[0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Replaces resource spawning system, so that the distances between resources are much bigger. Railway is needed then.

Moderators: orzelek, Dark

Locked
orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3911
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by orzelek »

The thing is - that very small patch with lots of resources is in a way showing how rng can behave :)

From what I can see due to lots of play styles people are searching for different things - thats why config file is so full of various options already.
I'm still planning to add separate richness modifier for starting area - for some people who like to get their starting area as scarce as possible.

I think that 1.3.0 should be a bit better in the distance relation - previous ones had quite low distance influence. It's still exponential so playing around with factors in config file needs to be done carefully - you can easily get it out of hand.

User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by cpy »

I haven't disabled enemy expansion, but they are still not expanding. Any idea why?

yeganer
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by yeganer »

activate show_enemy_expansion_candidate_chunks in the debug menu (F4) if you see no circles, then the enemy has nothing to expand to whoich means, he won't expans.

User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by cpy »

There are lot of green circles, 4 hours and nothing.

yeganer
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by yeganer »

what is the output of

Code: Select all

/c game.player.print(serpent.block(game.map_settings.enemy_expansion.enabled))
If it's false then you should be able to set it to true with

Code: Select all

/c game.map_settings.enemy_expansion.enabled = true

User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by cpy »

It was true. Needle in the haystack problem, i blame all other mods.

yeganer
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by yeganer »

Are there biters running around near enemy spawners?

User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by cpy »

They are running round and that's it.

yeganer
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by yeganer »

you can spawn enemy bases at a specifig coordinate with

Code: Select all

\c game.player.surface.build_enemy_base({x = 0, y=0}, <number of biters>)
replace the 0's with the coordinates and then set a number of biters and it "should" work. The more biters, the bigger the base.

try setting the game.speed to something between 10 and 100 and observe the biters.

for easy observing:

Code: Select all

/c game.player.character = nil

jorgenRe
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by jorgenRe »

yeganer wrote: for easy observing:

Code: Select all

/c game.player.character = nil
You ummm might wanna tell them to save before doing so XD!
But i think seeing as the character is still there im sure you can do something like:

Code: Select all

/c game.player.character = game.player.selected 
when one is done flying. Il go test that myself too ;)!
edit yea it works remember that second command ;)!
I wonder if i can turn myself into a wagon(or any entity for that matter ^_^!)
edit 2:
Nevermind i cannot become a wagon :cry:
Logo
Noticed the told change in FFF #111 so il continue to use my signature ^_^
Thanks for listening to our suggestions, devs :D!
I would jump of joy if we could specify which tiles spawned in a surfaces

yeganer
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by yeganer »

Only CharacterEntity can be controlled by the player. But one could spawn several character entities and then switch between them with a mod. That's an interesting idea.

jorgenRe
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by jorgenRe »

yeganer wrote:Only CharacterEntity can be controlled by the player. But one could spawn several character entities and then switch between them with a mod. That's an interesting idea.
Its called cloning, and yea it could be interesting might actually defeat the purpose of saving just before an attack ;)!
Logo
Noticed the told change in FFF #111 so il continue to use my signature ^_^
Thanks for listening to our suggestions, devs :D!
I would jump of joy if we could specify which tiles spawned in a surfaces

yeganer
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by yeganer »

Depending on what a character entity can do without being controlled by a player this could be very interesting.

Imagine being able to switch between several characters. So you are in base and crafting some stuff by hand. then attack at base Iron 11. Switch to character there. repair. switch back xD

User avatar
Blu3wolf
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2015 5:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by Blu3wolf »

If we would like a new resource to be handled by RSO, is there a way to do so via some API call or somesuch?

Or does it require that RSO be patched to handle the new resource?

yeganer
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by yeganer »

Currently it requires a patch but I'm currently developing a version that can handle that.

User avatar
Blu3wolf
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2015 5:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by Blu3wolf »

Is this the version on Github then? If its the one I think it is, I already posted an issue there asking what version it was :)

yeganer
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by yeganer »

The version on github is the new version which isn't ready for the public yet. So just download the version form the forums and make your modification.

wahming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 8:30 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by wahming »

Getting some weird map gens. With the latest builds of Factorio and RSO, I'm getting starting ore concentrations of 1-3k per square. That's way higher than the default non-mod spawn of 400-700. Any idea what might be causing this? I'm not touching the map gen settings.

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3911
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by orzelek »

It might be my last changes to re-balance the ore on further areas affecting starting area more then I planned.
Or if resource field is quite small - then it would have more ore per resource node.

wahming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 8:30 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Post by wahming »

orzelek wrote:Or if resource field is quite small - then it would have more ore per resource node.
No, I'm getting enough ore in my starting patch to reach all the way to end game - which is when I realised RSO was messed up.

Locked

Return to “Resource Spawner Overhaul”