to that.

I did not create the Py Ores config personally - it was provided by someone here on the forums. If it has an error and Chromium should be in starting area then it's pretty easy to fix.
It won't automatically spawn it for you in existing game even if it's changed in config. Starting area is spawned only once.

User avatar
ChurchOrganist
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Py Raw Ores came out

Post by ChurchOrganist »

Just done some testing and out of 5 vanilla restarts Chromium appears in the visible area at the start of the game 4 out of 5 times although not in the bright square immediately round the player.

The amounts vary from minuscule (17k) to reasonable 144k

This was done using unchanged terrain or resource settings apart from turning off biters.

It is the recipe changes in Pyanodon Petroleum handling which are causing this problem.

May I suggest that you change line 28 of the pyrawores config file to read:

Code: Select all

starting={richness=8000, size=20, probability=1}
That will give a small patch with which to get you through to green science.

If you're not using Pyanodon Petroleum Handling then you don't need Chromium in the starting area, but it is probably best to include it by default, as if it is not there and inaccesible you can't get through to Green Science.
Want to know where the biters chewing your power plant have come from??
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar

User avatar
ChurchOrganist
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Py Raw Ores came out

Post by ChurchOrganist »

Just done a bit more digging.

This is an extract from the chromium definition file from the latest version of Pyanodon Raw Ores......

Code: Select all

 starting_area = true,
    collision_box = {{-0.1, -0.1}, {0.1, 0.1}},
    selection_box = {{-0.5, -0.5}, {0.5, 0.5}},
    autoplace = {
        control = "ore-chromium",
        sharpness = 15/16,
        richness_multiplier = 1500,
        richness_multiplier_distance_bonus = 20,
        richness_base = 10,
        coverage = 0.0003,
        peaks = {
            {
                noise_layer = "ore-chromium",
                noise_octaves_difference = -0.85,
                noise_persistence = 0.4
            }
        }
    },
So it's obviously supposed to be a starting area resource.

HTH :)
Want to know where the biters chewing your power plant have come from??
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3686
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: Py Raw Ores came out

Post by orzelek »

This is how autoplace looks when it has starting area spawn:

Code: Select all

  {
    order = order,
    control = name,
    sharpness = 15/16,
    richness_multiplier = 1500,
    richness_multiplier_distance_bonus = 20,
    richness_base = 10,
    coverage = coverage,
    peaks =
    {
      {
        noise_layer = name,
        noise_octaves_difference = -0.85,
        noise_persistence = 0.4
      }
    },
    starting_area_size = 5500 * coverage,
    starting_area_amount = 1600
  }
end
I'm not sure what that variable starting_area = true that you found does.
It might be something that Py code is processing further to add the starting_area_* definitions to autoplace.

Asked the question on Py forums we'll see. If it's needed for green science then it could go both ways - Py might want people to go exploring early.

User avatar
ChurchOrganist
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Py Raw Ores came out

Post by ChurchOrganist »

orzelek wrote:
Sun Nov 24, 2019 11:27 am
Py might want people to go exploring early.
If we have to go exploring then we would need cars/rails to be available in red science
Want to know where the biters chewing your power plant have come from??
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar

kingarthur
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1204
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:39 am
Contact:

Re: Py Raw Ores came out

Post by kingarthur »

orzelek wrote:
Sun Nov 24, 2019 11:27 am
This is how autoplace looks when it has starting area spawn:

Code: Select all

  {
    order = order,
    control = name,
    sharpness = 15/16,
    richness_multiplier = 1500,
    richness_multiplier_distance_bonus = 20,
    richness_base = 10,
    coverage = coverage,
    peaks =
    {
      {
        noise_layer = name,
        noise_octaves_difference = -0.85,
        noise_persistence = 0.4
      }
    },
    starting_area_size = 5500 * coverage,
    starting_area_amount = 1600
  }
end
I'm not sure what that variable starting_area = true that you found does.
It might be something that Py code is processing further to add the starting_area_* definitions to autoplace.

Asked the question on Py forums we'll see. If it's needed for green science then it could go both ways - Py might want people to go exploring early.
its not processed anymore or anything. it probably just doesnt do anything as the autoplace has changed several times and most of pymods are not updated to the current format for autoplace code

User avatar
ChurchOrganist
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Py Raw Ores came out

Post by ChurchOrganist »

Any progress on putting chrome in the starting area ??
Want to know where the biters chewing your power plant have come from??
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar

valneq
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: Py Raw Ores came out

Post by valneq »

RSO Changelogs wrote: Version: 5.0.24
Date: 2019.11.19
Changes:
- updated tiberium support to handle latest update by Oktabyte
- added small chromium patch to starting area in PyOres

User avatar
ChurchOrganist
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Py Raw Ores came out

Post by ChurchOrganist »

valneq wrote:
Sat Nov 30, 2019 5:43 pm
RSO Changelogs wrote: Version: 5.0.24
Date: 2019.11.19
Changes:
- updated tiberium support to handle latest update by Oktabyte
- added small chromium patch to starting area in PyOres
Thanks - guess I missed the update :)
Want to know where the biters chewing your power plant have come from??
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar

Post Reply

Return to “Resource Spawner Overhaul”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users